We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant & relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This was our second stay at this lovely old home. Spending time in the gardens watching the birds, bunnies and bees is a bonus. Congratulations the gardeners for such beautiful grounds.
The breakfast are also a highlight. Wonderful fruitful selection and cooked breakfasts are excellent. Service is efficient and friendly.
A lovely touch with the "scone but not forgotten" parting treat, - best scones ever. Many thanks

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Pat M,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. Welcome back! We are extremely proud of our award winning gardener who lovingly tends to the magnificent gardens. The scones are a firm favourite with all guests.
Again we thank you and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

523 - 529 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Woodme1304
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is possibly one of the best places to unwind. Being a hotel that caters for adults rather than for children it is peacefull, and when you add its heritage look and fantastic gardens you have it all.

Room Tip: Quality rooms, but remember it is a Heritage Building. You come here for the Ambience and peace and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Kenneth R,
Thank you so much for your review. So pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We often visit the South West of WA and have mostly stayed at Bunker Bay Resort as it is an Accor property and I am an Accor member. We were delighted to see therefore, that Basildene Manor had joined the Accor group.
What a grand building and gardens, truly outstanding. Staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble, right down to the parting gift of scones. Our suite was one of four that overlook the lake and while access from the carpark to the room was easy and on one flat level, the slope of the property means even the ground floor suites open as first floor suites with a balcony overlooking the lake.
Breakfast was great but other meals need to be off site, which is no problem in Margaret River. The Manor is just out of town but connected by a good path away from the road if you feel energetic. (we didn't)

Room Tip: The four lake view rooms are the largest and have the best views. It's advisable to request the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Geoff H,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, in particular the great service, and parting gift.
We look forward to welcoming you again the next time you are exploring the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here for a week during our annual vacation. Such a beautiful location with fantastic staff. The gardens are gorgeous, the breakfasts well done, and nothing is too much trouble for the staff.
The rooms are clean and neat and the balcony overlooking the gardens make a great place to sit in the afternoons.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tez1271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Tez1271,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. It is so good to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in. The building itself and the surrounding grounds are just stunning. Our room was spotless and the bed was massive and so comfortable. It was so homely having the beautiful sitting room and fireplace to enjoy a nice glass of vino from Margaret River. The staff were so friendly and really made our day when on departure we were presented with 2 beautiful scones with butter and jam for our onward journey. Having the use of the laundry facilities came in really handy for us also. Definitely a must stay when visiting Margaret River.

Room Tip: We stayed in Chablis and it was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Patricia B,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. We agree - such a beautiful property. We are very proud of the Manor and of all of the staff who work so hard to ensure that all guests have a great stay.
Again, we thank you and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Nicola V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.6 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
1.0 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
253 reviews
1.2 mi away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
990 reviews
4.2 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#6 of 10 in Margaret River
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Address: 187 Wallcliffe Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
#1 Luxury Hotel in Margaret River
#3 Family Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range: £194 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Basildene Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret River's Finest - Welcoming today's discerning traveller with the promise of luxurious solitude & ensuring a relaxing, memorable stay. Basildene Manor, is an historic elegant country manor, set on 14 picturesque acres amidst the rich tapestry of renowned Margaret Rivers vineyards. Nineteen recently refurbished and beautifully appointed rooms are available. Our renowned Basildene Breakfast includes a full cooked a la carte breakfast and fruit buffet, all from the Manor restaurant. Nestled in the valley you will discover our heated outdoor swimming pool and secluded sun deck (avail in summer months), tennis court & lakeside pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Basildene Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor Hotel Margaret River
Basildene Manor Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing