We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceed my expectations!”
Review of Grange on Farrelly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grange on Farrelly
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Bunbury, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceed my expectations!”
Reviewed 27 March 2011

After reading some of the reviews, my husband and I had low expectations. Please ignore the bad reviews. The accommodation has a gorgeous charm about it and the history of it is what makes it such a nice place to stay. The staff are very helpful and the girl in the kitchen/ breakfast room works sooo hard! We have travelled a lot and really enjoyed this place. Give it a try.. you'll be surprised.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mg121209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
MG121209. Thank you for taking the trouble to come on TripAdvisor to share your 'Grange experience'. It is always nice to get positive feedback and we'll pass along your comments about the staff.
You have hit the nail on the head - an important part of the attraction of the Grange is it's history and general ambience.
We do our best to provide a happy experience for everyone and thank you for your comments, which are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    109
    56
    13
    7
See reviews for
40
131
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We stayed here for two nights between Christmas and New Year, and we were quite disappointed. Paid more than $200 a night for a room which was very tired. No mini bar (they mustn't trust guests) and the 'breakfast' leaves a lot to be desired, definitely not a highlight. The proximity to town is quite good, but that's it. We asked about the BBQ, but you have to pay to hire cooking equipment, and the swimming pool was locked to keep the local kids out. We couldn't help but think they were being ripped off here, but the town itself is expensive as well.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingRenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, 20 February 2011
Hello TravelingRenae, thank you for your comments, which we'd like to respond to.
Regarding the room rate, you chose Margaret River's PEAK PERIOD to travel and those peak rates are only seen on a few days a year, always between Christmas and New Year and from time to time on long-weekends and Special Events; as always we are careful to place ourselves competitively in the local market, so that even if the rate may have seemed expensive it would have been reasonable value when compared with the local market.
Mini-bar items are available from reception and can be kept in the small fridge located in each room, we have found that this works well for the majority of guests.
We generally charge between $5 and $10 to use the BBQ, which is a nominal sum to recoup some of the costs of cleaning, gas, utensils, supply and then cleaning of glasses,crockery and cutlery, supply of oil and serviettes and salt and pepper and goodness knows what else!
As for the locked swimming pool, if we don't (lock it) then local school children take it over on hot days and our guests cannot get in, sorry about that but, of course, the pool is always ready to use and whoever is in reception will unlock it immediately on request.
Your comments are appreciated and can only help us to improve the services that we offer.
We hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Comfort Inn Grange on Farrelly is ideally located. It's a short work to the town of Margaret River. Wineries, beaches and beautiful scenery are also close by, with amazing tree lined roads that meander down to the ocean. The accommodation is clean and comfortable with excellent daily room service and parking outside your door for your vehicle. There is also a restaurant and a swimming pool for you and your family to enjoy. We will definitely be visiting again!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthFreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, 20 February 2011
Hello PerthFreedom, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and have been prepared to come onto Tripadvisor to share your experience with others.
We have shown your review to staff and they always perk up a little when they see that their hard work is appreciated!
Thank you for taking the time to write the review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
All the best,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Stayed here having driven here on a touring holiday of WA in April 2010. Booked in by the visitors centre. Not too expensive. We had a room described as a "Spa room" so thought it might be a bit special. Disappointed though with a bath with jets that wasn't even clean when we arrived, neither was the room particularly clean. Complained and it was sorted out though. Room was spacious but needs updating badly, although we slept well enough on the bed. Location was great, quiet but close to the centre of Margaret River which is a great place to explore. Food in the town is a bit limited, we ate at the Margaret River Hotel twice where the food was nice and not too expensive (comparatively). Lovely countryside walks around the area which is why we came here,very beautiful. However the town turns into "Drunksville" on Saturday night. Not so appealing. I would recommend it to a friend but mainly because of location and price. I certainly wouldn't recommend it to my in-laws! Or would I???

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyGoHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, 14 December 2010
Thank you for your comments, JGH, we have two types of Spa Rooms and usually only sell the one you were in when the others are full - we try to offer value for money, which is hard to come by these days. Glad you had an enjoyable time, overall.
Rgds,
Richard, Li and staff.
P.S. Your in-laws are welcome, anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

I read the previous reviews and with trepidation booked this hotel because of budget. I have travelled around the world several times and feel I can confidently rate this motel. While it is definitely in need of an upgrade the rooms are large clean and very close to the main drag. I would not hesitate in recommending this motel to anyone that wants to stay for long or short periods. Value for Money. Some noise but not bad I have had much worse in 5 star hotels. The staff were wonderful. The bush around the units terrific.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziggyperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, 14 December 2010
Thank you for your kind review, ziggyperth, we were pleased to read that your bravery, in the face of trepidation, was rewarded.
As always, our number one concern is our guests' satisfaction and the maintenance of our 'value for money' reputation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2010

I stayed one night, shower mouldy, dust build up on all wood paneling on furniture, including around tea making area. TV remote didnt work, tv reception poor, tv small and up too high. lumpy mattress needs replacing. room large. one face washer and one hand towel for 2 guests. glasess still dirty. dining room very over priced. waiter wore baseball cap! no room service available, no mini bar. only 2 hard thin pillows. no feedback form in the room.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msmarls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, 14 December 2010
Thank you for your comments, msmarls, very sorry that you caught us on an off day.
We have been taking the issue of cleanliness very seriously because, obviously, that is a matter of importance, we are confident that things are on the up and up in that area.
Also, just to let you know, we recently 'bit the bullet' and installed all new flat screen TVs AND Foxtel, so, all in all, the Grange Experience is improving all the time, try us again sometime!
I would be the waiter (stand-in waiter), to whom you refer. Sorry, but it is my habit to wear my Grange on Farrelly peaked cap at all times - nothing to do with baseball I can assure you. Pricewise, our restaurant, we believe, still offers value for money relative to other Margaret River venues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2010

We visited Margaret River on the weekend of the Leeuwin Concert so most accommodation was booked out. Fortunately, the very helpful (and recommended) tourist office helped us to locate a room at The Grange for 2 nights after our initial night in the Margaret River Resort.

Although we preferred the Margaret River Resort, The Grange still offered large and comfortable rooms. In particular the four poster bed was even more comfortable to the one we slept in at the Margaret River Resort. Also, the reception staff were very friendly and helpful, and the room was clean and well provisioned. The only downside was that the room was a bit on the old fashioned side but that really wasn’t a problem.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amani10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, 14 December 2010
Thank you for your comments, amani10, positive feedback is always welcome!
True, the good old Grange is a bit old fashioned, we don't resile from that, it is, in fact, one of our 'points of difference'.
Anyway, we were pleased to read your thoughts and thank you for sharing them with the greater public.
Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
0.8 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
1.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
702 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
533 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
660 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adamson's Riverside Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange on Farrelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange on Farrelly

Property: Grange on Farrelly
Address: 18 Farrelly St, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grange on Farrelly 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
29 Room Motel, four minutes walk from the town centre. Close to everything, good value.Time is of the essence? Ask our friendly staff to narrow down the numerous choices of activities available to suit you, we are here to help you to have the best experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grange on Farrelly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Grange On Farrelly Hotel Margaret River
Comfort Inn Margaret River
Margaret River Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing