We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful welcome in Margaret River”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edge of the Forest Motel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful welcome in Margaret River”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel really welcome and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Edge of the Forest. The garden is a delight - the only downside for us was not being in one of the rooms overlooking it, but we shall rectify this next time we stay! We did think our room (2) would be a little noisy as it's at the side and not far from the busy main road, but actually during the evening there's very little traffic and it's very quiet at night.

Our room was beautifully decorated and well appointed - though a small sink to wash up in would have improved it, and there was enough room for one. Having fresh milk rather than the ubiquitous plastic pots was a bonus. The bed was very comfy but the bathroom felt a little 'institutional' and the towels were a bit on the small side (a pet hate of mine!). Personally speaking, a few toiletries rather than just soap in the bathroom would be an improvement.

Top marks for having an enormous selection of DVDs to borrow - and for free - why can't more places do this?

Would we go back? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneD75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Thank you for your kind words.We are closing for three weeks in May to complete renovations that include completely new bathrooms that we hope will be a lot nicer than the ones we inherited!Your suggestion of having toiletries is currently under investigation to try to find the right ones.
We have looked at trying to incorporate a sink into the rooms but it may not be practical at this stage due to the nature of the building structure.We also have taken on board your comments about the garden and we hope to improve the garden area outside the room you stayed in.
We're glad you had a great time in Margaret River and hope you can visit us another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    116
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
84
217
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This motel is located a stone throw from the Margaret River village. Our room was quiet, spacious, clean & comfortable. We stayed for 2 nights in March 2013. I would certainly recommend this motel for any discerning traveller.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelbSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Margaret River is such a beautiful region to explore. The walk into town is great for dinner with the walk home perfect for letting your meal go down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I travel to Margaret River each year for business and this is the only place I want to stay in - small number of rooms , quiet and excellent value - rooms are well equipped and very well appointed - only downer is they are renovating when I am planning to be there next ( May 2013) and not taking bookings! All the other reviews do not lie - Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackson61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Bad timing:( Hope you are planning on coming to stay in 2014 :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2013

From the warm welcome to the beautiful gardens we had a fantastic stay. The little porch overlooking the back garden, with bbq facilities (& all the necessary equipment supplied) & sun lounges was an ideal spot to unwind after a hard day's sightseeing & wine tasting.
A short walk into town, via the road or through the bushland at the rear of the property, was most convenient. Denise & Alan offered excellent advice about what to see in the local area & after staying 5 nights we felt like one of the family! Our room was comfortable, spacious & clean.
We would highly recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berzö
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Having you stay for five days nearly qualifies you as family:) Loved seeing you relaxing in the garden and hearing about your daily adventures of our beautiful region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed at Edge of the Forest on Feb 25 & 26. It was a lovely peaceful spot, with a fabulous garden. The facilities were great and it is well situated to the town. This is a fantastic area to explore, made so easy by the excellent touring information available at the Visitor Centre. Edge of the Forest was not the cheapest accommodation available was definitely value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
We love exploring Margaret River ourselves. Glad you enjoyed your stay and the garden. Value for money is what we try to deliver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend and loved it. We had Room 4 overlooking the garden and the first thing we did was sit in the sun on the terrace with a beer! Denise and Alan are really lovely hosts, just like staying with friends. Room decor was fab, they really make the effort to make it far from a characterless hotel room. It was a pleasure being in there.
It's about 10 mins walk into town which is harder on the way back with a full tummy and a hill! We spent the first day on a wine tour with Vintage Tours which I highly recommend, Tony is brilliant. The other day we went down to Hamelin Bay and saw the Rays - amazing.
I would most definitely stay here again if we visit MR again which we really hope to do in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LozMalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
We enjoyed seeing the three of you having such a great time and you had great weather to enjoy beers on the balcony. Not everyone gets to see the rays, they are quite spectacular to watch.
We love the walk back to work off our food and wine. Doing some renos in May so the rooms will be better still..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed at the Edge of the Forest for 3 nights and could easily have stayed longer.

Denise and Alan were exceptional hosts, very friendly and made you feel very welcome.

The rooms were a good size, very clean and quiet. There was a balcony off the room and it was very pleasant to sit here, have breakfast and look over the nice backyard with its BBQ etc. just like home.

The location was excellent, being only a short walk into Margaret River, and there was also a pleasant walk through the bush behind the motel.

We would certainly recommend Edge of the Forest and would stay here if we returned for another visit to Margaret River.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhondda47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Would definately love to have you both stay again if you return to Margaret River. The short walk back from town is great to walk dinner off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
666 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
609 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
896 reviews
5.9 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edge of the Forest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edge of the Forest Motel

Property: Edge of the Forest Motel
Address: 25 Bussell Hwy, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edge of the Forest Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edge Of The Forest is more than just a Motel. Family owned and operated, stylish, clean and comfortable. Set amongst lush gardens rich with native birds, the property borders State Forest and is a short stroll to town centre Restaurants, Cafes', Shops & Galleries. Tranquil walk and cycle trails from the property through the Forest lead to stunning views of the Margaret River. Decked patios with outdoor settings overlook various gardens throughout the property, the patios located overlooking the back garden also have forest views. FREE Wi-Fi, BBQ, Parking, DVDs', Toiletries. Edge Of The Forest Cottage is located next door to the Motel. Self-contained with lounge, dining, 2 Queen Rooms, 1 Bunk Room & Bathroom, outdoor patio with dining setting and barbeque with Forest views. There is also a separate Studio with a Double Bed and ensuite. Free Wi-Fi & Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Edge of the Forest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing