We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Leeton, Australia
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

A beautiful property wonderfully managed and maintained. Beautiful cooked breakfast overlooking extensive grounds. Attentive and friendly staff. A special thank you to Max who made our stay enjoyable from the moment we checked in.We stayed in Shiraz room in original house.Room was spotless and full of character. Window opened for fresh air and ensuite was spacious. Fresh milk,tea and coffee making available at any time in lounge.In short we loved our stay and will definately return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spato_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear spato_13,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. All staff at the Manor take a great pride in their work. Max will be thrilled with your comments.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    91
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
58
521
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Loved it from the moment we entered. The grounds are fantastic. Enter the building and you go back in time to a grand age.
The assistance with advising and booking places to eat we had from the staff we top notch. They were like hosts at a B & B, they made time for you, you are special to them. Also, the breakfasts were excellent.
My wife and I will definitley be visiting again.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Wal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Wal M,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay in particular the wonderful service our staff never fail to provide. Breakfast is always a firm favourite with guests - be sure to try the Devonshire Tea next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I was overwhelmed by the charm of this beautiful property. Rooms and gardens immaculate, spacious and relaxing. Equally impressed by the welcome from Max on our arrival, even though we were very late. Wonderful staff, great service including their local knowledge (markets worth going to) and their obvious attachment to and knowledge of the history of Basildene Manor. Amazing breakfasts in the most lovely conservatory overlooking the gardens. Loved the sitting room and fire at night (thank you Brad for the lovely wine and cheese!) Someone got the formulae right with this one! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EME2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear EME2503,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. As you can imagine, a great deal of work went into the refurbishment of this wonderful building. Comments like yours make it all the more worthwhile.
Again, we thank you for your review and your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We have stayed here several times now and it's still the same 5 star rating. The rooms are beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean, fantastic lighting in the bathroom and room itself. We had the room called Riesling which is on the ground floor and it has a courtyard with outdoor setting. The bathroom has a free standing bathtub and a large separate shower The gardens are always immaculate and is a gorgeous view from the observatory where you can have a delicious breakfast or the devonshire teas in the afternoon. We had a barbecue and Max could not have been more helpful. He gave us a basket with plates, wine glasses, sauces and mustards, serviettes and set up the table with a white tablecloth. What a treat. Daniella and Max cannot do enough for you and just made our stay more enjoyable. Can't wait for our next stay there.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the ones overlooking the lake but we have stayed in a lot of different ones. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandurahmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Mandurahmum,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. It is so lovely to hear from repeat guests who continue to enjoy the consistent high standard of quality and service at The Manor. Daniela and Max pride themselves on giving exceptional service and both will be thrilled with your comments.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you yet again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Wow what a beautiful place to stay. My mother and I went for quick trip down south and we were lucky enough to try here. Everything was immaculate. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The room was divine, clean and soothing. The grounds took my breath away every time I had a look around. The scones with jam and cream for afternoon tea, scrumptious. And breakfast wow the food was amazing. I would recommend here if you need a cozy, friendly, stunning, quiet place to stay. Couldn't fault it, it was everything you would want or expect for this 4.5 star accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DenBrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear DenBrow,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that you and your mother enjoyed your stay. The Devonshire Tea and breakfast's are a firm favourite with all guests.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We chose this property because it looked good on bookings.com but nothing prepared us for the brilliant old building, outstanding service (which is rare), freshly prepared breakfast, scones in the afternoon (cooked upon request), quality of the accommodation, magnificent grounds, and personal tour on arrival, all at an excellent rate. If you don't book and stay while you are in Margaret River, you are missing out.

Room Tip: The king room up stairs in the main historic building had beautiful views and gave you access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Dear Debbie A,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are proud of The Manor and the service given by all staff. They consistently strive to exceed all guests expectations and will be thrilled with your comments.
Again, thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I was very disappointed to learn on arrival that this ‘Manor House’ was not a hotel, not even a serviced apartment but merely a B&B. Even though I had done my research, nowhere was I led to believe this was just a B&B because if I had known I would not have stayed here at a price tag of $350+ per night. You had to get in the car for every meal! The rooms are laid out beautifully but only works in a hotel environment (that’s how I was fooled, so my mistake I guess). I was hoping to sit on my terrace overlooking the gardens with a nice glass of wine (it is the wine region after all), instead I had a terrace with a brick wall fronting onto the car park.

Booking (Online Agent):
I made my booking through an online agent and put in all my details for the room I wanted (including an infant) and it was processed straight away. However when the Manor got my booking they informed us that an infant could not stay in this room as it was too small and not sound proofed and required a cot by law. So we had to take another room at a higher rate, we made the point that our booking had been accepted with an infant and they should honour the initial rate, but they didn’t. Instead they offered a very slight discount so we felt backed into a corner really as there was very little else available in the area, thus we caved and agreed to the higher rate. I think that’s why they put us in the room with the brick wall terrace and surprise surprise there was no cot in the room either, so much for the ‘law’…..

Room (Semillon Suite):
The room next door to us decided to play loud music as they were getting ready for an evening out just as we were putting our baby to sleep so I guess none of the rooms are sound proofed as we were led to believe? Also our room was in the newer part of the building and was next to the exit door so from 5am each morning guests were coming and going with luggage, very annoying. Now I know it’s an old building and Australia has problems with damp in general but there was a clear smell of damp in the general areas of the building.

Food (Breakfast)
Cooked breakfast was awful and the fact that the platters of fruit had ants crawling all over them was very off putting so I ended up having only tea and toast. Shame really as a good breakfast could have redeemed the manor on its other faults.

Service (No room service):
Overall the service was what you would expect from a B&B. No room service (only linen change and room clean) and no bar! The staff were friendly and we got a ‘tour’ of the building on arrival! You had to haul your own luggage though so if you are staying in the heritage building beware there is a stairs and no lift!

Good points:
Nice and friendly staff, Tea and Coffee station open until 7pm, Good Location & Nice Grounds.

General comment:
Mercure could improve this Manor by either upgrading their services or reducing their prices.

Tip: For anyone who has travelled around WA or for that matter outside any major city in Australia, you will know that hotels are far and few between. So my advice is don’t look for what’s not there and instead of getting ripped off in these high end chain B&Bs stay in a local guest house and even though prices are still high for what you get at least that way the money is going back into the community. The people of Margaret River are very friendly and deserve your custom.

Room Tip: Suites facing garden best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jakers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Jakers7,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so sorry to read of your dissatisfaction. A full investigation has taken place with the help of our Assistant Manager at The Manor.

Upon receiving your reservation made through an online booking site, our Assistant Manager called you directly to advise that whilst the booking engine had allowed you to enter two adults and an infant, the room type you had booked was not large enough to take a travel cot. You were offered a larger room in a different wing which usually carries the upgrade cost of $80. This was reduced to $50.00 for you.

Upon checking the booking website you used, we can see that the description and information given is correct. It does advise that babies and children cannot be accommodated in a Manor room and that whilst buffet and a la carte breakfast is served, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed at any of the many restaurants in the area.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the garden courtyard. It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your breakfast as so many guests do. We have not had a problem of ants reported to us but be assured we will monitor this.

Our staff at the Manor take a great pride in there guest service and strive to exceed all expectations. They are always happy to help with anything a guest may need.

Again, we thank you for your review and apologise for the dissatisfaction caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaret River
1.6 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
22.3 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
323 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
964 reviews
4.2 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
532 reviews
1.1 mi away
Prideau's of Margaret River
Prideau's of Margaret River
#6 of 10 in Margaret River
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Property: Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Address: 187 Wallcliffe Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Margaret River
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
#3 Family Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Basildene Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret River's Finest - Welcoming today's discerning traveller with the promise of luxurious solitude & ensuring a relaxing, memorable stay. Basildene Manor, is an historic elegant country manor, set on 14 picturesque acres amidst the rich tapestry of renowned Margaret Rivers vineyards. Nineteen recently refurbished and beautifully appointed rooms are available. Our renowned Basildene Breakfast includes a full cooked a la carte breakfast and fruit buffet, all from the Manor restaurant. Nestled in the valley you will discover our heated outdoor swimming pool and secluded sun deck (avail in summer months), tennis court & lakeside pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Basildene Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor Hotel Margaret River
Basildene Manor Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing