We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed !”
Review of Cafe Boranup

Cafe Boranup
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$21
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A cute little cafe in the forest, with the stunning Boranup Gallery next door. Cafe Boranup is 4kms South of Lake Cave on Caves Road Forest Grove, keep an eye out or our sign. Please go to our website for a map and GPS co-ordinates if that helps. We are friendly, do great coffee, make our own cakes and our lunches are hearty, delicious and reasonably priced.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not to be missed !”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Recommend by a local we went to give this a try one chilly rainy day ! Definitely worth the trip out ! Food was amazing and service was very welcoming ! Not to mention a lovely gallery to look through afterwards !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikenPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, Owner at Cafe Boranup, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Thanks for the review, and we hope to see you on a warm and sunny day! Hopefully you got to see some whales in Augusta, and enjoyed the forest in it's green season! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    65
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Little gem in the bush”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

My sister and I had a delightful visit here for lunch recently. The surrounding tall trees and gardens are lovely, and resident gorgeous dog Red and cheeky visiting wrens all added to the scene. Good coffee, delicious salt & pepper squid, interesting and hearty cassoulet. We would definitely visit again, next time to try a burger!

Helpful?
Thank WestOzLoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, Owner at Cafe Boranup, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Thanks for the review. We love our spot in the bush as well, and adore Red the dog! Cheers and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Should have come for lunch instead.”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I have been waiting a couple of years for the chance to come out to the highly popular Cafe Boranup.
Unfortunately, I have been seeing the offerings for the winter lunch menu and anticipating delicious selection of food. Unfortunalty, we arrived too early for lunch service, and only had a very small selection of savoury offerings: a vegetarian quiche or toasted sandwich. the toasie could have been alot more enjoyable if ti came with even a small a serve of relish, which many local eateries offer, seeing as though there are many locally produced condiments available the in the region. The coffee was good, and beign able to wander over to the Gallery afterwards was a real winner. I will look forward to going back another time, a bit later in the day to try the lunch menu.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, Owner at Cafe Boranup, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We serve the breakfast menu until 1130am and the lunch menu from 10 am usually, I'd be interested to know about why you couldn't get lunch before twelve...And yes, we make our own relish and tomato sauce. They should have been served with your meal. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
392 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A wonderful spot”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Home cooked fare in a picturesque environment among the Karri forest and right next door to the Boranup Gallery

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 77smiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, Owner at Cafe Boranup, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Thanks for visiting us in Winter! And thanks so much for taking the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxley, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bush serenity”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Don't be put off by the off road location. The cafe and gallery are worth a visit. Food reasonably priced in relation to other venues in the region. Daily specials prepared fresh by the chef. Biggest scones we have ever seen.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy W, Owner at Cafe Boranup, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Thanks so much. The scones are very big - quite famous for it! It'll be a hard morning if we lose the scone cutter! Thanks again, from the crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Boranup also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Cafe Boranup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing