We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to stay!”
Review of Grange on Farrelly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grange on Farrelly
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Grange for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. We had travelled all the way from Victoria, arriving quite late on a Thursday night. We had no problems with checking in late and the staff were very helpful. Each day we had a continental breakfast which was more than enough food! We stayed in a gorgeous room with a big lounge room, the bedroom was also very big and the bathroom was fantastic. Hot water and a spa meant that we were well catered for. Also, we used the laundry twice which was easy and very efficient. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous, particularly sitting in the sun room for breakfast each morning. We stayed in lots of places for our trip, this was by far one of the nicest. Great staff, relaxed atmosphere, great proximity to the shops and overall a great place to stay. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, 16 October 2011
Dear Jenny H,
Thank you for that review, which hit the spot for us, of course!
Firstly, let me say that we were very pleased that our small part in your honeymoon was successful for you and, secondly, just reiterate what we've said before, namely, that we have concentrated this year, particularly, on improving the things that people have commented that they wanted improved - those are the sorts of things that don't get a mention unless they are in some way deficient, we are pleased that those things haven't had much of a mention recently, so the Good Old Grange IS getting better.
Again, thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again one day.
Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    109
    56
    13
    7
See reviews for
40
132
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Finding a place to stay in the Margaret River area isn’t easy. I highly recommend that you book a place before you go and not rely on finding a place when you get there.

I was looking for a place that was reasonably priced for 3 adults and went to Trip Advisor to see what was recommended. After finding most reasonably priced places ($110 / night for 2 persons) had been booked I came across the Comfort Inn Grange on Farrelly. After reading the mixed reviews I wasn’t too sure how it would be.

So my comments are: In the small entrance was located the luggage rack, bar fridge and the place for tea and coffee making facilities. Plenty of room for all of this to fit in. we had rather a large room, I thought, with a 4 poster double bed and single bed. Also in the room was a wardrobe with iron and ironing board, writing table, coffee table, window seat, two seater lounger and television on the wall. One might think that with 3 adults you would be on top of each other but there was plenty of room.

At the end of the day my most important requirement is a nice hot shower: definitely no complaints there. No one complained about the beds and we all enjoyed a good nights sleep. Extra blankets and pillows were located in the wardrobe. The only complaint I could possibly make was that there were only two towels, but a call through to reception fixed that in no time.

An added bonus for me was having the Catholic Church right next door, so I could easily get to Mass on Saturday night. It is a 5 minute walk to the main street. We never used the restaurant for breakfast or tea, so cannot comment on that. So very happy with our stay and would recommend it to others as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAC4880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear JAC4880.
Thank you for coming on TripAdvisor to make your comments, and, of course, thank you for the positive feed back, both of which are appreciated.
You and other readers might be interested to know that when the Grange was built it was THE PLACE to stay in Margaret River. Of course, many newer establishments have sprung up since then BUT the good old Grange has stood the test of time, offering comfortable, spacious, well located accommodation, at a reasoable price.
Again, thank you for writing-in and we hope to see you again one day.
Rgds,
Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnybrook
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We arrived early but this was not a problem and the staff allowed us into the room immediately but where warned that due to it just being cleaned the floors may be slippery,we found the room to be quite spacious,well appointed and very clean.The staff where more than helpful and the food in the restaurant where superb and because it was my Wife's Birthday we where treated to desserts "on the house" which was a nice and unexpected touch.Next time we visit Margaret River we will definitely stay at the Comfort Inn Grange and recomend it to all our overseas and interstate visitors.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asimsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Hello, asimsy!
Thank you for your kind comments and for finding the time to come on TripAdvisor to share your views with a wider audience, which is always appreciated by us.
We have spent considerable time and money making improvements over the winter months and it is nice to get positive feedback.
Again thank you for your positive assessment of our property and service.
All the best, and we hope to see you again one day.
Regards,
Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We have been visiting the Grange for 10 years now and have always found the staff very friendly and very accommodating.
The location is excellant, a nice walking distance to the town,
and very close to all the wineries and pottery galleries.
we have always found our room to be spacious and very clean.
We will always stay there.
Frequent visitor

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank officewitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear officewitch,
Thank you for coming on TripAdvisor to give us such a good review, moments like those bring a little sunshine into our lives.
The Grange is an institution and we have quite a few clients who have been coming since even before we owned it (8+ years).
I am away from the Grange at the moment but I will be speaking to staff later today and will relay on your kind comments.
Regards,
Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I stayed at the Comfort Inn Grange on Farrelly for 1 night with my wife to do a wine tour in the area. The owner, Richard was very helpful with the room selection and I decided a standard double would suit our purposes. We found the room to be much bigger and more well appointed than expected (for this price range). It was very clean and had great character and the quadrangle layout of the motel meant all the rooms were evenly spaced out. There were nice gardens opposite and behind each room and we found the location to be quite serene, well away from the street or any commercial buildings. The location was only 2 blocks from the main road and even though we drove the car because of wet weather it would otherwise be a pleasant 5 minute walk into town. I would not hesitate to stay here again on a future trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peejravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Hello peejravi, thank you posting your comments about your 'Grange Experience' on TripAdvisor, and, of course, thank you for the positive feedback. It is always appreciated when clients take a little time out of their day to come on here and share their experience.
We have been busy this winter replacing carpets and generally getting onto maintenance items, so the experience is getting better by the day! At the time of writing we are re-cabling the entire property in preparation for the soon-to-arrive digital TV, meanwhile picture quality in general will improve dramatically and this work should be completed in the next couple of weeks or so.
Again, many thanks for your comments, peejravi, and we hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We booked a 3-nights stay at this place in Apr 2011given its convenient location in the centre of Margaret River village (room for 3 adults).
Some of the hotel rooms are located next to the restaurant/reception building which houses a large refrigeration units. We had one of those rooms (# 4). Because of proximity to the restaurant building, there was a constant loud noise and vibration in the room. The hotel owner/manager refused to acknowledge the problem associated with the unbearable noise; however to her credit provided us with the alternative room for the night (we checked out the next day despite booking in advance for 3 nights). We have heard the noise of the running motor / engine when we checked in at around 5 pm, however under no circumstances we were expecting the noise and vibration would continue well into the night (I made a call to the manager at 11pm and we were not moved to another room until well after 12am). This meant that the next day trip (full day drive) was ruined, my elderly mother was extremely upset and suffered terrible migraine because of the noise (imagine an engine vibrating next to your ear nonstop). We stayed in other Comfort Inns and were always happy with the quality of the accommodation. This motel is a TERRIBLE exception and we would strongly recommend the Choice Hotels (who franchises the Comfort Inn brand) to check out the place on a subject of guest’s occupational health and compliance with the Choice standards. On top of that, the rooms have very old carpets, which smell horrible and the smell stays in the room despite open windows. You get the picture.

Room Tip: do not stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanaRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, 29 April 2011
Dear SolvoPhasmatis, thanks for your comments.
Yes, we remember your party well!
I think it is worth pointing out that your call at 11pm was answered and responded to and you were moved to another room. We accepted that after an unhappy start you might not want to continue with your stay, but I don't think you mentioned that we didn't charge you for the two rooms that you, in fact, occupied that night.
Generally, on the subject of the 'noisy' room, we should also add that in eight years of operating this property we have had only three other noise issues in that room, two were due to a faulty air-con unit located on the roof, which we had rectified as soon as we realised what the problem was, and the third was a traveller who worried that there MIGHT be noise from the compressor and asked to be moved to another room, which we arranged.
We accept that you were probably feeling tired from the late night moves and we apologise for that, but 'worst ever' is an overboard comment, we get many compliments made to us at the other end of the scale.
Nonetheless, thanks for taking the time to write in and we will keep an eye (ear) on noise levels in the future.
Oh, yes, we enjoyed reading your other reviews.
Rgds,
Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
269 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

I arrived in Margaret River and went to the Information Office to enquire about rooms. Their suggestion was the Comfort Inn which they said was old-fashioned and dowdy. We agreed to view it as it appeared to fit our needs. The motel was a ten minute walk from the centre of town. There was a swimming pool, and a laundry. The rooms were huge - it felt like a suite - and were tastefully decorated. It didn't feel inadequate in any way. All the rooms have verandahs; some better than others. Ours was great - absolutely lovely to sit at breakfast watching the abundant bird life. I never tried their restaurant as it was pricey. Overall a great 4 night stay. My only regret was by booking through the Information Office I paid a $10 surcharge per night

Room Tip: Close to the Saturday Farmers' market
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, 9 April 2011
Hello NLR.
Many thanks for your generous comments and for taking the time to put your positive points of view on TripAdvisor.
The good old Grange is not in the first flush of youth, but it is still a good place to stay, in a great location, and has a bit of character and history attached to it, as you've picked up.
Again many thanks for your comment, and, finally, you should have trtied our restaurant just once - we were nominated for an award recently - oh well, next time!
All the best.
Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
0.8 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
1.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
702 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
663 reviews
5.1 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adamson's Riverside Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange on Farrelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange on Farrelly

Property: Grange on Farrelly
Address: 18 Farrelly St, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grange on Farrelly 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
29 Room Motel, four minutes walk from the town centre. Close to everything, good value.Time is of the essence? Ask our friendly staff to narrow down the numerous choices of activities available to suit you, we are here to help you to have the best experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grange on Farrelly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Grange On Farrelly Hotel Margaret River
Comfort Inn Margaret River
Margaret River Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing