We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

6 bedroom motel on outskirts of Margaret River. Everything was OK but nothing better than that. Air con noisy. Barbie in garden fab. Sound insulation from room above awful.
Good location near beaches and bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenbpfell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

We note your comment regarding noise from room above and apologise for any inconvenience.

Unfortunately not all guests are honest and book for the correct amount of guests for the room, there are those that sneak in 1 or 2 more than on their booking which then makes the room over-crowded and noisy. We try to police this as much as possible but it still goes on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

This is a motel on the very edge of town. The room was fine if a little snug for two plus two suitcases. The walk into town for meals is ok during the day but a little dark at night (take a torch) and the road is a busy one. The bathroom was commendable and the parking easy (just outside the door).
If new to the area as we were, do ask Denise for some pointers but concentrate as she will fill you to overflowing with ideas. All her suggestions that we took up were well worth it. My favorite was the Berry Farm - get the Boysenberry pie and sit outside. You won't be alone for long!

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room if you want to be away from the road noise (which is not that bad).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BathfanOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your comments and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have torches at Reception if required for the walk back from town at night. There are street lights from town to the Motel which are all usually working. The Berry Farm is truly lovely and the Blue Wrens a treat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Like what everyone said, this place is splendid & Denise is truly an excellent host! She gave us many great recommendations on places to dine & visit. The room smelled so good when we stepped in! It was so well kept & maintained! & the garden is so pretty! I hope I can return to stay there again someday!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

We'd love to have you back with us again and are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The weather is starting to warm up and the garden looking great so the barbeque is in full swing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I made the booking based on other reviews and I was not disappointed at all. It is a lovely little place from where you can walk straight into the forest and it is just outside the city center (still at walking distance). The rooms have a good size, although the bathroom is a bit small and all is very well maintained and cleaned with all the amenities you need. You have a little terrace for yourself and a garden with a barbeque for common use and the garden are regularly visited by some colorful birds. Denise is a great host with many tips to make your stay in Margaret River a memorable one. There is a huge DVD collection that you can use free and the internet use (with great speed!) is free as well. I would recommend this place to any of my friends without a doubt and will return here if I would visit this part of the world again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amvg2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

We look forward to having you and any friends stay with us:) The weather is beautiful at the moment and the barbeque is being well used. We have lots of birds still visiting the garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and I stayed 4 nights with Edge of the Forest during our stay in MR. Upon our arrival, Denise, greeted us with a huge smile at the reception. Before we have a chance to ask any questions, she handed us a map, a picture book of MR and asked if we preferred full cream or skimmed milk to be put in the fridge in our room for our coffee. I feel that was a very nice touch and made us feel very welcomed. And very quickly we were led to our room and she offered a lot of ideas on where to visit. We were overwhelmed with her hospitality and those information indeed came in very handy during our 5 days in MR.

The room was roomy and well maintained and even has a DVD player. At first, we thought we won't use it since we have so much activities to cover but gees... so glad that there is a whole range of DVD selections at the reception area for us to borrow. The bed and pillows are very comfortable and we slept very well throughout our stay. Wifi connection was excellent.

There is a bird feeder on the tree, just outside our room. In the mornings, you can stand or sit on your balcony and watch the birds activities. The backyard is very well maintained but if not for the cold evenings, we would definitely love to immense in the greenery at our balcony.

Edge of the Forest is only 3 mins drive away from the town area where you can get very nice local breakfast.

We even went for a hike in one of the afternoon in the forest next to Edge of the Forest as recommended by Denise. Though we got lost for a while, it was definitely a good walk in the forest!

We enjoyed our stay very much at the Edge of the Forest and would definitely recommend to anyone visiting MR.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patriciacheng207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We would love to have you back to stay with us in the warmer weather :-) We were only too happy to help with tips on attractions and things to do to get the most out of your stay. The balconies are in good use at the moment and the birds very cheeky.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The Edge of the Forest Motel is the sort of place that you can comfortably settle into and make a second home. My wife and I spent five nights here and never wanted for anything.

The rooms are spotless and quite roomy, the king bed was great and the decor was contemporary; not at all tired like you see in most motel rooms. The fridge was roomy and held all of our snacks / refreshments and the wi-fi was fast.

Denise and Alan stock reception with all of the tourist info that you need and can make recommendations for restaurants and attractions around Margaret River. There is something of a short walk to town which we intended to take advantage of but a leg injury sustained by my wife at Redgate Beach meant that we enjoyed the quick drive into town for dinner every night.

A motel wasn't my first choice for an extended stay in Margaret River but the Edge of the Forest proved to be a great venue to allow us to relax in comfort!

Room Tip: Go for a king room - the beds are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LockStockandTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Many thanks for your great comments.
Our guests love the beds and comment what a great night sleep they have:)
We tend to find guests staying more than 2 nights have time to settle in and relax, taking advantage of the BBQ, outdoor patios for breakfast and platters in the evenings and strolls into town for dinner. We try to be "More than just a Motel" and are glad that you agree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Myself and my wife stayed here whilst in Margaret River for a few days. The room was large, comfortable and had good facilities. The lady owner is very friendly and exceptionally helpful with excellent advice on local sights etc. The walk into town is only about 10 minutes although there is not a pavement all the way. This was not a problem for us but might be for anyone with disabilities. A selection of DVD's are provided free in reception, which is a nice touch. If in Margaret River, I would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

We love to help with advice on the "Local Sights" trying to ensure our guests get to enjoy and see as much of Margaret River as they can whilst holidaying. The DVD collection is very well used.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
0.8 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
270 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
758 reviews
0.7 mi away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
736 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stay Margaret River
Stay Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
1,034 reviews
5.9 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage

Address: 25 Bussell Hwy, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Price Range: £78 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EDGE OF THE FOREST MOTEL & COTTAGE are more than just your average style accommodation. Family owned and operated, stylish, clean and comfortable. MOTEL ROOMS feature Decked patios with outdoor settings overlooking various gardens plus Patios of rooms located at the rear of the Motel overlook the guest barbeque area and have Forest views. Stylish en-suites have toiletries & heatlamps. EDGE OF THE FOREST COTTAGE is located next door to the Motel. Fully self-contained with Lounge, Dining, Kitchen, Bathroom, 2 Queen Rooms & 1 Bunk Room with 2 Bunks. There is a separate Studio with Double Bed & en-suite. Both properties border State Forest and are a short stroll to town centre Restaurants, Cafes', Shops & Galleries. Tranquil walk and cycle trails from the property through the Forest lead to stunning views of the Margaret River. The Cottage outdoor dining area has a barbeque and beautiful Forest views. Both Properties have Free Wi-Fi & Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing