We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic get-away, surprisingly close to the Margaret River CBD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I truly felt like I'd stepped back in time. The original side of the building is beautifully maintained and has many framed photographs from a era long gone adorning the entrance.

We were told that we were only able to have Breakfast at the Manor as they do not have facilities for lunches and dinners, but were pleased to discover that they do serve
Devonshire Tea in the afternoons (Scones with cream and jam). We also enjoyed a full cooked breakfast in the morning which was served in the conservatorium which overlooks the well manicured gardens. It was just lovely.

The Manor does not have room service to speak of (probably to keep with its romantic feel) so lunch and dinner are an in town affair. But who's complaining which so many gorgeous wineries to go to for lunch and restaurants for dinner too you can't go wrong. We caught a local taxi, it took 5mins to arrive and only cost $12 each way into the town centre.

But if you don't want to venture out for meals, there is BBQ facilities and there is also a heated pool on site.

We enjoyed a late afternoon stroll around the property and noticed a few other couples reading on picnic blankets sipping their newly purchased wines from around the region. Very romantic. We spent some time just relaxing by the pond enjoying the view on one of the many wooden benches placed around the garden.

I would not recommend Basildene Manor for families, but if you want to get away from it all, it would be perfect for a Romantic Get-away or even a Solo rejuvienating trip.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden/BBQ area are a little noisey during lunch and evening meal times.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenflipcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Dear Jeflipcow,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the apartments and property facilities, in particular the beautiful grounds and building. We place a high degree of importance in guest satisfaction. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, as it assists us in the constant monitoring of quality and service.

Again, we would like to thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
There are newer reviews for Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

660 - 666 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

This place is great. We could have stayed a week. But...

My wife and I agreed that if we owned Basildene Manor, an exceptional building surrounded by wonderful grounds, we would do two things: put the prices up, and install a full-time butler. This is the kind of place that screams out for excellent "above expectations" service - not to say that the staff weren't great, because they were - just that the owners should augment the great pool area, terrific kitchen area, grassy hillside, and existing staff with some margarita-toting butlers with excellent knowledge of local wines and a willingness to hit the guest experience out of the park.

This place *could* easily become the pick of Margaret River places to stay.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms racing east are great; the hotel offers a BBQ, bring your own steak and BBQ above th...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sightseeing_Cynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2012

Dear Sightseeing_Cynic,

Thank you so much for posting your review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. All feedback is greatly appreciated as it assist us with the constant monitoring of guest satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Basildene Manor is located just outside the town of Margaret River. It is a lovely old manor that has a newer wing incorporated onto it & is set in acres of gorgeous garden. Our room was spacious, clean & well decorated. Across the road is a paved walking path out into the country. On our morning walks we saw a large variety of Australian wildlife. The breakfast buffet is fabulous & the town of Margaret River is very close by for other meals. We based ourselves out of Basildene Manor & visited many of the nearby wineries & other attractions. Service at Basildene is upscale but not in-your-face. Staff is helpful & friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Textralians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback your after stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed the apartments, resort facilities and of course the beautiful area of Margaret River. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, as it assists us in the constant monitoring of Member satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We were fortunate enough to get the last room available on a Saturday night. And yes it was one of the 'small' rooms-though not small for a manor bedroom.
The room was a beautifully decorated and very well equiped (though a coffee plunger would have been nice-or a Nespresso machine!). The bathroom was well organized with lovely toiletries. The room overlooked a small landscaped garden. We were perfectly comfortable in the small room; however, we also were also perfectly comfortable sitting in the beautifully landscared gardens (on 14 acres), using the tranquil, heated pool, and sitting on the patio in the evening enjoying a bottle of wine. The breakfast in the morning was delightful-lovely service, an incredible selection of fresh fruit, and a selection of individually prepared hot breakfasts (the venison sausage was suprisingly nice!).
The staff seem genuinely interested in whether you are enjoying your stay, and are more than ready to help you find that extra towel or glass. If you want to wander into Margaret River township, it's a short drive or a nice walk (too hot for us this weekend though). I know most of my reviews are glowing, but it's probably because I do try to take care in choosing accomodation when there is a choice. Trip Advisor certainly helps, especially when you read between the lines. This is a lovely property-the refurbishment has been done to a high standard and I believe it is good value for Margaret River.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are just fine. If you are staying for several days, you might want to spend...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaKayJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2012

Dear LindaKayJ, Your constructive feedback is welcomed and I am happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay at the Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We recently stayed 3 nights at the beautiful Basildene Manor, 3-6 January. It is perfectly located between the Margaret River town and the beach at Prevelly (although we preferred the beach at Redgate) and next to Cape Mentelle which is a good winery with evening movies. We had the Cabernet suite, upstairs in the original home, which had been recently renovated to a very high standard. Our room overlooked a heated swimming pool, lake, tennis court and beautiful garden. There was an excellent shower unit with rainshower and hand held shower heads. We don't like aircon but used it at night because it got very hot in our room, despite leaving both windows open. We heard breakfast was wonderful, but as we were eating gourmet lunches out we didn't indulge. We just grabbed a quick bacon & egg baguette from the fantastic Bakery in town. Lunch and dinner are not served. There is a BBQ and seating area in the garden for self catering. Hotel service was very efficient. Our favourite Wineries were Leuwin (best wine & best lunch), Voyager (best garden), Stella Bella (best brand), Ashbrook Estate (best wine service) and Xanadu (best lunch service - Stepan). Our wine highlight was a private booked tour of Moss Wood with Erika. We tasted the components of their next Cab Sav before blending - amazing! The chorizo from the Venison Farm was a yummy find! We took a morning side trip to drive to Pemberton to climb the 'Gloucestor' karri tree which was great if you want a nice drive and a break from wine tasting!

Room Tip: We loved our Cabernet Suite, upstairs in the original house. It had a great view over the gardens, p...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SEJ1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2012

Dear Aej1964 , Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again at the Grand Mercure Basildene Manor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Basildene Manor is absolutely beautiful. The rooms have been renovated just a few weeks ago and they are stunning. The whole manor is very clean and the staff are lovely. Gardens are pristine and pool is heated at a good temperature so you don't freeze!
Breakfast is available, however lunch and dinner aren't- restaurants close by in Margaret River. Have already booked my next trip and would recommend to anyone! Stepping through the doors are like going back in time to the 1900's... just wish I could call it home!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling-around-oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I've just been to Basildene Manor in Margaret River. A great base to see the sites and wineries of the region. The hotel has just been upgraded and the suites are magnificent.
Only couples should go as there is nothing but suites and a car is advised.
Staff are truly great and can't do enough for you.
Breakfast is amazing and my particular favourite the blueberry pancakes - yum!
Lunch and dinner generally need to be off site as the resaurant is not open every night but the town has many eating places about 2 kilometres away. It can be walked but drive or taxi is easier.
Buitiful old building with lots of history along with modern fittings - what more could you want a a relaxing place in beuitiful surrounds.

Room Tip: All rooms are good with the best views the lakeside or western ones.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smalls45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaret River
1.6 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
22.3 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
324 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
982 reviews
4.2 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
546 reviews
1.1 mi away
Prideau's of Margaret River
Prideau's of Margaret River
#6 of 10 in Margaret River
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Address: 187 Wallcliffe Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Margaret River
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
#3 Family Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range: £186 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Basildene Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret River's Finest - Welcoming today's discerning traveller with the promise of luxurious solitude & ensuring a relaxing, memorable stay. Basildene Manor, is an historic elegant country manor, set on 14 picturesque acres amidst the rich tapestry of renowned Margaret Rivers vineyards. Nineteen recently refurbished and beautifully appointed rooms are available. Our renowned Basildene Breakfast includes a full cooked a la carte breakfast and fruit buffet, all from the Manor restaurant. Nestled in the valley you will discover our heated outdoor swimming pool and secluded sun deck (avail in summer months), tennis court & lakeside pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Basildene Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor Hotel Margaret River
Basildene Manor Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing