We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We went when the weather was cooler, but the room was fairly cold. Only until the last day did we realize the window had been open the entire time! Bed had heated blanket, so that was nice. Free DVDs to watch and also they stocked fresh milk for coffee in the fridge. My only complaint would be there was no shower door so the water went everywhere when we took a shower. Overall, very cozy and close to town.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyeung1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Many thanks for staying with us and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We toyed with fitting doors to the shower, however find the trick with the shower is to have the shower head pointed toward the wall, rather than the shower opening. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    122
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
91
221
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We recommend this place wholeheartedly. Location is very convenient, close to town via car or walking. Our room was at the back, so it was very quiet. Lovely garden outside with beautiful green parrots. Room was excellent, clean, spacious, stylish and had everything you would want. Mini kitchen area made it easy to make coffee/tea, set up your own cereal, with room to spare. Staff were not the regular hosts, but were very friendly and helpful at all times. Really a special place to be and yet reasonably priced as well. Would certainly return.

Room Tip: Quieter at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groovy_Duvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you so much for your great comments and we hope to see you back again when next in Margaret River. Our Relief Managers are indeed excellent and make it easy for us to take holidays ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We would certainly recommend staying at Edge of the Forest, lovely clean room, modern bathroom and nice outside surrounds. Friendly hosts and only a short walk or drive into Margaret River township. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SJSLMcCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
April is such a lovely time to visit Margaret River. A little bit of rain at that time has everything sparking and green after the dry summer months. Would love to have you back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Fantastic experience at both Edge Of Woods and Margaret River area. But the best was the advice from the Edge Of The Woods staff on what to do. I had limited time, 1-1/2 days at the end of a business trip, and her advice allowed me to make the most of it. I was interested in combining Wine Tastings, nature, art, and some good food and music. She quickly marked up a map with all of it. Originally, I was going to ask at the Margaret River Visitors Center, but decided to stop by the hotel prior, and after talking to the woman at the desk, I decided that the Visitors Center was not necessary! I can't thank her enough!

I was looking for small hotel in a natural setting, and not a resort. The room was very clean and very nice, the location was in the middle of all activity, and the grounds were very pretty with gardens and such. Plus the cost of the room was very reasonable. The room very much met what I was looking for, and did not cost a fortune!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to Review and thank you for your wonderful comments.
As the majority of guests don't have a great deal of time in the Region, and there is so much to see and do we are happy pass on advice to help get the most out of our beautiful attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have stayed here twice and both times have been enjoyable , located just a short walk into town the rooms are very clean and comfortable, they make for a perfect weekend getaway. The breakfast was mostly local produce and the owners were very friendly and helpful.Highly recommend

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnshags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you so much for your Review and we look forward to seeing you again when next in Margaret River :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

The people who owned Edge of the Forest were so kind and helpful. They let us check in early and were very accommdating. Great location, only a few minutes walk to the town centre and very close to the River. We got up most mornings and went for a run and was beautiful. Thanks for a lovely couple of days

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shauna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Glad that you enjoyed the beautiful tracks on your runs. We are happy to accommodate early check-in whenever possible:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Our welcome to Edge for the Forest, Margaret River, was truly memorable! It was the most comprehensive run down of an accommodation we'd ever received. Denise filled us in on all the places of interest, restaurants to eat at, wineries, tours, walks, things to see and do in the area and everything we needed to know for our stay at Margaret River. Our room was clean, comfortable, with everything provided for a great stay and set amongst beautiful gardens. Location of the the accommodation is excellent, a short walk to all the delights of Margaret River township. Denise and her husband are friendly and helpful hosts. We would highly recommend Edge of the Forest accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to Review and for your wonderful comments. THe location is great, just out of town and close to the river walks. There is so much to see and do we are only too happy to help with tips in the Region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
702 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
249 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
968 reviews
5.9 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adamson's Riverside Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage

Property: Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Address: 25 Bussell Hwy, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EDGE OF THE FOREST MOTEL is more than just your average Motel style accommodation. Family owned and operated, stylish, clean and comfortable. Decked patios with outdoor settings overlook various gardens plus Patios of rooms located at the rear of the Motel overlook the guest barbeque area and have Forest views. Stylish en-suites have toiletries & heatlamps. EDGE OF THE FOREST COTTAGE is located next door to the Motel. Fully self-contained with Lounge, Dining, Kitchen, Bathroom, 2 Queen Rooms & 1 Bunk Room with 2 Bunks. There is a separate Studio with Double Bed & en-suite. Both properties border State Forest and are a short stroll to town centre Restaurants, Cafes', Shops & Galleries. Tranquil walk and cycle trails from the property through the Forest lead to stunning views of the Margaret River. The Cottage outdoor dining area has a barbeque and beautiful Forest views. Both Properties have Free Wi-Fi & Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing