We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edge of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We have just spent a lovely weekend at Edge of The Forest. Extremely friendly hosts, beautiful gardens and all within walking distance from the town. Sit under the stars at night, enjoy the BBQ provided with the sparkling lights throughout the trees twinkling. Very relaxing property with lots to see and do in the area. Will definitely go back.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2013

We love seeing guests relaxing on their decks enjoying the garden at the end of a busy day enjoying the pleasures of Magaret River. BBQ is a big hit. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
There are newer reviews for Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Edge of Forest. There are only 5 rooms and it is a very quiet and peaceful place. You can sit on your own little balcony and watch the parrots fly over.
The owners are very nice and gave us some very good advice in choosing some wineries to visit. We explored the region and loved the national parks, beaches, caves and the stingrays which you can touch in Hamelin Bay.

Room Tip: Room nr. 1 and 2 are on the other side of the house and not at the garden side. if there is place en...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2013

It was lovely to meet you both. We are very happy you got to see the stingrays at Hamelin Bay, not everyone is so lucky, it is quite a treat. Glad you enjoyed your time with us, the beautiful natural attractions and wineries visited.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

If we had known the place was this good we would of stayed longer than the 1 night. We had the family room with our own private balcony with bbq etc its a shame the mrs wouldnt let me cook on it lol. Very clean rooms and only a short stroll to town. We will definetly be coming back to stay again but for a lot longer. Highly recommended to anyone looking for accomodation in Margaret River. Full credit to the owners for such a wonderful place. Maybe one thing I can suggest to the owners are to put some better photo's up on the website because me and the mrs were blown away when we arrived!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2013

So glad to hear you will be coming back we certainly would love to have you all stay with us again. We will be updating our website after May, so new pictures will be done. We are doing a bit of renovating to some of the rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I have just spent 5 nights at the Edge of the Forest and cannot recommend it highly enough - from the friendly welcome by Denise and Alan at check in, to the thoughtful touches of a fresh flower in the bathroom everything was so personal. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a small terrace just outside to enjoy a glass of wine overlooking the enclosed garden - the parakeets would come regularly to eat off the bird feeder. We were given lots of advice about the local area when we asked for it and Alan even cleaned the BBQ after we cooked. A small problem with our smoke alarm was dealt with quickly and efficiently and was a reflection of the care and attention given by the owners.

I would recommend Edge of the Forest to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

It was lovely to have met you both and we are happy that you got to experience a lot of what Margaret River has to offer and also to relax as well. We enjoyed our little chats each day to see what you had been up to, We turned the weather on for you, certainly a lot warmer than home... :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We only stayed for 1 night but are disappointed we hadn't booked for 2 or more. We were welcomed with a friendly face by Denise and Alan and were provided with everything we needed. The accommodation was quiet and a short stroll into town. We found a delicious butcher in town so decided to have a BBQ for dinner as there was everything we needed including sauce. The BBQ area was set amongst a lovely garden area which was very well maintained. A very clean room which included free wi-fi. Thanks for an enjoyable stay and we hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PunkMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

We would love to have you all back again... the bbq is a big hit and a very relaxing way to spend the evening..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed at the Edge of the forrest hotel for a few days over the festive seaon 2012 and found it a very pleasant experience .The rooms were clean , the hosts were accomodating and the hotel is close to all amends . We would personally recommend a stay here and you wont be disapointed.

Mr. Mrs R Cassidy / Perth WA

Room Tip: From what we observed all the rooms were in a good location with air conditioning and large bathroom...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Glad you both enjoyed your stay with us and found your accommodation and our location great.
Hope you have you back again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights - the 30th and 31st December 2012 - and it was superb. Both Denise and Alan are exceptionally nice people and made you feel very welcome. They are also great advocates for the Margaret River area and should be recognised for that. The room was spotlessly clean and the facilities second to none, and we recommend the Edge of the Forrest to anyone wishing to spend a few days in this region. We will definitely be back even if only to reacquaint ourselves with Denise and Alan.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed everything Margaret River has on offer. We are enjoying exploring the area and sharing our experiences with everyone. We look forward to your next visit and hope you don't leave it too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
704 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
675 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
982 reviews
5.9 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage

Address: 25 Bussell Hwy, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Price Range: £80 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EDGE OF THE FOREST MOTEL is more than just your average Motel style accommodation. Family owned and operated, stylish, clean and comfortable. Decked patios with outdoor settings overlook various gardens plus Patios of rooms located at the rear of the Motel overlook the guest barbeque area and have Forest views. Stylish en-suites have toiletries & heatlamps. EDGE OF THE FOREST COTTAGE is located next door to the Motel. Fully self-contained with Lounge, Dining, Kitchen, Bathroom, 2 Queen Rooms & 1 Bunk Room with 2 Bunks. There is a separate Studio with Double Bed & en-suite. Both properties border State Forest and are a short stroll to town centre Restaurants, Cafes', Shops & Galleries. Tranquil walk and cycle trails from the property through the Forest lead to stunning views of the Margaret River. The Cottage outdoor dining area has a barbeque and beautiful Forest views. Both Properties have Free Wi-Fi & Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing