We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Basildene Manor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2013

My husband Lee and I have just spent the last week at Basildene Manor celebrating our 3rd wedding anniversary. We were very impressed with the standard of the building. The staff were lovely and the breakfast is great over looking the well-kept gardens. Not to forget the great Devonshire Teas which are a MUST! We were given a brief history of the Manor upon arrival and I had time to peruse the photographs displayed throughout the building. It has been refurbished with style and taste and in keeping with its history. A lovely serene place to stay. Little bit of road noise but nothing to detract from a pleasant, enjoyable and elegant place.

Room Tip: We had a court yard room but next time I will ask for a garden facing one. We found the noise from b...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

Dear Kerry P,
Happy 3rd Wedding Anniversary! Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are very proud of The Manor and we know that the staff with be thrilled with your comments. Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
There are newer reviews for Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

590 - 596 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

The Basildene Manor is five start English Country small hotel sitting in Margaret River Australia. The building is over 100 years old and restored to a high level, beautiful gardens, very nice room and furnishings and nice breakfast. The staff were great and helpful with suggestions and advice on the Margaret River and surrounding area. Around a 5 minute car ride to Margaret River town center and 10 minute ride to the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig88_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Dear Craig88_13,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Manor. We are very proud of the property and the wonderful staff we have. They take a great pride in their work and will be thrilled with your comments. Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Basildene Manor is a beautiful hotel set in stunning gardens. We loved every minute, the staff were charming and helpful. Our room was tastefully decorated with excellent lighting and great attention to detail. The breakfasts were 'to die for', and the Devonshire Tea absolutely heavenly! I would go back just for that! If I have one gripe it was the water pressure in the showers, but that was a small inconvenience to a wonderfully relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the gardens. We had a rear facing room, which was still lovely but the fron...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZimbabweLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Dear ZimbabweLady,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in particular the breakfast and Devonshire Tea which are always a favourite. It is the first time that we have had a comment regarding the water pressure. Thank you for letting us know - we will have the maintenance team check that everything is working correctly.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Stayed here for two nights for our stay visiting Margaret River region. Our first impression as you are driving in are beautifully manicured gardens with this majestic old manor. The staff are accommodating to every need and couldn't be more helpful. The history which is evident with the framed photos from the past and a introduction tour by the staff really captivates you in wanting to know more about the regions rich history.

The rooms even though are in a 100+ year old manor are beautifully refurbished. They are in keeping with the building but are very clean, large and actually have a very modern feel even though the decor as I said was in keeping with the building.

The breakfast is amazing and it is a must that you try the homemade scones, the best I have had.

It is far enough out of town to get some peace and quiet but not far enough for a walk into town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Dear Michael S,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It is great to hear when guests appreciate all of the hard work which goes into refurbishing a property of this age and character. Both the breakfast and the Devonshire Teas are a firm favourite with all guests. Again we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Gracious gardens, sensational curb appeal, stylish rooms. An added bonus for me was the historic ties to the area. The house was built by the first light-keeper at Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse where the Southern and Indian Oceans meet. The place reminds me very much of the grandfather's estate in the novel "The Light Between Oceans." Only thing to mar the serene setting is the motorcycle racecourse on the other side of the hill that runs every other Saturday night in the summer. The noise chases you indoors and even then, it's quite loud.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room overlooking the gardens.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelWriterExm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at this historic Manor. We are very proud of the beautiful renovation and it makes it all the more worth while when we see these great reviews. Many apologies for the disturbance from the local race meeting.
Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Beautifully restored manor with lovely gardens, tennis court and private pool area. The room was clean and comfortable but the one we had was very small with no seating. The mattress was also a dream to sleep on. Ask for a room with seating and you will definately return. Great location away from Margaret River hussle and bussle but only a quick drive into the town centre.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
3  Thank EW2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear EW2010,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. Being a built circa 1912, and not a purpose built hotel, The Manor does have rooms of differing shape and size. Please be assured, as you experienced with the bed, all rooms are decorated and furnished to the same high standard.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We were there for 7 nights, very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was of abundance and all the staff are friendly and approachable. The rooms have been renovated and are quite spacious. The gardens speak for themselves. if you are looking for a quiet and tranquil environment, this is it. Bit of road noise, mind you, we live in Broome and don't experience that sort of noise.

Peter & Diane

Room Tip: We had the "Grange" room upstairs with a awesome view of the west side and a rather large...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dipeterbroome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Peter and Dianne,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that your enjoyed your seven night stay with us. The Manor certainly is in a very tranquil. We are pleased that the slight road noise did not impede on an otherwise enjoyable stay.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaret River
1.6 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
22.3 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
324 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
982 reviews
4.2 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
546 reviews
1.1 mi away
Prideau's of Margaret River
Prideau's of Margaret River
#6 of 10 in Margaret River
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Address: 187 Wallcliffe Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Margaret River
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
#3 Family Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range: £185 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Basildene Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret River's Finest - Welcoming today's discerning traveller with the promise of luxurious solitude & ensuring a relaxing, memorable stay. Basildene Manor, is an historic elegant country manor, set on 14 picturesque acres amidst the rich tapestry of renowned Margaret Rivers vineyards. Nineteen recently refurbished and beautifully appointed rooms are available. Our renowned Basildene Breakfast includes a full cooked a la carte breakfast and fruit buffet, all from the Manor restaurant. Nestled in the valley you will discover our heated outdoor swimming pool and secluded sun deck (avail in summer months), tennis court & lakeside pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Basildene Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor Hotel Margaret River
Basildene Manor Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing