We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent service, perfect location”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Spent two nights here in March and it was a perfect base for exploring the region. The owners were really helpful on arrival - explaining all the gadgets in the room and recommending places for vegetarian food in Margaret River and amazing breakfast spots by the beach! The room was very spacious and the bathroom looked recently refurbished. It was the warm welcome, local knowledge and attention to detail that made this such a good place to stay (not to mention the close proximity to the best bakery!)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DunfyChezzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and loved The bakery it is so good and just a 5 minute walk from the Motel. Most of the rooms were renovated in May 2013 and have delighted many of our guests. We like to make sure that our guests get a great experience from our beautiful region so try to be helpful in regard to "where to go, what to do" :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    122
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
91
221
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mornington, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had a three night stay and would highly recommend the Edge of the Forest. The room was beautifully clean and comfortable. The owners pay great attention to detail which shows through. There is a small mature garden at the back of the motel which was a lovely place to barbecue and sit and eat and watch the birds. We used the BBQ one evening. It was spotlessly clean and sauces, implements etc were provided. Dishes and utensils are provided in the room along with a microwave and fridge. The owners were very friendly and informative about the area. We would use this motel again when visiting Margaret River.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your recommendation and comments regarding our rooms being beautifully clean and comfortable, this is something we pride ourselves on. The BBQ and back garden are getting a lot of use as the weather is warm and just keeps staying beautiful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights in March. The standard of room was very high, with furnishings to rival those of a five star hotel. The place was spotlessly clean. Very helpful owners who kindly spent time with us explaining the various nearby places to visit.

The location is good, just a few minutes walk into town. The Motel does not serve breakfast, but there are several eateries in town which do.

Our room (and several if not all the other rooms) had a little seating area outside so you can sit with a glass of wine and watch the parakeets visit the garden. There is also a BBQ and table for 6 in the main garden which is free to use.

We enjoyed our stay and would return.

Hope this is helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Many thanks for taking the time for your review.
We actually do provide a Continental Breakfast which is delivered to the room as we don't have a dining room, but as you point we are just a few minutes walk to town with many eateries serving a wonderful cooked breakfast.
We often have guests travelling together who find the communal table in the garden a great option to get together at the end of the day to bbq or just chill out with a glass of wine or two.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We really enjoyed our short stay in Edge of the Forest. It is one of the best place we had in Australia so far. The room was almost perfect: spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, equipment (shower, fridge, etc) in perfect condition and a high standard of quality. The motel is situated just 5 min walk of the center of Margaret River. We recommand it without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank fouc87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Many thanks for your wonderful review and we found everything to your liking. We get lots of comments regarding the comfortable beds and the cleanliness of our property. Hope the rest of your trip was really enjoyable. thank you. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

A group of us booked out this accommodation for my birthday, which was well organised. The rooms were cosy and comfortable, and a 10 minute walk into town. The alcoves out the front were great for eating breakfast. The proprietors were lovely, hospitable and very accommodating. The room on the highway as a little noisy, but the other rooms were great. A lovely stay, great if you are out seeing the sites of Margaret River, and want a convenient, comfortable place to sleep.

Room Tip: One of the middle rooms not the front one on the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CD08PerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thanks for your great comments. It was great having you and your friends here for your birthday and seeing you all enjoying the Motels' facilities to the fullest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Drove down from Perth to MR and stayed for one night. Arrived at noon and even though check-in is at 2pm, Hayley was really accommodating and very efficiently prepared our room. By 1230, we were shown our room at the rear facing the lovely garden.

The room with a queen and single bed was clean and comfortable. The toilet looked refurbished and very clean.

Denise was really helpful recommending what to do in MR. You don't need to visit MR Visitor Centre at all.

Even though it was beside a highway, I had a good night sleep. Didn't hear noise from the road at all. Pay a little more for the room facing the garden. It's all with it.

My mom loved the coffee provided in the room. Thanks!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank joshdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
The rooms overlooking the back garden are very popular and all have King Beds, 2 have a single as well. The bathrooms were replaced in May 2013 so are indeed still fresh.
There is so much to see and do in this beautiful region that we try to help guests get the most out of their stay. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Stopped for a couple of nights. Great Motel very clean and handy location for town centre and other local attractions. Try the nearby Bakery for breakfast absolutely delicious The local Caves are also a must to visit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Allan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your review. They Bakery is a must visit whilst in Margaret River. Very cute.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
702 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
964 reviews
5.9 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
532 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adamson's Riverside Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage

Property: Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Address: 25 Bussell Hwy, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EDGE OF THE FOREST MOTEL is more than just your average Motel style accommodation. Family owned and operated, stylish, clean and comfortable. Decked patios with outdoor settings overlook various gardens plus Patios of rooms located at the rear of the Motel overlook the guest barbeque area and have Forest views. Stylish en-suites have toiletries & heatlamps. EDGE OF THE FOREST COTTAGE is located next door to the Motel. Fully self-contained with Lounge, Dining, Kitchen, Bathroom, 2 Queen Rooms & 1 Bunk Room with 2 Bunks. There is a separate Studio with Double Bed & en-suite. Both properties border State Forest and are a short stroll to town centre Restaurants, Cafes', Shops & Galleries. Tranquil walk and cycle trails from the property through the Forest lead to stunning views of the Margaret River. The Cottage outdoor dining area has a barbeque and beautiful Forest views. Both Properties have Free Wi-Fi & Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing