We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This motel has an excellent location with pretty clean rooms. The welcome from the owners was quite exceptional. The facilities in the room exceeded our expectations. The wifi was constant, washing line etc for towels and hot water hot!! Air conditioning was alternated with ceiling fan. BBQ and garden available.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for your great comments and thank you for staying with us. The location is great being a short walk to the centre of town but on the Edge Of The Forest with the forest walk trails along the river near by. Hope the rest of your holiday was wonderful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
There are newer reviews for Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

We had SUCH a great stay at the Edge of the Forest! It was the best place we stayed during our trip. When we first arrived, Denise greeted us with a map and took so much time explaining all of the "must dos" in Margaret River. We did everything she told us to do, and we loved everything she recommended! Denise and her husband have thought of everything to make their guests feel right at home. I loved how there are dishes and silverware in the room so that you can bring back your goodies from the various wineries and food stores and have a feast! We had our best meals right out on our little porch. It was fun watching the beautiful birds in the trees. The yard is just beautiful and very private. The room was cozy and very comfortable. I highly recommend staying at the Edge of the Forest!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellen_thomas64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

You visited us at such a beautiful time of the year and we are happy that you enjoyed all the "must dos" that we advised. The little patios are full every afternoon with guests doing just what you did enjoying their daily spoils and of course watching the beautiful parrots. Thank you so much for recommending us. Hope you can come back some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Room and facilities were perfect for our couple of days in MR. Exactly what we needed to come back to after a hard day wine and beer tasting. Clean, tidy, bbq facilities, gracious and helpful staff, and only a 10min walk to town. Highly recommended!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kebabpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for recommending us and so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and the wonderful wineries and breweries that Margaret River has on offer. The BBQs are in full swing at the moment as the weather is just wonderful :)

!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

From the minute we checked in my partner and I were greeted with warm hospitality, a detailed map of the region and also tips on where to go. What a lovely place; close to everything, lush surroundings, and relaxing. Thankyou so much Denise! Robyn & Brett

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

We appreciate your fantastic comments so thank you:) The weather is fabulous now and the outdoor decks and bbq are getting good use. The forest walk along the river with the sun coming through the trees making everything look beautiful is just fabulous at the moment.
Hope to have you stay again some other time :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I would highly recommend this lovely Motel. It is in a beautiful spot just on the outskirts of Margaret River within easy walking distance of this interesting and picturesque town. The rooms are very tastefully decorated and are more like you'd expect of a 4/5 star hotel standard. We loved everything about it. The owners were very helpful and couldn't have been more hospitable. A definite must if you aren't sure where to stay! You won't regret booking here.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Silver_lady_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments it is much appreciated, we are very happy that you loved your accommodation. The weather is beautiful at the moment and the scenery looking stunning. Touring around with the sun putting a sparkle on the ocean, through the forest trees and the grape vines are looking amazing......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed here for a couple of days in late November. The room and bathroom were sparkling clean, comfortable with tasteful appointments. The rooms are set up with microwave, etc, to enable self catering breakfast. The owners were particularly helpful with suggestions for touring the area, restaurants and walks. Each unit has its own small covered deck which was ideal for breakfast or a pre barbecue drink. There is also a covered barbecue area, with bbq paraphernalia and condiments all supplied. Free wifi and a plentiful supply of dvds for loan is also offered.

Room Tip: The back rooms are probably the quietest, as they are furthrest from the main road.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roadrider_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Many thanks for your lovely review.
The weather is beautiful at the moment and the bbq and ourdoor deck areas are being well used.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My third stay at this motel. But the first one with the new owners. They have done a great job with the renovations. Very nice clean and large bathrooms. Denise and Alan are very helpful with anything you ask. They have really made a effort to get around the town and know all about the good winerys and restaurants in the town. The BBQ area is very nice if you wish to spend a night in. Good location a short walk to town. Would recommend this motel it really has all the finishing touches to make your stay one to remember.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room overlooking the garden. No 2 can get a bit of road noise. I have stayed overl...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Many thanks for your great review and we look forward to having you back. The King and King Triples rooms overlooking the back garden are indeed very popular.

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
704 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
676 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
982 reviews
5.9 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage

Address: 25 Bussell Hwy, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Price Range: £80 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EDGE OF THE FOREST MOTEL is more than just your average Motel style accommodation. Family owned and operated, stylish, clean and comfortable. Decked patios with outdoor settings overlook various gardens plus Patios of rooms located at the rear of the Motel overlook the guest barbeque area and have Forest views. Stylish en-suites have toiletries & heatlamps. EDGE OF THE FOREST COTTAGE is located next door to the Motel. Fully self-contained with Lounge, Dining, Kitchen, Bathroom, 2 Queen Rooms & 1 Bunk Room with 2 Bunks. There is a separate Studio with Double Bed & en-suite. Both properties border State Forest and are a short stroll to town centre Restaurants, Cafes', Shops & Galleries. Tranquil walk and cycle trails from the property through the Forest lead to stunning views of the Margaret River. The Cottage outdoor dining area has a barbeque and beautiful Forest views. Both Properties have Free Wi-Fi & Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing