We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place with great character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing place with great character”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is an amazing hotel, perfect for a romantic getaway. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The old building has great character and has been modernized inside and out. The breakfast that was included each morning was amazing and a perfect way to start the day. The hotel is also in a great location, being close enough to town but with easy access no matter what you had planned in the region. The grounds around the hotel are also incredible and a great place to relax.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pure_Ownage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Pure_Ownage,
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor and thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad that enjoyed the great character of the old building and it's modernization, together with the friendly and helpful staff. We would love you to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    86
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
56
507
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My partner and I just spent a beautiful weekend in Margaret River.

Fantastic start to our weekend away. We were given a tour of the manor and then shown to our room.

The rooms were modern and spacious. Breakfasts were the perfect start to the day - having such a beautiful view of the gardens.

We especially appreciated our farewell gift!

Only thing we would have preferred would have been wi-fi accessibility in the rooms.

Highly recommend Basildene Manor!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Jaz T,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased you enjoyed your perfect weekend away and found the rooms to be modern and spacious. We would love to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bairnsdale, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Basildene and felt really looked after. On arrival, we were given a tour of the place and then shown to our room, which was very clean and beautifully presented, just like the pictures. There is a lovely sunroom with all-day tea, pod coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits. Breakfast was served here and consisted of a cooked breakfast if you wished (great selection, plus they cooked just plain eggs when asked) as well as a range of breads, muffins, fresh fruit, cereals, different poached fruits (these were great!), yoghurts and juices. Also in the afternoon you could buy scones here. There were two small sitting rooms, both with a fireplace which they lit in the afternoons. Very cosy and atmospheric. Newspapers were also available.

Rooms included separate reverse cycle air con, iron/ironing board and safe. There was also a bar fridge and a full set of crockery and cutlery and salt/pepper so that you could self cater if preferred. Very useful if you didn't feel like going out for dinner. Beds were very comfortable with great pillows.

Staff were all just lovely and very helpful. It was quiet at night too, which may be because there were no children staying near us, but either way, the place is pretty solid! The grounds were immaculate and included a tennis court (with racquets and balls available) if you were so inclined. The hotel is a little out of town and set off the road. Would be a bit of a walk into town for dinner, but this would be fine on warm evenings or when it wasn't raining. After our winery tour, when neither of us could drive, we walked about 700m up the road and ate dinner at the resort hotel just up the road (in between rain showers). For the record, there are no taxis in Margaret River during the week that we could find.

I would highly recommend Basildene for a lovely stay in a lovely region. We were even given a great little parting gift of scones when we left, which made a beautiful morning tea at nearby Bunker Bay. Delicious!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Shannon M,
We are so pleased you enjoyed your 3 nights at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor and thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are also glad that you enjoyed the property's facilities, together with the breakfasts and the sitting areas. We would love to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
western australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Basildene Manor has had a makeover right through so it is a beautiful mix of old world charm with the modern things we all desire like comfy king size beds, stunning views and balconies from some of the rooms, plenty of room to relax on stylish new furnishings. Staff are always friendly and attentive. Plenty of brochures on things to do and see but staff are very helpful too. Breakfast is available in a beautiful glassed conservatory overlooking the stunning gardens and lake. There is a coffee machine to help yourself to during the day so even if it's a bit wet outside you can sit in the conservatory and enjoy some breathtaking views or do some reading. The gardeners really take pride in their work and the grounds are lush with flowers and foliage. The manor is just outside the Margaret River townsite - we usually walk in for some exercise - about 6km return, a nice walk on a safe footpath. We stay here on average twice a year. You are minutes by car from the townsite, wineries, galleries, caves and restaurants of all different standards and costs. We recommend having a late lunch in a winery, buy wines at the cellar door and stop and buy some bread, cheese and cold meats on your way back to Basildene Manor to dine on - then you can relax for the rest of the evening in your room or one of the lounge areas in front of a log fire - the end to a perfect day.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralph2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear ralph2288,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the old world charm with modern comforts. It appears you got to experience all that the Manor & the surrounding attractions have to offer, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Excellent location close to all amenities. Delish scones on arrival (not complimentary), lovely private suite with big tub and views to the kangas grazing behind the property. Ample breakfasts are delightful. Clean, well tended gardens, tennis court good for hit n giggle.
Only disappointment was lack of open fire places. Gas log fires don't cut it on a cool autumn evening. All staff are delightful ...

Room Tip: Large suites are worth the extra spend ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boheme9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Boheme9,
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor and thank you for taking the time to post your review. We would love to welcome you back to enjoy the private suite with the big tub and the breakfasts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed here for a weekend in May with my partner. Location excellent, only a minute drive from the town and the room and building were immaculate. Staying at the manor is expensive but it is a different experience to staying at other hotels - it is quiet, cosy and quaint. If this is in your budget I'd recommend it.

Room Tip: Grange, amazing view, very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuggetsoclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Nuggetsoclock,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are glad that you enjoyed your quiet, cosy weekend and the property's excellent location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waroona, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is the most beautiful place I have stayed in in Western Australia. The garden are magnificent. Just perfect to sit with a glass wine from Margaret River and relax.
The staff and the breakfast were brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marg1752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Marg1752,
We are so pleased you consider Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, the most beautiful place you've stayed in in Western Australia. We would love to host you again, if only for you to sit in the garden with a glass of wine from the Margaret River and relax. Seriously, we really appreciate you taking the time to post your review & would love to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.0 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.6 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
1.4 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
1.1 mi away
Prideau's of Margaret River
Prideau's of Margaret River
#6 of 10 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Property: Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Address: 187 Wallcliffe Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
#1 Luxury Hotel in Margaret River
#3 Family Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Basildene Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret River's Finest - Welcoming today's discerning traveller with the promise of luxurious solitude & ensuring a relaxing, memorable stay. Basildene Manor, is an historic elegant country manor, set on 14 picturesque acres amidst the rich tapestry of renowned Margaret Rivers vineyards. Nineteen recently refurbished and beautifully appointed rooms are available. Our renowned Basildene Breakfast includes a full cooked a la carte breakfast and fruit buffet, all from the Manor restaurant. Nestled in the valley you will discover our heated outdoor swimming pool and secluded sun deck (avail in summer months), tennis court & lakeside pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Basildene Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor Hotel Margaret River
Basildene Manor Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing