We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty as a picture”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Macksville, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pretty as a picture”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights while visiting the Margaret River area. The bed was comfy BUT there was little clothes storage, no table to sit at and to watch TV you had to sit on or in the bed. The manor is a few Kms out of town and has no dining facility. We didn't even have a balcony - just a room with a bed, large TV and nicely appointed bathroom. Laundry facilities are at no additional charge. Overall - nice place to spend a night but no longer.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony and maybe a table
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Dear Wendy B,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are sorry to read that you were a little disappointed with your room. Being a building built circa 1912, and not a purpose built hotel, we do have rooms of different shapes and sizes. The same high standard of decor, fixtures and fittings, furniture, and cleanliness however runs throughout this beautiful Manor.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the night you spent with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    86
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
57
511
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2013

What a wonderful place to relax and rest. From our arrival to departure we, like all guests, were treated like the proverbial 'lord and lady' of the manor. Staff were professional, ever friendly and always helpful. This included all personnel employed at or by the Manor including gardeners, cleaning , house staff and even the contractors who were there building a retaining wall. The Devonshire Teas are a must (they're calorie free) scones large, light & luscious, tea hot & strong. If you need a genuine rest in peaceful surrounds where you are able to walk beautiful gardens, rest and read on the shaded benches or take a swim in a heated pool to relax tired muscles in blissful tranquility - Basildene Manor is the perfect place. What a holiday!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oswie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Dear Oswie,
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. All staff at the Manor are take a great pride in their work and will be thrilled with your comments. The Devonshire Teas are a firm favourite with all guests.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a tranquil escape then DON'T consider Basildene Manor. Road noise is constant. Being put up in a suite right next to one that contains a screaming infant is strike 2. Having a speedway meeting virtually next door is strike 3. As if that doesn't strike it out we get notification that as at 8:30am the next morning the car park will have construction equipment demolishing and rebuilding a retaining wall - and guess what our room overlooks - yep, the car park - well that's the end. Will never come back. Rubbish.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Genghis54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Genghis54,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review during your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are pleased that the General Manager was able to move you to a room overlooking our beautiful gardens the very next morning. It is unfortunate that you were unable to accept our offer of a complimentary extra nights stay and one of the Manor's wonderful Devonshire tea's. We do hope that despite the noise disturbance from the local annual race meeting, you did enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

On Saturday afternoon February 23 we heard loud motorcycle noises coming from over a nearby hill. Turns out this is a regular occurrence every other Saturday until 10pm over the summer. This is a real jewel of a place and it is a shame to have this lovely peaceful and beautiful location ruined by the blasting noise of race cars and motorcycles nearby. They are really loud! Whatever you do please call ahead and see if the racetrack is running when you plan your visit or plan to stay out until after 10pm.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WMSMEDIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear WMSMEDIA,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. As explained by the General Manager upon check out, the local annual race meeting has been established since the early 1960's. It was requested that an official come on site to provide a noise report to the local council.
We are pleased that despite this disturbance you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
111 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Despite reading the excellent reviews I was still pleasantly surprised when we arrived, the house and grounds were just beautiful. We were greated by a lovely receptionist who took us on a guided tour of the hotel explaining were everything was, how it worked etc. The room was gorgeous, beautifully decorated, the bathroom great with nice toiletries, and the view from the window was fabulous. However it was all of the little touches that made it so special, complementary laundry facilities, a fridge by the pool, numerous seats in the beautiful grounds, barbeques and outdoor dining if you wished to self cater. Free wifi was available with your own password, and there was complementary tea, coffe etc not just in your room but also in one of the three communal lounges. Excellent value for money, I would thoroughly recommend a stay here if you wish to visit Margaret River.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebCEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Dear DebCEssex,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted given the fabulous reviews The Manor gets, we still managed to exceed your expectations. We are extremely proud of the excellent service all of the staff give and will ensure that this is passed on to the individual is made aware of the lovely feedback. Again, we thank you for your wonderful feedback and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed three nights at the Basildene Manor and were absolutely thrilled with the accommodation, location and helpfulness of the staff. The grounds and gardens are spectacular, the breakfasts delicious and the complimentary laundry facilities a nice touch.

There is a lovely pool and tennis court on the property and you are within walking distance of town, and a short drive to the beach.

We stayed in the Shiraz room (all the rooms are named after wine varietals) which was spacious and had a large bathroom with rainforest shower head.

Found the reading room relaxing and the espresso machine made excellent cappuccinos. One of the nicest accommodations we have stayed at in our travels to date. Would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a special getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear adventuringone,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Manor. It certainly is a very special place to stay.
Again, thank you for your review - we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaret River
1.6 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
1.0 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
244 reviews
22.3 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
642 reviews
4.2 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
523 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Property: Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Address: 187 Wallcliffe Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Margaret River
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
#3 Family Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Basildene Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret River's Finest - Welcoming today's discerning traveller with the promise of luxurious solitude & ensuring a relaxing, memorable stay. Basildene Manor, is an historic elegant country manor, set on 14 picturesque acres amidst the rich tapestry of renowned Margaret Rivers vineyards. Nineteen recently refurbished and beautifully appointed rooms are available. Our renowned Basildene Breakfast includes a full cooked a la carte breakfast and fruit buffet, all from the Manor restaurant. Nestled in the valley you will discover our heated outdoor swimming pool and secluded sun deck (avail in summer months), tennis court & lakeside pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Basildene Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor Hotel Margaret River
Basildene Manor Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing