We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fabulous place to stay ....Magnificent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We have just had 6 fabulous nights at Basildene Manor Margaret River.
This is a magnificent place to stay - building is over 100 years old & comes with plenty of history.
The staff are ever so gorgeous & just so friendly - never a problem with whatever you ask them to do etc.
This only has breakfast available on the premises........breakfast you will just die for........ TRY the pancakes as they are just a treat.
They also do a great Devonshire Tea .....scones that I've never seen so big & fabulous jam & cream .

This property is set on 14 acres with magnificent gardens wonderfully maintained by 3 lovely ladies.

Although this property is over 100 years old it has been redecorated to an extremely high standard in the last 12 months or so.......beautifully done to the very TOP standard


IF you get a chance to visit Margaret River this would be the only place to settle yourselves into .....absolute luxury.

Many thanks for the wonderful time we had there & I can highly recommend.

Room Tip: An absolutely wonderful place to stay......overlooking the gardens top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dinkydi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Dear dinkydi22,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. Magnificent really does sum it all up in one word. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay - magnificent really does sum it all up in one word.
Again, we thank you for your review and recommendation. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2013

We have just returned from another wonderful experience at Basildene Manor. The building, the gardens, the rooms, and - most importantly - the staff, all contribute to making this one of our most enjoyable places to stay. The ambiance is second to none, with the gorgeous building itself playing a large part in that. The gardens are a place where you can sit and relax and drink in the beauty for many hours, and the staff are all very friendly and clearly care a great deal about making their guests as comfortable and happy as possible. The breakfasts are exceptional, and the Devonshire Teas are to die for. It is so special that it has now become a not-negotiable part of travelling to the South-West.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sventekoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Dear John_D_Forbes,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. It was our pleasure to welcome you again. It is great to hear that you enjoy stay at the Manor so much. All staff take a great pride in what they do and they will be thrilled with your comments.
Again, we thank you for your lovely review and look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

Lovely place to stay. The room was great and the king sized bed so comfortable. Great to relax in a bath and then sit on the balcony looking over the gardens. So central to everything. Breakfast is brilliant. Plenty of wildlife around to watch. Staff are very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterGrant1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We have stayed here about six times over the years and always enjoyed it although some rooms have been better than others. Our most recent stay was wonderful and our room 'Merlot' was perfect!! ALL rooms had recently been renovated. We always recommend BM to friends. The dining sun room is gorgeous with breathtaking views and is available for wonderful breakfasts and Devonshire teas. Staff were very helpful. Wifi only really available in the foyer area

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 8,495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Dear 8495,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed yet another stay with us. Being a old Manor built circa 1912 and not a purpose built property we do have rooms of varying size and layout. Please be assured that they have all been refurbished to the same high quality and standard. We agree - the views, breakfast and Devonshire teas are wonderful.
Again we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you yet again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We just came back from WA and we spent one night at the manor.The domain is impressive and very beautiful. The room was really nice, comfy bed.Breakfast was absolutely lovely.
Staff were very helpful, welcoming, whether they were working in the garden or at the reception.Loved walking in the building and looked at the old photos.It was a very good experience.
The only point that was annoying for me is although you can access wifi in the foyer, the phone coverage is non existant in the rooms (im a telstra customer). It was ok because we only spent one night and it was easy enough to brave the quite cool breeze outside to do a phone call but for people that need coverage that can be a bit of a pain.
Overhall, an excellent stay and beautiful place. Thanks to the staff !!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flore84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Dear Flore84,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The whole staff at the Manor pride themselves on their excellent service. They will be thrilled with the feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were unable to receive telephone reception in your room. We are reviewing the current internet provider to see if we can make improvements to the service.
Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We return to this beautiful old but revamped mansion every few years. The grounds, rooms, service and breakfasts are all incredible. The gardens are spectacular and include tennis courts and a 12.5 m swimming pool. Worth the trip from Goulburn NSW.

Room Tip: All these rooms are a little piece of heaven. Soooooo relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Dear Ann M,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your staying at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor yet again! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for returning to us all the way from Gouldburn. We look forward to welcoming you yet again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My fiance and I booked a devonshire tea here to be able to scout it out for a wedding venue.

We had to book in advance as they cook your scones fresh for your scheduled arrival!! They were so delicious, we had the restaurant to ourselves overlooking the manicured gardens and thoroughly enjoyed our pot of tea and scones.

The building is lovely heritage home and the accommdation has recently been renovated to a high standard and the staff were so friendly and helpful in showing us around and serving afternoon tea.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nonny16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Dear Nonny16,
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review after your visit to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea. Should you need any further assistance with arranging a venue for your wedding please do not hesitate to contact us directly at the Manor.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaret River
1.6 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
1 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
270 reviews
1.2 mi away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
736 reviews
4.2 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
572 reviews
20.5 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Yallingup
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Address: 187 Wallcliffe Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
#1 Luxury Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range: £183 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Basildene Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret River's Finest - Welcoming today's discerning traveller with the promise of luxurious solitude & ensuring a relaxing, memorable stay. Basildene Manor, is an historic elegant country manor, set on 14 picturesque acres amidst the rich tapestry of renowned Margaret Rivers vineyards. Nineteen recently refurbished and beautifully appointed rooms are available. Our renowned Basildene Breakfast includes a full cooked a la carte breakfast and fruit buffet, all from the Manor restaurant. Nestled in the valley you will discover our heated outdoor swimming pool and secluded sun deck (avail in summer months), tennis court & lakeside pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Mercure Basildene Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor Hotel Margaret River
Basildene Manor Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing