We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mrs Jackie Margraf”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mrs Jackie Margraf”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked to have a break from work, kids etc. From the moment we drove through the gates we felt so relaxed as the grounds are immaculately kept and the Manor is so beautiful. We were greeted by a friendly staff member who told us the history of the place and made sure we were comfortable. Over the weekend we played cards and drank by the fire, went for walks on the grounds and enjoyed the local restaurants. If you are looking to get away to a place with old fashioned charm and all the modern comforts Basildene Manor is the place. You also get a delicious farewell gift.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Jacqueline M,
We are pleased that you & your husband enjoyed your break from the kids etc and that the property and the staff were able to assist you both feel relaxed. We are also grateful that you took the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    86
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
55
506
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We first stayed at Basildene Manor about 10 years ago and I was so impressed back then, that when looking for a place to stay for a return visit to the region in June 2014, I didn't hesitate to book there again. Dare I say that I think the experience was even better this time! The property itself is beautiful - gorgeous old building, beautifully landscaped gardens, luxurious comfortable rooms (with big bathrooms) and a great breakfast. But what impressed me most was the warm welcome that we received. We were greeted by Max who, rather than simply pointing us in the direction of the rooms and facilities, gave us a guided tour, including a commentary on the old photos on the walls and colouring in a history of the place for us, as well as making some great local restaurant recommendations. And just to make sure our last impression was as good as the first impression, the farewell gift of freshly baked scones with jam and cream (for the road trip back to Perth), was a really lovely touch. When your leisure time is precious (and who's isn't?), it's so nice to put yourself in the hands of people who really epitomise the word "hospitality". Absolutely the right choice when contemplating a visit to the Margaret River region.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wooders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Wooders 1,
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your return visit to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor (albeit 10 years apart). We love welcoming our return guests and are amazed that you thought the experience was even better this time around. We're also glad that you appreciated the greeting and the guided tour provided by Max on arrival, together with the farewell gift on departure. We hope you can stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This boutique hotel is a very good example of how to present and run an establishment. Not only has the building been lovingly restored but you can see the staff take great pride in and pleasure in working there. The In-house and the outside staff show every attention to detail. Bravo.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor anywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Byron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Byron B,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We love your comments regarding the restored building and appreciate your feedback on all the staff. We would love to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Many adjectives could be used to describe Basildene Manor, I would like to say warm, elegant, luxurious and picturesque to say a few.
We decided to drive to Margaret River for a night and discovered Baslidene Manor on-line.
It was built in 1912 and the atmosphere was very welcoming. The gardens were beautiful and our room was luxurious. Breakfast was included and was a feast for a king. Coffee facilities in the room and the sitting areas were complimentary. On departure we were given a little 'picnic' of fresh scones and jam for the road.
Our only disappointment was staying one night. I would recommend a stay for 2 or more nights. Also, it it tries to keep it children free. Something that I prefer on these get aways.
Thank you to all there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 64KLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear 64KLC,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are glad that you enjoyed the historical building, beautiful gardens, breakfast & coffee facilities. We would love to welcome you back for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We recently took my Mother for a week at our favourite escape.
As always the staff were attentive and helpful.They even arranged an electric blanket for Mum who, at 91,feels the cold.
Mum thoroughly enjoyed been spoiled by the staff.
We were upstairs overlooking the grounds this time..simply stunning.
If you are looking for peace and quiet ( it is a child free stay), awesome building, grounds ,staff and food THIS is the place for you.

Room Tip: All rooms have a pleasant outlook, even those that face the rear have shady gardens. The upper stor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noeleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Noeleen T,
We are so pleased that you and your mother enjoyed your week at your favourite escape, and thank you for posting your review. We would love to host you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here for the long weekend as the reviews were good and it looked appealing. The room was beautifully decorated in heritage style, comfortable bed, large television mounted on the wall. The property has a rich history which was explained on a personalised tour by Max, who greeted us! The property has a gorgeous garden and is close to the heart of Margaret River. Breakfast was included each morning which was lovely. When choosing a room bear in mind that some of the rooms (ours) are very small and the bathroom only has a shower. If you're after more space and want a bath, best to book one of the suites which are situated in the new part of the property. Definitely worth a visit as there were many small touches for example, a mint was left after housekeeping had been and as we left, we were given two scones, jam, butter and two plastic knives.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shortyperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear shortyperth,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. It's good to see that you appreciated the heritage style plus the added mod cons, as well as the personalised tour by Max. We hope you can return to enjoy a room in the new part of the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.0 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.6 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
1.4 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
1.1 mi away
Prideau's of Margaret River
Prideau's of Margaret River
#6 of 10 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Property: Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Address: 187 Wallcliffe Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Margaret River
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
#3 Family Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Basildene Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret River's Finest - Welcoming today's discerning traveller with the promise of luxurious solitude & ensuring a relaxing, memorable stay. Basildene Manor, is an historic elegant country manor, set on 14 picturesque acres amidst the rich tapestry of renowned Margaret Rivers vineyards. Nineteen recently refurbished and beautifully appointed rooms are available. Our renowned Basildene Breakfast includes a full cooked a la carte breakfast and fruit buffet, all from the Manor restaurant. Nestled in the valley you will discover our heated outdoor swimming pool and secluded sun deck (avail in summer months), tennis court & lakeside pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Mercure Basildene Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor Hotel Margaret River
Basildene Manor Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing