We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, Magnificent garden and Exquisite breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, Magnificent garden and Exquisite breakfast”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

I stayed at the Basildene in October , Spring in Australia, and the beautifully manicured garden was spectacular. My room was beautifully appointed and overlooked the garden. The bathroom was a bit small but had a nice shower . The breakfast was delicious and I could have just eaten from the buffet with a variety of delicious cooked and fresh fruits and jams but the cooked breakfast was good as well. The hotel is very convenient for touring the vineyards and caves as well as being an easy drive into town for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank everydestination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Dear singa479,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in particular the magnificent gardens and hearty breakfast. The Manor certainly is perfectly located to explore all that Margaret River has to offer.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    86
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
56
508
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2012

My husband and I stayed at Basildene manor for 4 nights whilst the Gourmet Escape Food and Wine festival was on in Margaret River, 2012. Upon arrival we were blown away with the beauty of the gardens and the building, which is 100 years old this year. Which in Aussie terms is pretty old! Having just returned from 4 years in the UK, and doing a lot of overnight stays at Country manors and houses, this seemed like the closest we could get to that in Australia. The rooms were fresh, clean, stylish and basically had all we needed for the time we would be there. Obviously we were out and about a lot due to the Gourmet Escape, but still spent some time just relaxing in our room and enjoying the views out the window. There were personal touches with photos of the family and the manor's history everywhere which was great to look at. Breakfast was fantastic too, with continental and a la carte hot breakfasts, with a few different sort of options on the menu that all proved very tasty. Plus the morning view over the gardens from the breakfast room added to a great start to the day. Staff were very friendly at all hours of the day, gave us a tour on arrival and explained everything that we needed including some local tips and advice in terms of logistics for the Gourmet Escape weekend, and were available to help with our queries and requests throughout the stay. The Manor also had a few lovely lounges to use, however we enjoyed spending our time there in our room as it was so lovely itself. Will definitely be returning at some point, and have already begun recommending it to friends. Great location to be central to Margaret River, or a closer drive to some of the wineries past the town centre, and really ideal for getting to and from the Leeuwin Estate for Gourmet Escape. Is also a great place to stay if you're looking to just sit around, relax and enjoy your surroundings.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Dear Kristy D,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your wonderful review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Manor, in particular the beautiful grounds, fantastic breakfast and the fascinating history. Many guests have commented on the Gourmet Escape Food and Wine festival and what a great base Basildene is for making the most of the weekend.
Again, we thank you for your review and for your recommending us to your friends. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

If yu are looking for a great place to have afternoon tea look no furthur than Basildene Manor ! for 10 dollars to get freshly baked scones (the best that I have ever tasted) straight out of the oven, a large pot of tea and local jam and cream . You need to book but the tea is served from 11-4pm after tea we walked around the fabulous gardens pure HEAVEN.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janefoxAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We have just spent 4 nights at this B & B. Wonderful gardens enjoyed looking around the selection of bedded plants. Breakfast was wonderful but for $50 it should be. Delightful view of the bedded gardens from the conservatory, pity dinner was not available also as Margaret River township has some very poor restaurants for evening meals. Our King suite was very very nice and had calm colour schemes. Just wished it looked out onto the gardens instead of a brick wall. Was disappointed the first two mornings with slamming doors from 6am. But one cannot select the clientele. The other 2 mornings were so peaceful & slept in! As a person that has an allergy to diary I have to thank the Manor for baking specially prepared non dairy scones for a yummy afternoon devonshire tea, also supplying my non dairy margarine and Rice milk for breakfast. The gardens are very steep and not suitable for disabled, there needs to be a couple of specially marked disable parking bays for Acroid holders.

Room Tip: If we stayed next time I would ask for a garden outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Dear Carol P,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your four night stay, in particular the wonderful gardens and great breakfast.
We are sorry to hear that you were disturbed by some noisy neighbours early in the morning, and hope that it did not impede on your holiday enjoyment too much.
We are delighted to read your lovely feedback regarding the specially prepared Devonshire tea, and the supply of non dairy margarine and rice milk. We have passed on your comments and thanks on to our great team at the Manor.
Again, we thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at Basildene Manor for four nights while down in Margaret River for the initial Gourmet Escape weekend at the end of November 2012.

Upon arrival we realised we had found a gem of a place with the driveway looking over stunningly landscaped grounds. Inside the hotel, we loved the exposed wood on the floor, staircase and landing area. Staff were extremely helpful assisting us with working out what we need to be doing for the Gourmet Escape events and showing us around the hotel.

We stayed upstairs in the Malbec room as part of the main building. The rooms look very recently renovated and were clean and tidy - we both loved the bathroom fit out.

Breakfast was a choice of standard options - farmhouse, omelette, eggs benedict and pancakes. We tried them all during our stay and found them equally good - omelette being my preference to prep for a day at the Gourmet Village.

The manor also had a lounge room where you could relax with a drink and a book to read. Pool and tennis court were in the grounds but we didn't have the time to use them.

I'd recommend staying at Basildene when you are looking to have a relaxing time away - with plenty of space and locations to just sit around and enjoy your surroundings. It isn't the cheapest option for Margaret River but definitely one of the best that we have stayed at.

Room Tip: Room preference will depend on what you are expecting to do in your room - if you want to host some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear BenDunlop,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Manor, in particular the fabulous service you received from the staff and the recently refurbished rooms. The breakfast is a firm favourite with many guests, and as you said - no better way to prepare you for a great day out at the Gourmet Village.
Again, we thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We recently spent the weekend at the Basildene Manor for my daughters wedding. It is the most beautiful place in every way from its stunning grounds ,beautiful rooms ,history and to die for breakfast,not to mention the amazing staff ..Can not praise or recommend Basildene Manor high enough ...Thankyou all at Basildene ,so very much for the wonderful memories.....

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaiffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear kaiffa,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. Congratulations on your daughters wedding. We hope that you had a wonderful day. It is good to hear that beautiful Basildene Manor helped to make this special weekend so memorable.
Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.0 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.6 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
1.4 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
1.1 mi away
Prideau's of Margaret River
Prideau's of Margaret River
#6 of 10 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Property: Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Address: 187 Wallcliffe Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Margaret River
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
#3 Family Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Basildene Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret River's Finest - Welcoming today's discerning traveller with the promise of luxurious solitude & ensuring a relaxing, memorable stay. Basildene Manor, is an historic elegant country manor, set on 14 picturesque acres amidst the rich tapestry of renowned Margaret Rivers vineyards. Nineteen recently refurbished and beautifully appointed rooms are available. Our renowned Basildene Breakfast includes a full cooked a la carte breakfast and fruit buffet, all from the Manor restaurant. Nestled in the valley you will discover our heated outdoor swimming pool and secluded sun deck (avail in summer months), tennis court & lakeside pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Mercure Basildene Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor Hotel Margaret River
Basildene Manor Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing