We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor breakfast service, attitude adjustment needed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Basildene Manor . First room smelt of sewerage in bathroom. Drains were attended to with chemical, but we were not moved until the following night.
Breakfast was beautiful however the attitude of staff on both mornings could be described as "aloof" On the second morning after sitting for 35 minutes, the girl came to advise that she had forgotten our order! At this stage there was only one other couple in the dining room , and she had forgotten their order as well! Not good enough for a 5 * rating........get some friendly AND professional staff.
What a shame Daniella wasn't on duty when we complained. We may have left feeling that our concerns hadn't fallen on deaf ears.

Room Tip: The advertisements are misleading. Be careful......the standard rooms, especially the one we had nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

526 - 532 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

We just spent another week here in January for the second time. It is certainly our Home Away from Home. So relaxing and charming. A continental or cooked breakfast is served daily (for a very reasonable price) in the dining room if you wish. Very nice - we ate there once this time round and found ourselves exploring the many cafes and restaurants in the area. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the bed is really comfy. We were lucky to have a room with a balcony and view of the garden. Very tranquil. The rooms have a small fridge and coffee/tea facilities. There are BBQs to use and all you need to do is let the staff know that you wish to use it and they will leave out a hamper with cooking utensils, condiments, crockery and cutlery at the time specified. The best thing I liked was that there was no cleaning - the staff took care of this. How wonderful. Also free Wifi - how great! and on our departure we were given freshly made scones with jam and butter to eat on our journey. My husband and I always enjoy our stay here. CAn't wait for our return visit.:)

Room Tip: I would ask for a room downstairs at the back with a balcony over the garden and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyview431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear skyview431,
Welcome back! Its is always great to hear from our repeat guests. Thanks for taking the time to post your review. So pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you made good use of the BBQ facilities. The staff The Manor are always happy to help.
Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights at the manor, staff were lovely and provided us with a tour and history of the manor. Bed was comfy, breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Manor is very quiet and perfect for a romantic getaway. Gardens are stunning! Would come back again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ninjatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear ninjatravel,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much - we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We recently got married at the manor and to say it was amazing is an understatement. We had the manor exclusively for the weekend, for ourselves and our guests, and everyone is still raving about what a beautiful place it was and how lovely the staff were. Jenny, Daniela and Max are truly assets to the place, they all went above and beyond for us and our guests. They provided such lovely service and really add to the charm of the manor.
The manor itself is breathtaking - the rooms are so plush and yet still have such a warm, cosy feel to them. Don't get me wrong when I say cosy either - they are incredibly spacious. More than enough room to have a room full of bridesmaids, flower girls, make up artists etc etc and not feel cramped!
The bathrooms are also stocked with the most luxurious products - a big plus for us girls!
The grounds themselves are stunning and it was so relaxing to walk around them in the lead up to the wedding, and such a perfect background for our big day.
Now onto my favourite part...the breakfast! Wow! It was incredible! The food was so scrumptious and they had a wonderful selection. Perfect start to the wedding day :)
We really did have the best day of our lives and a big part of that was due to the manor. It was the perfect setting to host our wedding and our guests and we cannot wait to return in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christie907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My husband and I have just had 3 wonderful nights at the Manor, an early birthday treat. The peaceful surrounds, lovely gardens and very welcoming staff made it very enjoyable. Love their breakfasts, nice and fresh and more than enough. I wished we could have stayed longer to enjoy more of what they offer. While I enjoyed our room it would of been lovely to have a balcony room with a view. What a surprise and treat it was to receive freshly baked scone as we departed. Much appreciated as we didn't have time for breakfast as we had to leave early, work beckoning unfortunately. We have been before and would continue our visits in the future.
A & J M

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Anna M,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. It is always great to hear from our repeat guests.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

This place is simply beautiful. The surroundings and building is very well-taken care of for a century old place. The Ala-carte breakfast was very good with great sides for buffet. We get a good view of the lawn and lake while hvg breakfast.

We wld hv given them a 5 star rating if not for the lack of service from the staff. We arrived at 8pm on our first nite and there was no one to greet us. Instead an envelope with my name was left on front counter with the key to my room. And the 2nd incident was at breakfast when I picked up a plate at buffet table. A staff came up to me spoke in a rather curt tone asking what I had wanted. Told her I wanted a plate to pick up some fruits. She pointed to the bowls and said use this. It was rather disappointing tt the staff didn't match up with this fine establishment.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank StephSoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear StephSoh,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so sorry to read that you felt that there was a lack of service from the staff on two occasions. This is most unusual and as you will read from other posts certainly not what many guests tell us they enjoy.
Again, we apologise for the experience you encountered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This glorious hotel was our home for two days on a recent visit to Margaret River. We loved it; the welcoming ambience of the entrance as you step inside, our beautiful room, the quiet and peaceful lounge rooms where you could read and play with those tablets none of us can live without, lovely breakfasts, the magnificent gardens, crystral clear swimming pool which was just the right temperature...and, last but not least the friendly, helpful staff. Those scrumptious freshly baked scones we were presented with as we checked out (which we are sitting overlooking Bunker Bay) were the icing on the cake. What more can I say! We gave it eleven out of ten and can't wait to return!! Thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: We had the only room with the original stone call (as featured in the photo on the Basildene Manor s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michcav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Michav,
Wow - what a wonderful review. Thank you! Its is great to hear from guests who have thoroughly enjoyed their stay from the moment of stepping foot into the entrance to the farewell scones.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.6 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
1 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
263 reviews
1.2 mi away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
727 reviews
4.2 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
566 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stay Margaret River
Stay Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Address: 187 Wallcliffe Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
#1 Luxury Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range: £185 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Basildene Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret River's Finest - Welcoming today's discerning traveller with the promise of luxurious solitude & ensuring a relaxing, memorable stay. Basildene Manor, is an historic elegant country manor, set on 14 picturesque acres amidst the rich tapestry of renowned Margaret Rivers vineyards. Nineteen recently refurbished and beautifully appointed rooms are available. Our renowned Basildene Breakfast includes a full cooked a la carte breakfast and fruit buffet, all from the Manor restaurant. Nestled in the valley you will discover our heated outdoor swimming pool and secluded sun deck (avail in summer months), tennis court & lakeside pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Basildene Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor Hotel Margaret River
Basildene Manor Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing