We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (842)
Filter reviews
842 results
Traveller rating
702
105
24
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
702
105
24
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones devonshire tea manicured gardens parting gift new wing journey home breakfast room reading room old world charm beautiful garden beautiful room lovely touch sitting room the main house breakfast was excellent beautiful place to stay bbq facilities
Filter
Updating list...
599 - 604 of 842 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed 4 nights this month & our room was Zinfandel and the above statement came from the good lady who herself was very well traveled world wide but had never been to South West WA.
It was my 2nd time there with the roomtotally refurbished and to travel from one side of Aussie to the other and find Baseldine is worth the trip with the location just far enough out of the township to avoid the bustle.Breakfasts terrific with the relaxing views over the wonderful gardens. An added bonus was the visit by Easter Bunny early Sunday leaving chocolates on our doors and in not too hard places to find.
Wolf S
As there are no children the big kids pigged out! Also must thank the team for the going away present - can't remember that happening anywhere else we have stayed. Team the scones got to Sydney.

Room tip: Be a Accor Vacation Club Member
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wolf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Wolf S,
WOW! What a statement! What a review! We really appreciate you taking the time to post your fantastic review on Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased that you both enjoyed your stay, together with a visit from the Easter Bunny & your farewell present. We really look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We spent 5 nights at Basildene and loved every moment. The breakfasts are incredible with so many options, and staff were easily able to accommodate me as a coeliac (gluten free). The morning spread was so indulgent we often didn't need lunch! Sitting in the sun room overlooking the beautiful gardens whilst enjoying breakfast was a wonderful way to start each day. The staff were friendly and accommodating, whether it be for a cup of coffee with scones and jam/cream in the afternoon, helping with using the laundry facilities - or providing us with a picnic basket full of cutlery/crockery and condiments so we could use the bbq facilties one night (note - when staying on a busy public holiday period like easter - book your restaurant in advance!).
The tub in our bathroom was crazily comfortable, and the bed provided a great night's sleep. My only negative (and it's very minor) - is that there aren't any fluffy white robes to lounge about your room in! We loved our stay and couldn't recommend it enough!

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poppykettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear poppykettle,
We are so pleased the staff were able to accommodate your dietary requirements and also provide you with the picnic basket. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Basildene Manor and we would love to welcome you back for more indulgence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

A comfortable, clean and classy manor house, I would not hesitate to stay at again. Max was a wonderful host, providing tours on arrival and within minutes you felt at home. Nothing was too much trouble, yet you felt comfortable roaming the house and property as if it were your own. The breakfasts are to die for, scones on departure an absolute treat in this day and age when it's usually only a receipt you get on check out. The gardens are beautiful and so was the pool. I would rush back to Basildene Manor at the first opportunity.

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank angieknight59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear angieknight59,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased you found the manor comfortable, clean and classy. We are glad you appreciated the scones on departure & look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Absolutely loved our accommodation at the manor. Not only were the rooms and grounds just beautiful but the customer service we received was of very high standard. Staff made the utmost effort to ensure our stay was of superior standard, from receiving a personal tour of the Manor upon check in, to a personal greeting at breakfast, and a welcoming conversation with the gardener about our day's plans, and even the use of the BBQ complete with a well supplied picnic basket and ice bucket to accompany our BBQ usage highlights a huge list of personal touches throughout our stay.
From beginning to end, our stay was perfect, and to top it off we were even given a delicious parting gift of homemade scones and jam to enjoy post stay! A totally exceptional stay, cannot recommend the Manor enough!

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabriellle f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear gabrielle f,
Absolutely loved your review of Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay & the personalised service provided. We are glad you found the jam & scones delicious and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Im not really one to write reviews on accommodation, but I felt obliged to let everyone know how exceptional this hotel is! From the moment we arrived, the staff were fantastic. Very friendly and welcoming. Basildene Manor is beautifully presented, and the room we stayed in was very generous. It was very clean and tidy. Breakfast offered a good range of foods to choose from, and they accommodated my gluten free requirements. It is in an amazing location - only 2 mins from town. Would definitely recommend staying here!!

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Kathryn R,
We are so pleased that you took the time to post your review & let everyone know how much you enjoyed Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We always try to assist with special dietary requirements where possible. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews