We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Constant Improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Constant Improvement”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We have been travelling to the hotel over many years the charm is still there and each time we visit we see an positive change and some friendly faces. The gardens have changed but still have the same character that adds to the visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil_Annette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi Neil_Annette,

Thank you for providing your feedback. It's great to hear you have enjoyed yourself on so many occasions at Basildene Manor. It really is a picturesque property, and we pride ourselves on the continuous improvements we have made, not only to maintain the property and it's gardens, but to continually enhance them.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    87
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
57
512
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

The quality of service and lodgings at the Manor are exceptional.

The refurbishment of the house has been in keeping with the original style and makes for an excellent setting.

Many thanks to the staff for a wonderful stay in a unique and beautiful environment.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi Sarah R,

Thank you so much for providing this fantastic feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Basildene Manor. It's nice to hear your appreciation for the high standard in quality, style and originality that Basildene Manor has to offer. It is certainly one of our most unique properties, and with such beautiful surroundings and brilliant staff, it is fast becoming one of our most popular.

Thank you again, and we look forward to providing you more outstanding accommodation for your next holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed a week on this wonderful property.There was a very warm welcome and orientation to the property including the grounds before we got to our rooms.The rooms were very spacious and well equipped including crockery and cutlery for two.Thoughtfully included was a tea towel and a little bottle of washing up detergent! Wifi was free as was the pod coffee.Warm reading rooms with a cosy fire and comfortable chairs completed the picture.The grounds were magnificent and you were welcome to explore.On departure we were given a farewell gift of muffins and jam for our journey! Very centrally located to explore the region

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westoz_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear westoz_9,
We are glad that you enjoyed your week's stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor and thank you for taking the time to post your review. It's fantastic that you appreciated the warm welcome & orientation, together with the magnificent grounds & departure gift. We hope you can return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Arrived to a Grand old 'farm house' set on 14 acres of land, with every inch well manicured. We walked into a lovely warm reception room and were met and taken care of by very professional and friendly staff. The room was large and immaculate, big King bed, large free standing bath and lovely dacor. Comfortable sitting rooms are available to have a glass of wine or to read a book in front of a fireplace, all with wifi if that is what you wish to use. We had devonshire tea which was lovely, and traditional, in the sun room which doubles as the breakfast room, looking out over the grounds. Pool in the summer months, we were there in winter; and a tennis court with rackets and balls available. In the end, we spent three lovely nights, surrounded in the best Margaret River has to offer, relaxed and homely, we will do this again. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Western side rooms have greater visibility of the grounds, pond with ducks, flowers etc, but all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Mick O,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the property and appreciated the room & manicured grounds. We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Wonderful place, friendly people and knowledgeable, really new their history of the building.
Only stayed 2 nights, so going back to stay longer.
Gardens are just amazing, so cared for. A real treat.
Defiantly going back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyWhales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear HappyWhales,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, together with the history of the building. We would love to welcome you back for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Have tried to book in here a few times but not been successful. When I knew my sister and brother in law would be visiting from the U.K. I contacted Grand Mercure reservations and managed to secure 2 rooms. Fab welcome and short history of the house. Shown both our rooms and little things like how to work the air con explained. Breakfast to die for. Beautiful gardens immaculately maintained. Packs of scones for the journey presented on departure - saved till we got home after our filling breakfast.

Room Tip: Larger rooms in newer part of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillianharrison29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear gillianharrison29,
We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor and thank you for taking the time to post your review. We would love to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed 3 nights at Basildene and had 2 nights in a King size suite and 1 night in the Queens size manor room. Highly recommend the suite, roomy, private, quiet, light and airy. Wouldn't recommend the smaller Manor rooms, although lovely, as ours opened straight onto the walk through passageway, lacking privacy, views and space. The property has gorgeous gardens, 2 small fire lit reading rooms and a lovely breakfast room looking over the gardens. Lovely touch of scones and jam for the road on check out. Really appreciated it. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scallywags55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Scallywaggs55,
We are pleased that you enjoyed the suite accommodation, together with the gardens and breakfasts at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We thank you for taking the time to post your review & hope you can return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaret River
1.6 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
1.0 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
244 reviews
22.3 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
643 reviews
4.2 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
524 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Property: Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Address: 187 Wallcliffe Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
#1 Luxury Hotel in Margaret River
#3 Family Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Basildene Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret River's Finest - Welcoming today's discerning traveller with the promise of luxurious solitude & ensuring a relaxing, memorable stay. Basildene Manor, is an historic elegant country manor, set on 14 picturesque acres amidst the rich tapestry of renowned Margaret Rivers vineyards. Nineteen recently refurbished and beautifully appointed rooms are available. Our renowned Basildene Breakfast includes a full cooked a la carte breakfast and fruit buffet, all from the Manor restaurant. Nestled in the valley you will discover our heated outdoor swimming pool and secluded sun deck (avail in summer months), tennis court & lakeside pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Basildene Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor Hotel Margaret River
Basildene Manor Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing