We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epitomises the word "hospitality"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We first stayed at Basildene Manor about 10 years ago and I was so impressed back then, that when looking for a place to stay for a return visit to the region in June 2014, I didn't hesitate to book there again. Dare I say that I think the experience was even better this time! The property itself is beautiful - gorgeous old building, beautifully landscaped gardens, luxurious comfortable rooms (with big bathrooms) and a great breakfast. But what impressed me most was the warm welcome that we received. We were greeted by Max who, rather than simply pointing us in the direction of the rooms and facilities, gave us a guided tour, including a commentary on the old photos on the walls and colouring in a history of the place for us, as well as making some great local restaurant recommendations. And just to make sure our last impression was as good as the first impression, the farewell gift of freshly baked scones with jam and cream (for the road trip back to Perth), was a really lovely touch. When your leisure time is precious (and who's isn't?), it's so nice to put yourself in the hands of people who really epitomise the word "hospitality". Absolutely the right choice when contemplating a visit to the Margaret River region.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wooders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Wooders 1,
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your return visit to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor (albeit 10 years apart). We love welcoming our return guests and are amazed that you thought the experience was even better this time around. We're also glad that you appreciated the greeting and the guided tour provided by Max on arrival, together with the farewell gift on departure. We hope you can stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

501 - 507 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

This boutique hotel is a very good example of how to present and run an establishment. Not only has the building been lovingly restored but you can see the staff take great pride in and pleasure in working there. The In-house and the outside staff show every attention to detail. Bravo.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor anywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Byron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Byron B,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We love your comments regarding the restored building and appreciate your feedback on all the staff. We would love to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Many adjectives could be used to describe Basildene Manor, I would like to say warm, elegant, luxurious and picturesque to say a few.
We decided to drive to Margaret River for a night and discovered Baslidene Manor on-line.
It was built in 1912 and the atmosphere was very welcoming. The gardens were beautiful and our room was luxurious. Breakfast was included and was a feast for a king. Coffee facilities in the room and the sitting areas were complimentary. On departure we were given a little 'picnic' of fresh scones and jam for the road.
Our only disappointment was staying one night. I would recommend a stay for 2 or more nights. Also, it it tries to keep it children free. Something that I prefer on these get aways.
Thank you to all there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 64KLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear 64KLC,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are glad that you enjoyed the historical building, beautiful gardens, breakfast & coffee facilities. We would love to welcome you back for a longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We recently took my Mother for a week at our favourite escape.
As always the staff were attentive and helpful.They even arranged an electric blanket for Mum who, at 91,feels the cold.
Mum thoroughly enjoyed been spoiled by the staff.
We were upstairs overlooking the grounds this time..simply stunning.
If you are looking for peace and quiet ( it is a child free stay), awesome building, grounds ,staff and food THIS is the place for you.

Room Tip: All rooms have a pleasant outlook, even those that face the rear have shady gardens. The upper stor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noeleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Noeleen T,
We are so pleased that you and your mother enjoyed your week at your favourite escape, and thank you for posting your review. We would love to host you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here for the long weekend as the reviews were good and it looked appealing. The room was beautifully decorated in heritage style, comfortable bed, large television mounted on the wall. The property has a rich history which was explained on a personalised tour by Max, who greeted us! The property has a gorgeous garden and is close to the heart of Margaret River. Breakfast was included each morning which was lovely. When choosing a room bear in mind that some of the rooms (ours) are very small and the bathroom only has a shower. If you're after more space and want a bath, best to book one of the suites which are situated in the new part of the property. Definitely worth a visit as there were many small touches for example, a mint was left after housekeeping had been and as we left, we were given two scones, jam, butter and two plastic knives.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shortyperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear shortyperth,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. It's good to see that you appreciated the heritage style plus the added mod cons, as well as the personalised tour by Max. We hope you can return to enjoy a room in the new part of the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is an amazing hotel, perfect for a romantic getaway. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The old building has great character and has been modernized inside and out. The breakfast that was included each morning was amazing and a perfect way to start the day. The hotel is also in a great location, being close enough to town but with easy access no matter what you had planned in the region. The grounds around the hotel are also incredible and a great place to relax.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pure_Ownage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Pure_Ownage,
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor and thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad that enjoyed the great character of the old building and it's modernization, together with the friendly and helpful staff. We would love you to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My partner and I just spent a beautiful weekend in Margaret River.

Fantastic start to our weekend away. We were given a tour of the manor and then shown to our room.

The rooms were modern and spacious. Breakfasts were the perfect start to the day - having such a beautiful view of the gardens.

We especially appreciated our farewell gift!

Only thing we would have preferred would have been wi-fi accessibility in the rooms.

Highly recommend Basildene Manor!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Jaz T,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased you enjoyed your perfect weekend away and found the rooms to be modern and spacious. We would love to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaret River
1.6 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
1 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
270 reviews
1.2 mi away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
736 reviews
4.2 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
572 reviews
20.5 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Yallingup
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Address: 187 Wallcliffe Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
#1 Luxury Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range: £183 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Basildene Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret River's Finest - Welcoming today's discerning traveller with the promise of luxurious solitude & ensuring a relaxing, memorable stay. Basildene Manor, is an historic elegant country manor, set on 14 picturesque acres amidst the rich tapestry of renowned Margaret Rivers vineyards. Nineteen recently refurbished and beautifully appointed rooms are available. Our renowned Basildene Breakfast includes a full cooked a la carte breakfast and fruit buffet, all from the Manor restaurant. Nestled in the valley you will discover our heated outdoor swimming pool and secluded sun deck (avail in summer months), tennis court & lakeside pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Mercure Basildene Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor Hotel Margaret River
Basildene Manor Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing