We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Adventure”

Cape to Cape Explorer Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cape to Cape Explorer Tours specialise in offering customised support and tours on the magnificent Cape to Cape Track in the Margaret River Region. The Cape to Cape Track was voted, by Australia's National Geographic as one of Australia's top 10 walks. Cape to Cape Explorer Tours offer tours that range in length from day tours of several hours to eight day fully guided walks covering the entire 135km of the Cape to Cape Track. Join Cape to Cape Explorer Tours for very special experience in a magical setting.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Adventure”
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We engaged Cape to Cape Explorer Tours to organise and provide support for our self-guided walking holiday in Margaret River during November 2011. Our brief to them was to put together a customised itinerary that included accommodation, meals and logistical support that allowed us to complete the Cape to Cape walk (end to end) in safety and at our own pace.

Gene, Alison and Drew from Cape to Cape Explorer Tours did a great job in pulling everything together and our walk went off without a hitch. Their attention to our safety on the track was at the forefront and appreciated. The importance of this was most apparent with the recent bush fires in the area.

We completed the walk in nine days including a rest day in the middle to explore the Margaret River region and its wineries. Accommodation for the duration of our visit was Gilgara Retreat (just outside Margaret River) which was perfect. The logistical support included twice daily vehicle transfers between the track and Gilgara, track briefings including information on the local flora & fauna, all meals including packed lunches & snacks, safety satellite tracker and pick-up/drop-off at the Margaret river bus stop.
Most days involved walking 15 – 17 klm which proved just right given the shoe sucking sandy sections and challenging topography. However the final day was 21.5 klm which proved relatively easier than anticipated as we were fully walk-fit by the time we had to tackle this section.

At the end of our walk we felt a sense of accomplishment and we asked ourselves – how good was that? .. and on reflection we reckon it was just about as good as it gets!!

Our thanks go to Gene, Alison and Drew for helping make our walking holiday such a memorable one. We thoroughly enjoyed our adventure holiday and wouldn’t hesitate recommending Cape to Cape Explorer Tours to anyone interested in undertaking the Cape to Cape walk.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Vaughan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable local guide for independent walkers”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This company enabled us to get the most out of a 7 day trek along the Cape to Cape track in the Margaret River region in Western Australia. After helping us decide on the best set down and pick-up points, each day they transported us to the start of the walk and met us at the end. They gave us a GPS device which enabled them to track our progress and it could be used by us to summon help in an emergency (mobile phone reception was not always reliable). They also took us for a tour of the "Giants' Cave" after a twilight walk through the forest. It was magical. They were very knowledgeable about walking in the area and committed to ensuring that we fully enjoyed the experience. We intend to use them again.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank kemproad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My husband and I have completed a number of walks both in Australia and NZ. We recently particpated in the End to End walk with Cape to Cape Explorer tours. Staff, Standards and Service were exemplary. We encountered a few little hiccups during the week and everything possible was done to help accomodate us. Nothing was too much trouble. We thoroughly enjoyed our week, learnt a lot about the flora fauna and history of the area and would highly recommend the professionalism of Alison, Gene, Drewe and Sonny if you are contemplating any adventures in this area.
Rose B

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capel
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A totally awesome experience”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I completed the End to End Experience with Cape to Cape Explorer Tours in the same group as Sally T, who has written a review, below. She has left me little to say, except that I fully concur with all her comments and excitement about being a really incredible experience and being so well looked after and catered for.
It was not just about the scenery (breath taking!), the flowers (amazing!), the food (wow!!), the physical challenge (exciting) and the great tour guides and service (xoxoxoxo), but also about the personal psychological journey which is experienced during the course of the walk. This resulted in personal insights and a group bonding which will continue into the future, all of us already planning our next walk together!
A huge thank you to Alison, Drew, Gene and Sunny for making the whole week such an awesome experience!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Cape to Cape Track is magnificent. This company made it perfect.”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I've walked this track before, and I've been on many guided and self-guided walking holidays in Australia, Africa and Europe, but the way Cape to Cape Explorer Tours operate took it all to a new level. The essential infrastructure of safety is embedded into everything, but there is no feeling of being on a leash..... far from it.
I was on a seven day, fully supported and guided End to End Experience. What makes their approach so individual and personal is that they aren't just a tour company; they are two families who live and love the region, and have a depth of knowledge that they share with a passion. I had assumed our two guides, Gene and Drew were contracted in, but soon realised that they, and their wives Alison and Sunny were the whole company. Their cheerful banter was not a show... it's the way they are, and reflects the passion they have for the area. Between them they have a depth of knowledge of the whole ecology of the region: how the geology determines the flora and fauna, and how the ocean and climate affect everything. They take a real joy in showing off the track and all it offers. If you're thinking of a walk on the track, I really recommend talking to this mob as they have so much to offer and are keen to tailor to fit individual needs and budgets. The Cape to Cape can be challenging and is no walk in the park.... but Gene and Drew always make you feel like you're out walking with friends.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape to Cape Explorer Tours also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Western Australia, Australia
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Cape to Cape Explorer Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing