We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Edge of the Forest, my room #5 was exceptionally clean, cosy and very fairly priced. Literally on the edge of the Margaret River forest I woke up to a beautiful morning and enjoyed a hot cup of coffee in my court yard over looking the lush garden area. Then took a 15 minute stroll into the centre of town did some shopping, met some friends for coffee and then a short 15 minute stroll back to my room. Denise and Alan were very friendly and welcoming. I will recommend Edge of the Forest to all my friends that are planning to visit Margaret River.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LatravelsAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. Rooms are fairly priced and the bedroom was nicely decorated and equipped with toaster, kettle, microwave, tv, dvd player, lots of tea and coffee, fresh milk etc, etc... The family that run Edge of the Forest were really helpful and the free dvd loan service is brilliant, exactly what you need in a town that shuts down at 8:30pm! We would totally recommend Edge of the Forest to our friends and family and my partners Grandmother is going to stay here in August!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerbyNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed here for three nights and explored Margaret River and Augusta from here. A convenient base to explore the region, just a minutes drive from Margaret River town centre, minutes from the many wineries and attractions in the region and just within 30 minutes drive from Augusta. We were in the queen triple room, cosily furnished, with one double, one single bed, fridge, microwave, toaster, etc, well equipped for whipping up a simple breakfast and maybe dinner. I noticed that a simple continental breakfast basket can be purchased from the reception at $6 so breakfast is available if you aren't gonna prepare any. There is also a barbecue utilities available upon request in the garden. I was impressed and felt completely at home with the friendly service, the list of recommendations for dinner, and Denise and Alan were always warm and willing to help with any queries. There was TV and DVD player in the room and a good selection of DVDs available at the reception that we could pick up, providing us much needed entertainment on a wintry evening. We had a good nights sleep with ample heating--- there was heating from the air conditioner and heated bed.Very good value for money and home away from home in Margaret River. I will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zpphie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Nancy and myself had the pleasure of staying at Alan and Denises lovely property on the weekend.
Their rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable.We are already looking forward to staying there as soon as we get the next chance.

Many thanks.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raymond s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Small (only 8 rooms) spotlessly clean and run by family team who go over board to make sure you are happy. Very economical and value for money, Unless you want to be right in Margaret River townsite this is well worth a look although walking back in the dark after a night out is a bit daunting. The rooms sleep a couple and 2 others in single beds so ideal for families. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Light sleepers should ask for a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidAPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My family and I had a wonderful weekend staying at Edge of the Forest. Alan and Denise were very helpful, friendly and made us fell completely welcome. We had the family room that was well sized for a family of 4 and we even had our own BBQ on the deck. I recommend this motel for anyone heading to Margaret River. An absolute gem!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We booked this motel with the Augusta information centre, best value motel on our trip so far, owner Denise showed us to the room, which was just lovely with everything you could need for a home away from home, plates, cutlery, microwave, med size fridge, free wifi, air con, ceiling fan, toaster, even had our own BBQ on our deck ( room number 0 ), room was very quiet, would not have known you were on the main street, also walking distance 10 mins ( a bit dark in places if you have a small torch take it with you ) to the centre of town, ( pizza at maggie's was great, thai food was also good ) frees DVD to watch if you want, new owners are working hard to clean up after last owner.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cowmad64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
729 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
260 reviews
0.7 mi away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
709 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stay Margaret River
Stay Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
1,018 reviews
5.9 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage

Address: 25 Bussell Hwy, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Price Range: £81 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EDGE OF THE FOREST MOTEL is more than just your average Motel style accommodation. Family owned and operated, stylish, clean and comfortable. Decked patios with outdoor settings overlook various gardens plus Patios of rooms located at the rear of the Motel overlook the guest barbeque area and have Forest views. Stylish en-suites have toiletries & heatlamps. EDGE OF THE FOREST COTTAGE is located next door to the Motel. Fully self-contained with Lounge, Dining, Kitchen, Bathroom, 2 Queen Rooms & 1 Bunk Room with 2 Bunks. There is a separate Studio with Double Bed & en-suite. Both properties border State Forest and are a short stroll to town centre Restaurants, Cafes', Shops & Galleries. Tranquil walk and cycle trails from the property through the Forest lead to stunning views of the Margaret River. The Cottage outdoor dining area has a barbeque and beautiful Forest views. Both Properties have Free Wi-Fi & Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing