We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have asked for more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Thank you to Max & staff, we had a real relaxing stay and would highly recommend. Thank you to the breakfast staff the food was sensational. We spent four days at Basildene and it was the perfect location to tour around the wine locations and then return to the log fire and a glass or two of a Margaret River red. Thank you all again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Terry E,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Max and the team will be thrilled with your comments.
Again, we thank you for taking the time to post your review and recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

578 - 584 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

Room was great and service was excellent. The grounds of the property have beautiful gardens which are lovely to look at while eating the magnificent breakfasts available. Only thing we could fault was lack of anywhere to put toiletries in the room's bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamierex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Dear Jamierex,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Breakfast certainly is a wonderful way to start the day, great food and a magnificent view of the gardens which are lovingly cared for by our award winning gardener.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a spare of the moment weekend away from the city. It was everything and more you could imagine. We called up on the friday evening and managed to secure the last room in the property. Although reception was closed by the time we arrived, there was a welcome pack with complete instructions to the property and our stay. We woke every morning to amazing smells of fresh cooked breakfast. For the price per night there is so much included. The room we had was in the main manor. Exposed original brick wall, large queen bed, period bathroom, with all the mod-cons of course. We were able to bring all the goodies we collected from the amazing Margaret River region and come back to the open fire place drawing room and enjoy some quiet together by the fire. We will definently be staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Manor room, completely renovated with amazing period features.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAABMB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Dear SAABMB13,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased to read that your stay exceeded your expectations. We cannot think of a nicer way to end the day. Enjoying all of the local produce you have purchased whilst exploring this wonderful region.
Again, we thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The staff are just great! Very welcoming and accommodate every need, the best! The manor is well run, good rooms (lake view, bath with shower, king bed). Gardens and views are beautiful. Breakfasts excellent, no lunch or dinner although the manor is only a few minutes from town. You can do your own cheese and wine in the lounges though. Thoroughly recommended, even if somewhat expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greenmamba59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Dear Greenmamba59,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. All of the staff at the manor take a great pride in their work - they will be thrilled with your comments. We agree, the garedens are beautiful, all lovingly cared for by our award winning gardener.
Again, we thank you for your review and the recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. It was soo luxurious and private. Beautiful Gardens, great food, great rooms, great service!!! Highly Recommended to anyone looking for some time away and still that 5 star service and food.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sammios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Sammios,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. Congratulations to you both on your wedding. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future - maybe for your wedding anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife and I spent a perfect 24th Wedding Anniversary relaxing at Basildene Manor for 7 days. Our experience was enhanced by the professional and personable managers – Max and Daniella. It commenced with Max giving a guided tour and history of the Manor as he showed us to our suite.
The suite “Champagne” was amazing – tastefully decorated with old world charm. The private balcony had sweeping views of the grounds and Lagoon. The bath was huge and extremely relaxing.
The Breakfasts and Devonshire Teas were fantastic – and offered real value for money. Long walks in the manicured gardens were needed to burn off the large portioned meals. The Lounge with large fireplace gave guests the ability to sit, read, relax – or discuss wineries or tourist areas that they recommended.
The staff was always extremely helpful. Daniella took the time to discuss what types of activities we enjoyed and then made suggestions tailored to our tastes. My wife and I were sitting in the grounds enjoying a sunset - Max came outside and joked that we were missing wine glasses to make the moment truly memorable.
My wife and I had an amazing anniversary at Basildene Manor. It is one of the few places we have stayed where the management team treated us as the only guests in the Manor.
We have never shared on Trip Advisor before. After our holiday experience at Basildene Manor, we felt we needed to share this wonderful place with others.
Sincere thanks to Max, Daniella and the whole Basildene Team.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobVick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear RobVik,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. Happy 24th Wedding Anniversary! We are absolutely delighted to read that your stay at the Manor made for such a memorable celebration. As you can imagine, a lot of hard work goes into the refurbishment and upkeep of a property like this. All staff work very hard and we know that they will be thrilled to hear your comments.
Again, we thank you and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Spent 4 days with frends who just loved the place, we all love old charm and history of the Basildene Manor, staff is lovely, nothing is to much trouble even making poridge for my husband every morning when it was not on a menu. grounds where just beautiful, and rooms supurb, will go back in the spring

Room Tip: we got room on the 1st floor in old part of the manor,with window facing west and east very ligh, ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear sandra n,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after you and your friends stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. All staff take a great pride in their work - they will be thrilled with your comments.
Again, we thank you and look forward to welcoming you back in the Spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.6 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
1.0 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
255 reviews
1.2 mi away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
559 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
701 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Address: 187 Wallcliffe Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Margaret River
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
#3 Family Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range: £184 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Basildene Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret River's Finest - Welcoming today's discerning traveller with the promise of luxurious solitude & ensuring a relaxing, memorable stay. Basildene Manor, is an historic elegant country manor, set on 14 picturesque acres amidst the rich tapestry of renowned Margaret Rivers vineyards. Nineteen recently refurbished and beautifully appointed rooms are available. Our renowned Basildene Breakfast includes a full cooked a la carte breakfast and fruit buffet, all from the Manor restaurant. Nestled in the valley you will discover our heated outdoor swimming pool and secluded sun deck (avail in summer months), tennis court & lakeside pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Basildene Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor Hotel Margaret River
Basildene Manor Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing