We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We have just spent 4 nights at this B & B. Wonderful gardens enjoyed looking around the selection of bedded plants. Breakfast was wonderful but for $50 it should be. Delightful view of the bedded gardens from the conservatory, pity dinner was not available also as Margaret River township has some very poor restaurants for evening meals. Our King suite was very very nice and had calm colour schemes. Just wished it looked out onto the gardens instead of a brick wall. Was disappointed the first two mornings with slamming doors from 6am. But one cannot select the clientele. The other 2 mornings were so peaceful & slept in! As a person that has an allergy to diary I have to thank the Manor for baking specially prepared non dairy scones for a yummy afternoon devonshire tea, also supplying my non dairy margarine and Rice milk for breakfast. The gardens are very steep and not suitable for disabled, there needs to be a couple of specially marked disable parking bays for Acroid holders.

Room Tip: If we stayed next time I would ask for a garden outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

Dear Carol P,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your four night stay, in particular the wonderful gardens and great breakfast.
We are sorry to hear that you were disturbed by some noisy neighbours early in the morning, and hope that it did not impede on your holiday enjoyment too much.
We are delighted to read your lovely feedback regarding the specially prepared Devonshire tea, and the supply of non dairy margarine and rice milk. We have passed on your comments and thanks on to our great team at the Manor.
Again, we thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

642 - 648 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at Basildene Manor for four nights while down in Margaret River for the initial Gourmet Escape weekend at the end of November 2012.

Upon arrival we realised we had found a gem of a place with the driveway looking over stunningly landscaped grounds. Inside the hotel, we loved the exposed wood on the floor, staircase and landing area. Staff were extremely helpful assisting us with working out what we need to be doing for the Gourmet Escape events and showing us around the hotel.

We stayed upstairs in the Malbec room as part of the main building. The rooms look very recently renovated and were clean and tidy - we both loved the bathroom fit out.

Breakfast was a choice of standard options - farmhouse, omelette, eggs benedict and pancakes. We tried them all during our stay and found them equally good - omelette being my preference to prep for a day at the Gourmet Village.

The manor also had a lounge room where you could relax with a drink and a book to read. Pool and tennis court were in the grounds but we didn't have the time to use them.

I'd recommend staying at Basildene when you are looking to have a relaxing time away - with plenty of space and locations to just sit around and enjoy your surroundings. It isn't the cheapest option for Margaret River but definitely one of the best that we have stayed at.

Room Tip: Room preference will depend on what you are expecting to do in your room - if you want to host some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear BenDunlop,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Manor, in particular the fabulous service you received from the staff and the recently refurbished rooms. The breakfast is a firm favourite with many guests, and as you said - no better way to prepare you for a great day out at the Gourmet Village.
Again, we thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We recently spent the weekend at the Basildene Manor for my daughters wedding. It is the most beautiful place in every way from its stunning grounds ,beautiful rooms ,history and to die for breakfast,not to mention the amazing staff ..Can not praise or recommend Basildene Manor high enough ...Thankyou all at Basildene ,so very much for the wonderful memories.....

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaiffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Dear kaiffa,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. Congratulations on your daughters wedding. We hope that you had a wonderful day. It is good to hear that beautiful Basildene Manor helped to make this special weekend so memorable.
Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian_jew
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 November 2012

After a long flight from Sydney and a 4 hour drive to Margaret River it was a relief to find this lovely hotel. As it is Spring in the MR the gardens are a picture with an abundance of roses and fluffy pink poppies. Our room "Merlot" is smartly decorated in a contemporary classic manor and is spacious as it is in the old part of the hotel. The building was built in 1912 and has been lovingly restored. Breakfast is served in a sunny conservatory which looks out over the acres of manicured gardens and is individually prepared and delicious. Those who like an expresso fix might have to drive to a nearby local cafe. The hotel is only 5 minutes from the town of Margaret River where there are an abundance of restaurants and the region is world famous for its delicious wines.
The service is quiet an unobtrusive yet helpful and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatienceSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Dear PatienceSydney,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to hear that after your long day of travel The Manor provided welcome relief. The gardens certainly are a joy, as are the beautifully refurbished rooms. Breakfast is a firm favourite with many guests.
Again, we thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We had a 2 night stay here. We had only stayed a couple of months back. As usual we loved our stay, but this time we had a much smaller room. Maybe we were spoilt last time with a huge room and a sitting area with couch and coffee table and a courtyard. Our room this time was on the ground floor, no lounge chair or coffee table so had to watch tv while sitting on the bed. The bathroom was much smaller and no bathtub and not much room to put your toiletries. The room itself is still immaculately decorated, and still had a king size bed, but was just a little disappointing after the last room we had. We are APVC members and it wasn't until after I had paid for the room, that the girl at reservations for APVC told me the room that I had, smaller, and without a bath tub. I said that I would wait and go another time then, but she said its too late, the confirmation has gone through and I can't cancel without losing my money.
Gardens were absolutely stunning and the staff very friendly..

Room Tip: I would just check to see which room you are getting. I have stayed there several times now and hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandurahmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Dear Mandurahmum,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, and for returning for another visit. Upon checking our records with our Reservations Department we can see that you were advised that due to the short reservation period of a couple of weeks the room you would have preferred was already full booked. We also checked with the General Manager of the property who advised that you did call prior to check in to enquire as to if the room type you stayed in on your previous visit was available. As before, she advised that the lakeview rooms were fully booked. Should you encounter difficulties with the Reservations Department in the future, please do not hesitate to call the Member Services Team who will gladly assist you. We are sorry for any disappointment caused and do hope that the size of the room did not deter from the enjoyment of your stay too much. Being a property which was originally built circa 1912, The Manor does offer rooms of varying shape and size. Again, we thank you for your feedback and we do hope that you will continue to enjoy your Accor Vacation Club membership.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

While touring Margaret River wineries we stayed one night at this beautiful hotel. This is an enchanting manor set on very beautiful grounds. It has only 17 rooms all named after grape variety and we were staying in the Marsanne room which was well appointed and looked like very recently renovated.
Free Wi Fi is available in the small lobby and very good full breakfast is served in a dining room overlooking the gardens.
THE place to stay when in Margaret River.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TequilaPepita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2012

Dear TequilaPepita,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Manor. The breakfast certainly is a firm favourite with all guests.
Again we thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.6 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
1 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
259 reviews
1.2 mi away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
562 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
707 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stay Margaret River
Stay Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Address: 187 Wallcliffe Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
#1 Luxury Hotel in Margaret River
#3 Family Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range: £185 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Basildene Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret River's Finest - Welcoming today's discerning traveller with the promise of luxurious solitude & ensuring a relaxing, memorable stay. Basildene Manor, is an historic elegant country manor, set on 14 picturesque acres amidst the rich tapestry of renowned Margaret Rivers vineyards. Nineteen recently refurbished and beautifully appointed rooms are available. Our renowned Basildene Breakfast includes a full cooked a la carte breakfast and fruit buffet, all from the Manor restaurant. Nestled in the valley you will discover our heated outdoor swimming pool and secluded sun deck (avail in summer months), tennis court & lakeside pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Basildene Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor Hotel Margaret River
Basildene Manor Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing