We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we love it and will always go back”
Review of Grange on Farrelly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grange on Farrelly
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We have been visiting the Grange for 10 years now and have always found the staff very friendly and very accommodating.
The location is excellant, a nice walking distance to the town,
and very close to all the wineries and pottery galleries.
we have always found our room to be spacious and very clean.
We will always stay there.
Frequent visitor

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank officewitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 August 2011

Dear officewitch,
Thank you for coming on TripAdvisor to give us such a good review, moments like those bring a little sunshine into our lives.
The Grange is an institution and we have quite a few clients who have been coming since even before we owned it (8+ years).
I am away from the Grange at the moment but I will be speaking to staff later today and will relay on your kind comments.
Regards,
Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

I stayed at the Comfort Inn Grange on Farrelly for 1 night with my wife to do a wine tour in the area. The owner, Richard was very helpful with the room selection and I decided a standard double would suit our purposes. We found the room to be much bigger and more well appointed than expected (for this price range). It was very clean and had great character and the quadrangle layout of the motel meant all the rooms were evenly spaced out. There were nice gardens opposite and behind each room and we found the location to be quite serene, well away from the street or any commercial buildings. The location was only 2 blocks from the main road and even though we drove the car because of wet weather it would otherwise be a pleasant 5 minute walk into town. I would not hesitate to stay here again on a future trip.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peejravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 July 2011

Hello peejravi, thank you posting your comments about your 'Grange Experience' on TripAdvisor, and, of course, thank you for the positive feedback. It is always appreciated when clients take a little time out of their day to come on here and share their experience.
We have been busy this winter replacing carpets and generally getting onto maintenance items, so the experience is getting better by the day! At the time of writing we are re-cabling the entire property in preparation for the soon-to-arrive digital TV, meanwhile picture quality in general will improve dramatically and this work should be completed in the next couple of weeks or so.
Again, many thanks for your comments, peejravi, and we hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We booked a 3-nights stay at this place in Apr 2011given its convenient location in the centre of Margaret River village (room for 3 adults).
Some of the hotel rooms are located next to the restaurant/reception building which houses a large refrigeration units. We had one of those rooms (# 4). Because of proximity to the restaurant building, there was a constant loud noise and vibration in the room. The hotel owner/manager refused to acknowledge the problem associated with the unbearable noise; however to her credit provided us with the alternative room for the night (we checked out the next day despite booking in advance for 3 nights). We have heard the noise of the running motor / engine when we checked in at around 5 pm, however under no circumstances we were expecting the noise and vibration would continue well into the night (I made a call to the manager at 11pm and we were not moved to another room until well after 12am). This meant that the next day trip (full day drive) was ruined, my elderly mother was extremely upset and suffered terrible migraine because of the noise (imagine an engine vibrating next to your ear nonstop). We stayed in other Comfort Inns and were always happy with the quality of the accommodation. This motel is a TERRIBLE exception and we would strongly recommend the Choice Hotels (who franchises the Comfort Inn brand) to check out the place on a subject of guest’s occupational health and compliance with the Choice standards. On top of that, the rooms have very old carpets, which smell horrible and the smell stays in the room despite open windows. You get the picture.

Room Tip: do not stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LanaRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 April 2011

Dear SolvoPhasmatis, thanks for your comments.
Yes, we remember your party well!
I think it is worth pointing out that your call at 11pm was answered and responded to and you were moved to another room. We accepted that after an unhappy start you might not want to continue with your stay, but I don't think you mentioned that we didn't charge you for the two rooms that you, in fact, occupied that night.
Generally, on the subject of the 'noisy' room, we should also add that in eight years of operating this property we have had only three other noise issues in that room, two were due to a faulty air-con unit located on the roof, which we had rectified as soon as we realised what the problem was, and the third was a traveller who worried that there MIGHT be noise from the compressor and asked to be moved to another room, which we arranged.
We accept that you were probably feeling tired from the late night moves and we apologise for that, but 'worst ever' is an overboard comment, we get many compliments made to us at the other end of the scale.
Nonetheless, thanks for taking the time to write in and we will keep an eye (ear) on noise levels in the future.
Oh, yes, we enjoyed reading your other reviews.
Rgds,
Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

I arrived in Margaret River and went to the Information Office to enquire about rooms. Their suggestion was the Comfort Inn which they said was old-fashioned and dowdy. We agreed to view it as it appeared to fit our needs. The motel was a ten minute walk from the centre of town. There was a swimming pool, and a laundry. The rooms were huge - it felt like a suite - and were tastefully decorated. It didn't feel inadequate in any way. All the rooms have verandahs; some better than others. Ours was great - absolutely lovely to sit at breakfast watching the abundant bird life. I never tried their restaurant as it was pricey. Overall a great 4 night stay. My only regret was by booking through the Information Office I paid a $10 surcharge per night

Room Tip: Close to the Saturday Farmers' market
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 April 2011

Hello NLR.
Many thanks for your generous comments and for taking the time to put your positive points of view on TripAdvisor.
The good old Grange is not in the first flush of youth, but it is still a good place to stay, in a great location, and has a bit of character and history attached to it, as you've picked up.
Again many thanks for your comment, and, finally, you should have trtied our restaurant just once - we were nominated for an award recently - oh well, next time!
All the best.
Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

After reading reviews, I was a little nervous, particularly as my colleague and I skipped a night in the previous hotel because due to the standards there.

The location was great, the rooms were quiet, spacious, clean and tidy. We were not disappointed, but we were not expecting a 5 star resort.

Really, our experience was fine.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joobadooba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 March 2011

joobadoo. Thank you for that. We always appreciate it when a client goes the extra yard to post a comment on TripAdvisor, we know it takes takes up a little time in a busy person's day.
Yes, we don't pretend to be 5 star but, in our class, we try to offer value and, as you say, 'quiet, spacious, clean and tidy'. Great location - four minutes walk to the main street.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

After reading some of the reviews, my husband and I had low expectations. Please ignore the bad reviews. The accommodation has a gorgeous charm about it and the history of it is what makes it such a nice place to stay. The staff are very helpful and the girl in the kitchen/ breakfast room works sooo hard! We have travelled a lot and really enjoyed this place. Give it a try.. you'll be surprised.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mg121209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 March 2011

MG121209. Thank you for taking the trouble to come on TripAdvisor to share your 'Grange experience'. It is always nice to get positive feedback and we'll pass along your comments about the staff.
You have hit the nail on the head - an important part of the attraction of the Grange is it's history and general ambience.
We do our best to provide a happy experience for everyone and thank you for your comments, which are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We stayed here for two nights between Christmas and New Year, and we were quite disappointed. Paid more than $200 a night for a room which was very tired. No mini bar (they mustn't trust guests) and the 'breakfast' leaves a lot to be desired, definitely not a highlight. The proximity to town is quite good, but that's it. We asked about the BBQ, but you have to pay to hire cooking equipment, and the swimming pool was locked to keep the local kids out. We couldn't help but think they were being ripped off here, but the town itself is expensive as well.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingRenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 February 2011

Hello TravelingRenae, thank you for your comments, which we'd like to respond to.
Regarding the room rate, you chose Margaret River's PEAK PERIOD to travel and those peak rates are only seen on a few days a year, always between Christmas and New Year and from time to time on long-weekends and Special Events; as always we are careful to place ourselves competitively in the local market, so that even if the rate may have seemed expensive it would have been reasonable value when compared with the local market.
Mini-bar items are available from reception and can be kept in the small fridge located in each room, we have found that this works well for the majority of guests.
We generally charge between $5 and $10 to use the BBQ, which is a nominal sum to recoup some of the costs of cleaning, gas, utensils, supply and then cleaning of glasses,crockery and cutlery, supply of oil and serviettes and salt and pepper and goodness knows what else!
As for the locked swimming pool, if we don't (lock it) then local school children take it over on hot days and our guests cannot get in, sorry about that but, of course, the pool is always ready to use and whoever is in reception will unlock it immediately on request.
Your comments are appreciated and can only help us to improve the services that we offer.
We hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
0.3 mi away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
1 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Stay Margaret River
Stay Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
1,031 reviews
5.1 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange on Farrelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange on Farrelly

Address: 18 Farrelly St, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Price Range: £63 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grange on Farrelly 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
29 Room Motel, four minutes walk from the town centre. Close to everything, good value.Time is of the essence? Ask our friendly staff to narrow down the numerous choices of activities available to suit you, we are here to help you to have the best experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grange on Farrelly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Grange On Farrelly Hotel Margaret River
Comfort Inn Margaret River
Margaret River Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing