We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I knew from the moment we drove into the complex we had made a great choice.
The grounds are beautiful and everything very well appointed. Denise is both welcoming and very helpful with her wealth of knowledge of the area.
The accommodation was a dream - spacious bedroom/kitchen area with the most delightful smell when we first entered. Both the bedroom and the bathroom would do any home proud.

Denise has put together a very informative brochure with lots of helpful hints on walks etc. If there is something that is not covered in the brochure then she is only too happy to be of help.

There is a little bit of traffic noise from the road and some from the 'plumbing' throughout the units but nothing to worry about.

Situated on the edge of the town of Margaret River within easy walking distance it is the perfect location with many beautiful walks nearby.
I wish we had been able to stay longer and if ever in the Margaret River area again I will certainly be returning to Edge of the Forest.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rivercross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments.
As there is so much to see and do in this beautiful region and everyone has different ideas of what they want to see and do, we have been busy getting out and about ourselves to discover the delights so we can pass on the information to our guests.
We have wonderful housekeepers who are proud to work here and keep the rooms clean.
As we are on the Highway there are certain times of the day when the traffic is busy, which makes this little town the thriving metropolis that it is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

Had 3 nights here while in the Margaret River. Excellent clean, friendly, customer focused,place to stay. It has been recently refurbished with no expense spared. Everything is done to make one feel comfortable and welcome. Great outdoor living area in a beautiful garden. The care and cleanliness of the place is absolutely pristine. The owners are very helpful with information of the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathydavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your great comments.
The refurbishments have given the motel a fresh feel.
It was lovely to see you out enjoying the beautiful trail walks around the motel.
Would love to see both again if you are ever back in Margaret River.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This motel is always a delight to stay in. The Hosts are highly professional and accommodating - their personal touch makes for a great place to stay. The recently renovated rooms are well furnished and roomy - ideal for a stay of longer than a few nights. The rooms are more like luxury chalets and much less like a typical motel. Parking is convenient and the Forest outlook and atmosphere is great. The expansive video collection for free use of guests is amazing. Wireless is Free. There is a microwave and a Fridge so no need to always eat out. The Motel can provide a goods value continental breakfast too. An electric blanket was a true comfort. A great place business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Some rooms have an outdoor seating area - good for summer or if you are a smoker perhaps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thanks Leon for staying with us again and we look forward to your next visit.
The personal touches seem to be appreciated by most guests.
The Forest outlook and atmosphere is very relaxing and the birdlife abundant.
All of our rooms have decked patios with outdoor settings overlooking the gardens:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We did not do a lot of research into accommodation in the Margaret River area and more or less stumbled upon ‘The Edge of the Forest’. Right at the outset I must say we were not disappointed and Denise, our host, was extremely helpful.

Denise sat down with us and together we drew up a plan for our time in the Margaret River area. There is actually so much to see and do we regretted not staying longer than two nights but our two month trip around Australia has many such places.

There is ample car parking and a lovely garden area with a BBQ.

Room – Accommodation is within a purpose built block. The room we had was well appointed, spacious and ideal for a self catering break. As you will see from the photographs it really oozes luxury.

En-Suite – Pure luxury. Clean, modern and the shower was excellent.

Noise – There is some traffic noise from the nearby highway and unfortunately there is a ‘lot’ of water noise from adjoining rooms. This however is to be expected in this type of structure.

Breakfast – You are on your own. The small kitchenette however is well equipped and there is a microwave.

Checking In and Out – Denise is charming and would score 5+ out of 5. As indicated above she is extremely helpful, very knowledgeable and a good communicator. With Denise it is very much a ‘personal’ touch and for the tourist that makes a huge difference.

Location – Not only is the establishment on the ‘edge’ of the forest but it is on the edge of the town. That is NOT a problem however as the location provides one with the best of both worlds and believe me that is a bonus.

Dinner – Denise has the ‘low down’ on dinner out from budget to 5*. Also there is ample detail in the local directory in the room.

Generally – I have no hesitation in recommending the ‘Edge of the Forest’ and if ever that way again I will be staying there.
I have attached some photographs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDinNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments and for staying with us.
We want everyone to get the most out of the time that they are staying in our beautiful region and
helping guests to plan their time whilst here is a pleasure.
We are just starting to have a few warmer sunny days so the use of the BBQ will soon be in full swing. It is great to watch our guests relaxing in the garden.
We will look into the "shower noise" to see if we can rectify.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We booked one night at this place and immediately regretted that we did not book for a longer time. The owner(?)/receptionist, a woman, was so sweet and friendly and made us feel so welcome. She showed us around in our room and gave us tips about the area. Wonderful person!

The room we’d booked was really a family room, so it was quite spacious for two persons. It was very clean and had a fridge, micro, and some kitchen equipment. It also had a small terrace with a barbecue and table. The bathroom was of good size and very clean. Loved the little flower on the sink!

It’s located about 1 km from the town and you can easily walk.
When we checked out there was a man in the reception and he was also very friendly and nice.

I would definitely recommend this place! It’s a true gem!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Egus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

We thank you for your great comments.
One night is such a short time for our beautiful area, which has so many lovely sights to explore, that is the reason we love giving tips to help guest get the most out of their time whilst here.
We love to have a flower in our own bathroom/bedroom and this is just an extension of who we are:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Excellent basic accomadation with lots of little extras to make your stay special. I travelled with my wife for a romantic break and was not dissapointed.

Clean, comfortable rooms with a small shared outdoor area for al fresco dining and BBQ. Tea and coffee making in room and a selection of DVDs to borrow too!

The owner will happly recommend a good place to eat and there are menus of the main restaruants in a folder in your room.

Best of all - the hotel backs onto a forrest walk and 10-15 mins walk in town!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank o-self
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

We are happy to have had you stay and pleased that you enjoyed your time here. Our little patio areas and great for breakfast watching the birds or an evening platter and glass of wine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was great value accommodation with beautifully presented rooms, classy bathrooms and overall fitted out with great home comforts. Furthermore this motel offered individual outdoor settings from the rooms and ours overlooked a beautifully landscaped garden offering outdoor lounges, new barbecue, gazebo etc. The amazing forest trail at the back of the motel and the pleasant short stroll into town meant the place could be enjoyed by foot. The owners were also very friendly and so hospitable.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank grego_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Many thanks for your great comments and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The forest trail leads to beautiful scenery along the river which we encourage our guests to explore. The barbeque is a hit and even in the cooler months. We love watching guests enjoy their Margaret River Wines, cheeses and chocolates in their patios.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
0.8 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
272 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
759 reviews
0.7 mi away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
737 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stay Margaret River
Stay Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
1,034 reviews
5.9 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage

Address: 25 Bussell Hwy, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Price Range: £77 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EDGE OF THE FOREST MOTEL & COTTAGE are more than just your average style accommodation. Family owned and operated, stylish, clean and comfortable. MOTEL ROOMS feature Decked patios with outdoor settings overlooking various gardens plus Patios of rooms located at the rear of the Motel overlook the guest barbeque area and have Forest views. Stylish en-suites have toiletries & heatlamps. EDGE OF THE FOREST COTTAGE is located next door to the Motel. Fully self-contained with Lounge, Dining, Kitchen, Bathroom, 2 Queen Rooms & 1 Bunk Room with 2 Bunks. There is a separate Studio with Double Bed & en-suite. Both properties border State Forest and are a short stroll to town centre Restaurants, Cafes', Shops & Galleries. Tranquil walk and cycle trails from the property through the Forest lead to stunning views of the Margaret River. The Cottage outdoor dining area has a barbeque and beautiful Forest views. Both Properties have Free Wi-Fi & Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing