We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best day of our lives thanks to Basildene Manor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Geoje, South Korea
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best day of our lives thanks to Basildene Manor”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We recently got married at the manor and to say it was amazing is an understatement. We had the manor exclusively for the weekend, for ourselves and our guests, and everyone is still raving about what a beautiful place it was and how lovely the staff were. Jenny, Daniela and Max are truly assets to the place, they all went above and beyond for us and our guests. They provided such lovely service and really add to the charm of the manor.
The manor itself is breathtaking - the rooms are so plush and yet still have such a warm, cosy feel to them. Don't get me wrong when I say cosy either - they are incredibly spacious. More than enough room to have a room full of bridesmaids, flower girls, make up artists etc etc and not feel cramped!
The bathrooms are also stocked with the most luxurious products - a big plus for us girls!
The grounds themselves are stunning and it was so relaxing to walk around them in the lead up to the wedding, and such a perfect background for our big day.
Now onto my favourite part...the breakfast! Wow! It was incredible! The food was so scrumptious and they had a wonderful selection. Perfect start to the wedding day :)
We really did have the best day of our lives and a big part of that was due to the manor. It was the perfect setting to host our wedding and our guests and we cannot wait to return in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    86
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
57
511
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kojonup, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just had 3 wonderful nights at the Manor, an early birthday treat. The peaceful surrounds, lovely gardens and very welcoming staff made it very enjoyable. Love their breakfasts, nice and fresh and more than enough. I wished we could have stayed longer to enjoy more of what they offer. While I enjoyed our room it would of been lovely to have a balcony room with a view. What a surprise and treat it was to receive freshly baked scone as we departed. Much appreciated as we didn't have time for breakfast as we had to leave early, work beckoning unfortunately. We have been before and would continue our visits in the future.
A & J M

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Anna M,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. It is always great to hear from our repeat guests.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

This place is simply beautiful. The surroundings and building is very well-taken care of for a century old place. The Ala-carte breakfast was very good with great sides for buffet. We get a good view of the lawn and lake while hvg breakfast.

We wld hv given them a 5 star rating if not for the lack of service from the staff. We arrived at 8pm on our first nite and there was no one to greet us. Instead an envelope with my name was left on front counter with the key to my room. And the 2nd incident was at breakfast when I picked up a plate at buffet table. A staff came up to me spoke in a rather curt tone asking what I had wanted. Told her I wanted a plate to pick up some fruits. She pointed to the bowls and said use this. It was rather disappointing tt the staff didn't match up with this fine establishment.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank StephSoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear StephSoh,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so sorry to read that you felt that there was a lack of service from the staff on two occasions. This is most unusual and as you will read from other posts certainly not what many guests tell us they enjoy.
Again, we apologise for the experience you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This glorious hotel was our home for two days on a recent visit to Margaret River. We loved it; the welcoming ambience of the entrance as you step inside, our beautiful room, the quiet and peaceful lounge rooms where you could read and play with those tablets none of us can live without, lovely breakfasts, the magnificent gardens, crystral clear swimming pool which was just the right temperature...and, last but not least the friendly, helpful staff. Those scrumptious freshly baked scones we were presented with as we checked out (which we are sitting overlooking Bunker Bay) were the icing on the cake. What more can I say! We gave it eleven out of ten and can't wait to return!! Thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: We had the only room with the original stone call (as featured in the photo on the Basildene Manor s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michcav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Michav,
Wow - what a wonderful review. Thank you! Its is great to hear from guests who have thoroughly enjoyed their stay from the moment of stepping foot into the entrance to the farewell scones.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights and were blown away by the standard of the room, the breakfast, the grounds and the pool (a perfect place to cool down after visiting wineries). Would highly recommend it and would love to stay again. It's in a great location. The scones for the trip home were a thoughtful touch.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianneP64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear DianneP64,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I wish we could have stayed longer! We loved Basildene Manor from the moment we viewed it on the internet. From the moment we arrived and were given the tour by Max, we were hooked! Perfect place to relax, the gardens are beautiful and our court yard suite was amazing. Next time I am hoping to have a Lake view Suite:) All the staff from day 1 were genuinely friendly. Loved our freshly baked scones to see us on our trip home to Perth or is Baslldene Manor home?......... We loved the late check out at 12 noon. To be honest, we don't think that there was anything we didn't like! We did think that the staff "deserve" a more comfortable office, looks a tad to little!! We will definately be going back there soon and recommend it to anyone:)

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a Deluxe room to the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliveandPamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear PammyD62,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay after waiting for so long! Max and all the team at the Manor work tirelessly to ensure that all guests have a fabulous stay with us and they thrive on the wonderful feedback we receive.
Again, we thank you for your review and recommendation and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaret River
1.6 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
1.0 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
244 reviews
22.3 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
642 reviews
4.2 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
523 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Property: Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Address: 187 Wallcliffe Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
#1 Luxury Hotel in Margaret River
#3 Family Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Basildene Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret River's Finest - Welcoming today's discerning traveller with the promise of luxurious solitude & ensuring a relaxing, memorable stay. Basildene Manor, is an historic elegant country manor, set on 14 picturesque acres amidst the rich tapestry of renowned Margaret Rivers vineyards. Nineteen recently refurbished and beautifully appointed rooms are available. Our renowned Basildene Breakfast includes a full cooked a la carte breakfast and fruit buffet, all from the Manor restaurant. Nestled in the valley you will discover our heated outdoor swimming pool and secluded sun deck (avail in summer months), tennis court & lakeside pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Basildene Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor Hotel Margaret River
Basildene Manor Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing