We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Margaret River Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Great location. As a member of Accor the only downside was there were children onsite where the advertising stated that no children allowed.
Great rooms on the south side overlooking the garden which is beautiful to walk around. Plenty of rooms to sit and read and a great breakfast which was a good start to the day.
As it is located on the edge of town it is a good walk into Margaret River and is very quiet tranquil location with plenty of bird and wildlife in the garden at the right times.
The staff were helpful and friendly.
Good access to beach and path on Walcliffe Road is great for bike riding.
Not far to the golf course which is challenging layout and not far to some very good wineries and breweries.

Room Tip: Get the bath suites. Bigger room and nice outlook over gardens on south side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macca1168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Macca1168,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. To clarify, whilst the Manor is not a family resort, we do not disallow any guests who may wish to make a reservation. We would be grateful if you could you let us know which advertising led you to believe this.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

602 - 608 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2013

Excellent place for rest and relaxation.
Lovely sunroom for breakfast. Go early for breakfast otherwise it gets busy and it takes longer for your meal to arrive. We waited over half an hour the first morning. But there's lots of fruit, cereal, toast, jam and coffee to fill you up while waiting.
Stayed in one of the suites upstairs in the new extension. Nice and spacious. Beautifully decorated. Nice verandah to sit on and look out over the manicured gardens.
Would highly recommend for a weekend getaway from it all.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms have view of gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparklingshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear sparklingshoes,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased to read that you has an enjoyable relaxing stay with us. The breakfast is a firm favourite with all guests and as it is always freshly made to order it can take a little longer at busy times. we are glad that you also enjoyed the continental breakfast whilst you were waiting.
Again we thank you for your review and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Surprised my husband for our 20th Wedding Anniversary. The staff were wonderful and arranged for a bottle of Moet to celebrate our milestone. The room was very tastefully decorated and comfortable. The gardens are just beautiful. Thank you for making our brief stay wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie6766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Dear Julie6766,
Happy 20th Wedding Anniversary! Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your short stay, which was made all the more enjoyable by our wonderful staff. They will be thrilled with your comments.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back again soon - maybe for longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The only down side was that the reception room smelt like cat wee :( The rooms were lovely and the staff were helpful. The gardens surrounding the hotel are lovely and the bath is nice and big. The breakfast was really nice but a little overpriced and they didn't clean our rooms at all the entire stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Istarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Dear Istarae,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are shocked to hear that you felt that the reception smelt of cat urine. Please be assured that we do not allow any animals into the building. We have never received complaints of unpleasant smells in any part of the building. Reservations made using an Accor Vacation Club membership do not include a mid-stay clean, but are cleaned upon check out. Of course if a mid-stay clean is required this can be arranged at the time of booking or with reception. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room , in particular the lovely bath.
Again, we thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

My wife Lynne and I have spent 3 wonderful days in the Margaret River region. We stayed at Basildene Manor and were pleasantly surprised by our experience there. The staff were really friendly and most helpful, the quality of the accomodation was excellent and the gardens surrounding the Manor were beautifully manicured. Its the perfect place to unwind after a day out in the beautiful Margaret River Region. Well done and keep up the high standard.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAVID A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

Dear DAVID A,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us. The Margaret River region is such a beauty to explore, and what better way to end the day but to return to stay at The Manor. Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this lovely romantic-boutique hotel. We have both 2 bed room and jounior suite. The hotel building is surrounded with a large garden and pools. It is quiet, away but not too far from town. Very lovely environment, wake up with birds singing and flower bloom in the garden bed. Lovely staffs who look after for every details. The breakfast is too good to be true, fresh fruite salad and made to order - hot served meal.

All of these made a wonderful and perfect vacation for our family. Really recommend for persons who looking for a romantic place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank SWANGSPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

Dear SWANGSPA,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your families stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your 2 night stay at The Manor. The staff take a great pride in their work and will be thrilled with your comments.
Again, we thank you for your review and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

This place is a little treasure. The manor is beautifully maintained and the gardens are gorgeous. The breakfast is top quality and at a very reasonable price. Unfortuneatly we didn't get to try the scones so will have to return. We had the motorcross on the Saturday night and were given a warning of this by the manors staff. Though we could hear it, it wasn't annoying and didn't affect our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natnayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

Dear Natnayler,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, in particular the beautiful gardens and great breakfast. Also good to hear that the local race did not impede on your enjoyment.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back again - and don't forget to take time to enjoy the Devonshire Tea!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.6 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
1.0 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
254 reviews
1.2 mi away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
559 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
698 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Address: 187 Wallcliffe Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Margaret River
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
#3 Family Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range: £185 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Basildene Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret River's Finest - Welcoming today's discerning traveller with the promise of luxurious solitude & ensuring a relaxing, memorable stay. Basildene Manor, is an historic elegant country manor, set on 14 picturesque acres amidst the rich tapestry of renowned Margaret Rivers vineyards. Nineteen recently refurbished and beautifully appointed rooms are available. Our renowned Basildene Breakfast includes a full cooked a la carte breakfast and fruit buffet, all from the Manor restaurant. Nestled in the valley you will discover our heated outdoor swimming pool and secluded sun deck (avail in summer months), tennis court & lakeside pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Basildene Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor Hotel Margaret River
Basildene Manor Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing