We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect small motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect small motel”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely small motel (6 rooms) just outside Margaret River. The entrance is off the main highway, but the building is set back with views into a small garden, so no traffic noise. The rooms are nicely furnished and very clean, with all the essentials. And we loved the small table outside our room for breakfast with a view on the garden. The only drawback is that the walk into town - which is very close - is along the highway with a narrow bridge. We drove.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. The weather is now warming up and the outdoor decked patios are being well used for breakfast in the mornings and platters in the evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    119
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
87
219
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at "Edge of the Forest" for 3 nights from 16th-19th October. We were delighted with the friendliness of Denise. She went out of her way to assist us and to help us make the most of our time there. Her recommendations were excellent. The Motel was lovely, set in beautiful gardens and we had our own outdoor patio area which was great. The motel was clean, well appointed and had everything we needed. The barbeque area was great and we enjoyed the visits from the native birds. A memorable and very happy stay.Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRHAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
We enjoyed having you both stay and were only too happy to assist you plan your stay :) Margaret River and surrounds are so beautiful and there is so much to see and do, we like everyone to get the best from their time here. The parrots and wrens are fabulous and we actually had a Kookaburra sitting on one of the balconies in the back garden for the first time last week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We loved Edge of the Forest. It is a small, family-run motel at the north edge of Margaret River. It is a pleasant 10 minute walk into town.
The check in was smooth, and we were given a lot of helpful tips for good things to visit in the local area. The room (1) was small but had everything we could possibly have needed. It was unfortunately close to the road, and we were disturbed at night. The owners have put in laminated glass to try and combat road noise, which was appreciated. The room had a kitchenette including a microwave, a large TV and FREE WIFI. There is a lovely garden and guest BBQ also.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abs140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Many thanks for your review and we are happy that the tips were helpful when planning your outings. The walk into town is pleasant and walking home after dinner is a great way for your meal to go down.... As the weather is warming up, so is the BBQ... Occasionally the road noise bothers light sleepers, however it doesn't bother most guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Well located, just a short walk from Margaret River and right by lovely forest trails, this motel offers much more than just a room for your money; Denise and Alan gave us a very warm welcome and loads of information about where to go, what to do etc. The modern and compact studio style room was well equipped for self catering breakfast and a simple continental breakfast was also available on request for $6. The bed was very comfy (with dual control electric blanket and good reading lights) and the ensuite had a big walk in shower and overhead heating lamps which were a boon given the chilly weather during our 3 day stay. There was also a big selection of DVDs for guests to borrow. Each unit has its own tiny covered outdoor patio area with a small table and 2 chairs; the lovely garden has an attractive corner with a purpose built BBQ area (gas fired, including utensils) for guests’ use and a large outdoor dining table and chairs. We dined out twice and barbecued once. Special thanks to Denise who spotted that we had left a bag behind the door and managed to get in touch soon enough for us to turn around and go back to pick it up and still make it to the airport in time for our flight back to Singapore.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aud2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful comments. It was lovely having you with us for the 3 days and hearing your daily exploits. So happy that we were able to get in touch quickly enough regarding your forgotten luggage:) The days are starting to warm up a bit and we are getting less rain each day too. From now on the little patios will be full of guests enjoying a glass of wine at the end of a busy day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Staid there for a couple of days in September and while the weather could have been better our choice of accommodation in the "Edge of the Forest" was spot on.

The lovely owner were helpful and friendly and our studio was spacious, clean, well appointed and well worth the money.

The location just outside of Margaret River is idyllic and really at the edge of the forest as advertised with a nice little hike just around the corner.

On the other hand the "Edge of the Forest" is just a short 10min walk into town and to a number of fine restaurants, which meant no driving was required to mar the enjoyment of the fine local wines.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would definitely stay there again should we have to good fortune to return to Margaret River.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for your great comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time in Margaret River.
The weather this year has been particularly wet and cold:( However the stunning scenery of green fields and abundant water wouldn't look the same without the rain.
The walks from the Motel around the Margaret River are beautiful and provide wonderful photo opportunities.
We would love to have you stay with us again if returning to our beautiful region.
The beaches are amazing, great body surfing, if you can get here during the Summer months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I knew from the moment we drove into the complex we had made a great choice.
The grounds are beautiful and everything very well appointed. Denise is both welcoming and very helpful with her wealth of knowledge of the area.
The accommodation was a dream - spacious bedroom/kitchen area with the most delightful smell when we first entered. Both the bedroom and the bathroom would do any home proud.

Denise has put together a very informative brochure with lots of helpful hints on walks etc. If there is something that is not covered in the brochure then she is only too happy to be of help.

There is a little bit of traffic noise from the road and some from the 'plumbing' throughout the units but nothing to worry about.

Situated on the edge of the town of Margaret River within easy walking distance it is the perfect location with many beautiful walks nearby.
I wish we had been able to stay longer and if ever in the Margaret River area again I will certainly be returning to Edge of the Forest.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rivercross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments.
As there is so much to see and do in this beautiful region and everyone has different ideas of what they want to see and do, we have been busy getting out and about ourselves to discover the delights so we can pass on the information to our guests.
We have wonderful housekeepers who are proud to work here and keep the rooms clean.
As we are on the Highway there are certain times of the day when the traffic is busy, which makes this little town the thriving metropolis that it is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobart australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Had 3 nights here while in the Margaret River. Excellent clean, friendly, customer focused,place to stay. It has been recently refurbished with no expense spared. Everything is done to make one feel comfortable and welcome. Great outdoor living area in a beautiful garden. The care and cleanliness of the place is absolutely pristine. The owners are very helpful with information of the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathydavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your great comments.
The refurbishments have given the motel a fresh feel.
It was lovely to see you out enjoying the beautiful trail walks around the motel.
Would love to see both again if you are ever back in Margaret River.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.7 mi away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
5.9 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage

Property: Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Address: 25 Bussell Hwy, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EDGE OF THE FOREST MOTEL is more than just your average Motel style accommodation. Family owned and operated, stylish, clean and comfortable. Decked patios with outdoor settings overlook various gardens plus Patios of rooms located at the rear of the Motel overlook the guest barbeque area and have Forest views. Stylish en-suites have toiletries & heatlamps. EDGE OF THE FOREST COTTAGE is located next door to the Motel. Fully self-contained with Lounge, Dining, Kitchen, Bathroom, 2 Queen Rooms & 1 Bunk Room with 2 Bunks. There is a separate Studio with Double Bed & en-suite. Both properties border State Forest and are a short stroll to town centre Restaurants, Cafes', Shops & Galleries. Tranquil walk and cycle trails from the property through the Forest lead to stunning views of the Margaret River. The Cottage outdoor dining area has a barbeque and beautiful Forest views. Both Properties have Free Wi-Fi & Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing