We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and hosts.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Just a few minutes walk from the centre of Margaret River. Rooms really well appointed with clean and modern furnishings. Comfortable and peaceful nights sleep and a lovely garden with seating areas to top it off. Good reliable wifi. Great hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kipper003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for your great review and we are so pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. Hope the rest of your travels were great.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

We booked a room for three nights in the rear, overlooking the garden and forest. The manager did a Bait and Switch. He showed us our noisy room which was on the road that went to the rear of the property and it overlooked the car park. It was also 100 yards from the main road which was a hill where trucks were downshifting to slow down to enter Margaret River. He refused to give us a room in the rear even though I had in my hand the confirmation of a rear room. He refused to refund the one night that he had already charged. After reporting him to Booking.com, who made the reservation, he eventually refunded all but AUD20 for service fee. I complained to Booking.com who made the reservation and they refunded me the AUD20.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank skidollsandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Barbara, We are sorry that you refused to stay with us and we DID refund your money on the same day, all but an administration fee of $20. We offered proof of this fact to Booking.com, who accepted that we had voluntarily done the right thing. The $20 fee is part of our booking conditions.
Your booking through Booking.com was for our QUEEN room, which is toward the rear of the property, overlooking a garden which is near the car park. This is the room to which you were shown.
By stating "rear" we mean that this room is located toward the rear of the property and not overlooking the main road, or main back garden, as some of our rooms are.
All our rooms advertised as overlooking the main back garden were fully booked, as was explained to you at the time, so it was impossible for us to up-grade you to one of these rooms which you had not booked.
We are sorry you wrongly envisaged that the QUEEN room was overlooking the main back garden, however this is not stated anywhere on any website and we are unsure how we could have avoided this misunderstanding.
You are quite correct that we are on a busy road - our address is Bussell Highway. Most people would understand that a Highway is by definition a busy road. You are also correct that the room was within 100 yards of the Highway - all our rooms are, a fact which only seems to be a concern to a very small number of guests.
Two recent guests reviews on this site relate to our Queen Room - Kipper003 and Wordage.
In summary once again we regret that you feel let down and we also regret that you did not stay with us so that you may have had the same experience as enjoyed by the vast majority of guests as per our reviews. Alan and Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Charming motel next to a forest but close to Margaret River town center (walking distance).
After busy day seeing the sights - absolutely lovely beaches, vineyards, karriwoods - great to sit on the porch with a glass wine, listening to birds singing... Good large room, very helpful staff

Room Tip: Our room faced the garden and was quite peaceful, eventhough motel is close to the mainroad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marjat414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

We thank you for your comments and tips to other travellers.
The walk home from town after dining in one of the fabulous restaurants is really great for helping the food go down. The colourful parrots are such a beautiful addition to the garden and they love making themselves heard..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Denise and Alan helped make our recent family wedding in Margaret River a most amazing experience and we truly thank them for such welcoming, comfortable and peaceful hospitality. Nothing is too much trouble for this couple, spacious well equipped rooms with huge comfortable bed, cool clean white linens and towels fabulous walk in shower and lazy evenings sat in the garden drinking the local wine...heaven. Thank you.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Agnes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

We were so sad to see you leave and really loved having you here. Hearing your news each day about the wedding plans, tours, dinners was something we looked forward to. As It was really warm when you were here we loved seeing you both relaxing under the big tree enjoying the coolest part of the garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We spent 4 nights there in February 2014, lovely hosts so helpful and lots of local information. Close to the town with forest walks starting nearby. Room very comfortable everything you could wish for. Great bathroom. So nice to sit out on the deck with a glass or two and watch the parakeets feeding at sunset!

Room Tip: Room facing the gardens are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

The parakeets are so pretty and just love coming into the garden for a feed. It can be quite entertaining when they are fighting for a spot on the feeder. We are happy that you loved your room and hope the Margaret River wine was awesome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in a Queen room. Lovely welcome from the owners Denise and Alan who have really done a great job with the refurbishment of the place. Yes, it's a motel, but our room was large and the styling and furniture was up there with a lot of 5 star hotel rooms. The bathroom has also been renewed and designed really well, including a proper shelf in the shower recess - a little thing but greatly appreciated. They've really put a lot of thought into making the accommodation high quality and comfortable. Also appreciated the spot on sightseeing and winery tips. And the real milk on arrival! Definitely recommend Edge of the Forest.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wordage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Many thanks for your fantastic comments and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the "little touches" that we have included. Hope the rest of your holiday was wonderful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

The days at Edge of the Forest have been the most pleasant days on our trip around WA. The room was big enough, the bathroom modern with plenty of space and the free internet connection was the fastest on the whole trip. The town center can be reached by a short walk or a 1 minute car drive.
Thanks to Alan for all the valuable tips on where to go and what to visit. We also enjoyed the barbies in the garden.

All after all - a great place to stay! :)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Arno R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay with us. We love to give everyone tips on where to go and what to see to ensure they get the most out of this beautiful region. The barbeque is in full swing at the moment as the weather is just beautiful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
723 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
699 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
1,009 reviews
5.9 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage

Address: 25 Bussell Hwy, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Price Range: £83 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EDGE OF THE FOREST MOTEL is more than just your average Motel style accommodation. Family owned and operated, stylish, clean and comfortable. Decked patios with outdoor settings overlook various gardens plus Patios of rooms located at the rear of the Motel overlook the guest barbeque area and have Forest views. Stylish en-suites have toiletries & heatlamps. EDGE OF THE FOREST COTTAGE is located next door to the Motel. Fully self-contained with Lounge, Dining, Kitchen, Bathroom, 2 Queen Rooms & 1 Bunk Room with 2 Bunks. There is a separate Studio with Double Bed & en-suite. Both properties border State Forest and are a short stroll to town centre Restaurants, Cafes', Shops & Galleries. Tranquil walk and cycle trails from the property through the Forest lead to stunning views of the Margaret River. The Cottage outdoor dining area has a barbeque and beautiful Forest views. Both Properties have Free Wi-Fi & Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing