We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grange on Farrelly Margaret- A Jewel in the Crown”
Review of Grange on Farrelly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grange on Farrelly
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grange on Farrelly Margaret- A Jewel in the Crown”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Our three day stay in Margaret River Western Australia, was highlighted by the accommodation at the 'Grange on Farrelly.' The decor of our room surpassed anything we have experienced any where in our travels including international travel and the resturant food was simply excellent. The management should be highly congratulated on the friendly service provided and for making our stay so enjoyable. We highly recommend this accommodation to anyone travelling in the Margaret River region Western Australia.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Hello Pamela M. That's a REVIEW!
Thank you very much for coming onto TripAdvisor to make those positive comments, and for your recommendation to other travellers.
When everything comes together for our guests, as it did for you, we are happy and I'll be passing on your kind words to our staff, who always appreciate positive feed-back.
Again, thank you for your contribution and we hope to see you again one day.
All the best,
Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    109
    56
    13
    7
See reviews for
39
129
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Had to stay here as I was very late in booking for our anniversary getaway, but was very pleased we did. It was the only accomodation left in town but we managed to get a room with a spa for a little over $150 per night. The room was clean and comfortable.Within walking distance to the shops and main street. My husband and I were very happy with our stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank my3girls68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
my3girls68, thank you for your review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your anniversary stay at the Grange. It is fair to say that the things you've mentioned that made your stay enjoyable are the things that we aim to provide, that is, clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation, close to everything that Margaret River has to offer.
Thank you again for taking time out to write about your Grange experience on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,474 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 862 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

It tends to have good offers, so pricewise can work out if you want somewhere within strolling distance to the cafes, restaurants, pubs and bars of Margaret River town.

The rooms are clean but the place is a bit dated and lacks charachter. Depends what your priorities are but there are better places in the region.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Hello Waddler,
Thanks for writing in with those comments. We had to laugh, because of all the people who have stayed with us over the last ten years, and the number would be getting on towards 100,000, NO ONE has ever said that the Good ol' Grange lacks character. Characater is one of the main things that keeps people coming back. Oh well!
However, these things are subjective and one man's character is another's lack thereof, agreed what passes for character in Australia wouldn't, in many cases, pass muster in the UK. Let's leave it at that.
You have picked up that we are competitively priced, well located and the rooms are clean, and we won't argue with you on that score. 'Better places in the region' - certainly! Our star rating places us accurately in our bracket, and in our bracket we are up towards the top.
Thank you for commenting and we hope to see you again one day.
Rgds,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnybrook
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Having stayed at the Grange in September 2011 which I have already reviewed,we once again stayed there to celebrate both my Birthday and my wifes which are both in early September.Once again we where not disappointed as the service and the meals where as good if not better and we will continue to stay there when we visit Margaret River.A BIG thank you to Li and Richard you really looked after us.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asimsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Hello again, asimsy.
Thank you for staying with us again and for coming onto TripAdvisor to make those kind comments, which we appreciate all the more knowing that to comment on this forum you have to carry the idea in your head and then act on it at a later date. For many it's all too hard . . . unless there is an axe to grind!
Anyway, we continue to do our best and try to improve the property a little each year.
Li and I wish you and Mrs. Sims a happy and healthy year ahead and look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Margaret River.
Rgds,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

My experience at this hotel was mixed. The spa was great the queen bed was really comfortable and the room was clean. This has sooo much potential b ut it really is getting a little run down. The lounge in the room has fallen apart..it is like sitting on the floor. But it did not make the overnight stay a complete negative experience. The two single beds really were in poor state...we didn't use them but I would not bring my kids here. They were torn and the top mattress was bigger than the base.

A couple of other little problems included two towels falling apart in my hand when i went to use them and secondly we were unfortunate to be there and booked in for a meal when the chef was sick. This was a shame because the restaurant looked really nice and we were looking forward to eating there.

The staff were friendly, breakfast was nice but a little over priced compared to other options in town but nonethe less we did enjoy they breakfast.

This was a difficult review for me because the hotel has soo much potential.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Hello Mark C, thanks for writing in. We're pleased you found the spa enjoyable and that you got a good night's sleep, which is what everyone wants when travelling.
Your other comments were quite timely, in a way, we've just ordered new sets of linen and towels so those will be in place as soon as they are received. The last lot of towels we bought let us down a bit, so this time we have looked elsewhere. Regarding the single beds, I had to look long and hard before noticing the split in the valances on the corners, the valance is too small for the bed, so we've got to source a bigger size and we are onto that. I don't think the mattress is bigger than the base, it just looks like it because of the bedding sticking out.The lounge, yes we know about that, the foldout mechanism was damaged by someone and we have issued instructions to a repairer but he is taking his time coming to collect it - should happen very soon though. That lounge is naturally a low one and is OK to use as is, but we are repairing it anyway so that it can be used as it should be.
You didn't really say why you wouldn't bring your children here, mine have been plenty of times and always enjoyed it, allow them more exposure - a tear in a valance won't faze them, be surprised!
Anyway, let's keep our sense of humour. Hope to see you again one day.
Rgds,
Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

Upon entering the room, I was smacked down with overpowering bleach wafts, yucky! We quickly opened all the windows and doors. After we checked the room out, deciding that it was still dirty, like the whole fridge. Not sure where all that bleach was used. Just as we are about to relax, my girlfriend sat on the bed, only to shoot back up as there was something long and hard under the covers. I pulled back the covers to discover the last person's deodorant... Hmmm. I notified the lady at reception straight away as I felt that I was expected to sleep in 'deodorant mans sheets'. We had a little bit of an disagreement, but she did agree to have sheets changed. But then moved us instead to another room. We really appreciated her helpful nature, but didn't really need to know that it's hard to find good staff, if she knew they weren't good at their job wouldn't you check on their work....? Our friends in the next room were lucky enough to only find stained sheets and towels...
I recommend the Margaret River Hotel, for price and professionalism.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TimothyJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thanks for writing in TimothyJones.
We apologize for this incident, which I heard about on my return from a couple of days away. When I caught up with staff to find out what happened, I discovered that there had been a housekeeping mix-up, the bathroom cleaners had been in, hence the bleach, but not the room cleaners. As it turned out the room had been occupied for a couple of days but the bed was unused the night before, so it was all an unfortunate mix-up.
Again our apologies and we hope to see you again one day, and there will definitely not be anything in the bedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Overall impressions- a mixed experience- some good, some awful. The room was spacious, well laid out and user-friendly. Spotlessly clean- excellent. The sofa was sagging and uncomfortable, the bed mattress needs replacing. Furniture is a little worn/dated but ok.
Our meal in the restaurant was awful- dried out lamb, some basic tired vegetables, a bottle of local wine leading to a very handsome bill of well over $100 for 2. Don't mind paying the money but expect quality, not this roadhouse food.
Staff (owner) friendly and helpful.
Room price was value- off season helped but suspect price will be too high in summer.
I had not wanted to make these comments on a public forum- preferred to fill out a guest comment card at reception but none provided and no feedback sought from reception.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boult6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Hello Boult6.
Very sorry your experience wasn't up to our normal standard. Regarding the restaurant, there must be a story behind that because, having been here as long as we have, your comment just doesn't fit in with what we know, so something must have happened. Unfortunately, as you say, you didn't comment at the time so we can only guess. Nonetheless, be assured that we aim to provide the highest standard in our class and the kitchen takes its responsibilities very seriously.
We are running a continuing improvement programme and most older mattresses are now replaced and generally the comfort of our guests is paramount.
Just a small correction, there are feedback forms on the reception counter.
Thank you for your feedback, we take all comments seriously and use them to improve our service and product.
We hope to see you again one day.
Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
0.3 mi away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.8 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
5.1 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange on Farrelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange on Farrelly

Property: Grange on Farrelly
Address: 18 Farrelly St, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grange on Farrelly 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
29 Room Motel, four minutes walk from the town centre. Close to everything, good value.Time is of the essence? Ask our friendly staff to narrow down the numerous choices of activities available to suit you, we are here to help you to have the best experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange on Farrelly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Grange On Farrelly Hotel Margaret River
Comfort Inn Margaret River
Margaret River Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing