We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boranup Forest Retreat
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I had planned this as a getaway for some work colleagues and our partners. The experience was great and the house is nice but could be so much better with a little thought. The booking experience was a bit of a learning experience for me, Sheila was running a special for the first floor for half price, which we asked for after booking because our numbers had dropped, she tried to get us to shift our dates or put us in a different location (not the lodge), which was alright and I explained that we were looking for the hot-tub and we kept our dates and the lodge. We asked to take a dog, and that got complicated as well, so we decided to just not bother. We asked to add a person and end up being charged for the whole time and not just the period they stayed. The website site from 360 for 6 and 60per person over 6, and then you go and book and it says 390 and 65, I could understand it being more if we weren’t in low season. The place is nice but they could provide some way of heating the rooms as the fire just didn’t cut it. There was just enough fire wood to get us through the three days. The house is decorated in a style we couldn't put our fingers on, it wasn't what you would call tasteful. Spa was nice, but someway of seeing outdoors would have made it special.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alongworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just over a year ago we booked this place with the request of a quiet location.
I paid $495.00 in full 3 weeks before we went.We arrived there to find the cabins right by an ugly workshop which was making much noise.
We rang the owner expressing our disappointment---she could not give a hoot.We requested a refund but we had no chance.We left and went and stayed elsewhere and the owner has my $495.00
Beware of this place and never believe what these decieving thieves tellyou

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Novena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila P, Owner at Boranup Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

This was a most unfortunate situation and I was sorry we could not resolve this more amicably. It was the first time in over five years we had received a complaint about ANY noise from the gallery workshop, 100 mtrs away. Whlie I would be lying to say I recalled the exact conversation 12 months ago, from memory, I got the impression these guests wanted to be closer to town and had chosen the wrong venue. I thus felt we had not been deceptive onour website and felt justified in not giving a refund, in these circumstances. We go to great efforts to resolve and offer compensation to guests when we err, however, on this occasion obviously the offer of a free night/ return visit was not on the cards.
Sheila Penman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We booked this place as it was the last place we could find in the margaret river area for a family on the weekend of the margaret river pro surfing event. Shiela gave us a last minute rate which was much appreciated, she was friendly on the phone, if a bit too chatty. She emailed over directions and door code (they live in perth, caretaker on site). We found the directions easy enough but the road leading to the chalet was very bumpy (some trucks must have been down when it was wet and the ground had dried in hard lumps from the large tyres). It was quite out of the way but that didn't bother us. I was quite surprised when we first got there from the outside and when we walked in, it reminded us of acacia chalets which has very good reviews on trip advisor and where we've stayed in the past. It was large and the furniture was nice and we had been left a bottle of wine and chocolates in the fridge. But after being there a while i kept coming across things that annoyed me; we were a family of 4 but were only left out 2 towels, the kettle looked like it needed replacing, the clip on the dishwasher liquid tray was broken, there were things starting to be collected in drawers that are not needed in a rental only in your own home, rather than just having minimal magazines and leaflets the drawers were becoming full of them, the shower when turned on was causing this noise outside where a motor must have been heating the water and it sounded like someone revving a car engine and everytime it 'revved' the water went either too hot or just right. My two sons were also very excited about having a spa so we started to fill it up for them but there really wasn't much water coming from the tap so it seemed to be taking forever, the water was also going from hot to cold and then back again and the water that was coming out was a yellow colour. We filled it up as much a we could and then turned it on but it wouldn't work, it was just making this loud buzzing noise and nothing was actually happening which caused tears, there were no instructions about. I think these chalets could be really nice, i think someone just needs to go in there and replace anything that's a bit 'fuddy duddy' and broken and have a good clear out with a fresh coat of paint. The website says rates from $360 (we had last minute at 230), there is no way i'd go again and pay 360. We like to go to bunker bay resort which isn't much more than 360 at an off peak time and it's lovely there, no complaints. So, to the owners, either get in there and clean it out or reduce your cost.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RACH3884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed in Blue Wren for 2 nights, the place it self is a little way out of town, the furniture in the chalet was pretty good quality, the electrical items that were in the chalets are not of very good quality and are very cheap. The Kettle is a little dangerous as I burnt my hand from the steam escaping and the dishwasher that is in the house isn't working.

Upon walking into Blue Wren it was very clean, however the outside of the place needs some attention, the spa was not cleaned very well, it still had peoples left over private "hair" in it, once this was cleaned out, we filled the spa and ran it and alot of debris from what ever it was, was in the water which put us off from using the spa.

The outside area, from the spa has a tacky gyprock wall and stuff painted on it with fake shadows, there were broken pavers around the house and there were dead plants around the place, there was no native bush close the chalets, alot of it is native ferns that were growing around with rabbits running around the chalet.

The Shower head needs to be replaced or clean as this is starting to rust out, there was quite a bit of long hair that was left in the bathroom, kitchen and laundry, which begs the question of when the last time this place was cleaned thoroughly.

It's very quiet, but there is some attention to detail that needs to be looked at, the outside is one of them as this sets off the first impression.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We hired the lodge for our family as it was my daughters birthday!! 11 must say.. We where in love as soon as we arrived as we where greeted by the welcoming party of a beautiful goanna in the driveway , that was just the start to our magical night at Boranup. On arrival we where so grateful to see a bottle of bubbly in the fridge and some choccies.. All facilties where in great shape and I really do not know why people woudl say negative comments about "the lodge" if you after 5 star accomodation then go stay at the burswood!! The lodge has so many romantic and family qualities all in one. Plenty of games inside and outside for the kids to occupy themselves with whilst the adults can take long awaited chill out time in the well kept spa and sauna room. We as a family could not fault this piece of paradise we even had the fire place already set to go just had to light a match.. Dining table was a beautiful long wooden table that the kids thought they where in a castle having dinner.. we are already planning our next trip down to this amazing place!! P.S The morobike Frogs outside at night kept us well amused by there sounds!! Thanks som much Sheila & Staff for making this a night we all will not forget.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

My boyfriend and I visited Boranup for a couple of nights during the week and were very pleased. It was more modern and spacious than I was expecting, with complete kitchen facilities and some foxtel channels too! The beds and pillows were very comfortable and we really loved the privacy that the Blue Wren chalet provided! While the location might have been a little far from town, it didn't matter much as during the day we had little roadtrips to nearby wineries and breweries which were much closer. Next time we travel to Margaret River, we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank blairskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We hired the Blue Wren Chalet.. Lovely chalet with comfy couchs and great furniture..The beds were very very comfortable and obviousley a very good quality, Working in the industry mysef I can be quite picky but you get exacty what the website says. The Chalets are immaculate and very modern and spacious. The setting is perfect very quiet and fabulous views every where you look. We unlocked the big double doors and left them open and just enjoyed the view of the forest.. My girls usually more interested in laptops and Ipads ran about the place exploring and were in bed each night at 7.30 pm exhausted from the their adventures. I would highly recommend this as a fabulous getaway we didnt even put the TV on we listened to music and talked,,, something we tend to forget todo at home with the girls usually glued to their laptops as soon as they get home from school..Thanks for a fabulous anniversary treat and showing us there is more to life than work TV and laptops..xxxooxx....

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fabstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
15.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
722 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hidden Valley Forest Retreat
Hidden Valley Forest Retreat
#18 of 51 in Margaret River
102 reviews
19.1 mi away
Hilltop Studios Margaret River
Hilltop Studios Margaret River
#16 of 51 in Margaret River
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Harmony Forest
Harmony Forest
#40 of 51 in Margaret River
63 reviews
17.0 mi away
Waterfall Cottages
Waterfall Cottages
#36 of 51 in Margaret River
67 reviews
28.6 mi away
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
#4 of 51 in Margaret River
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boranup Forest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boranup Forest Retreat

Address: Sebbes Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range: £89 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boranup Forest Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boranup Forest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing