We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some love but very cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Margaret River Lodge
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs some love but very cosy”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Stayed in the Boodjidup part of the hostel for three nights, had planned for one but there was so much to do in Margaret River. Room was very cosy, nice and clean, bathrooms and toilets are old could do with some new fittings may be some paint but was very clean. Kitchen area lets the hostel down its old needs a paint & a touch up some new cooking utensals would be good, however everything worked was very clean. Staff very very helpfull booking a wine tour for us & giving us the local guide to the sights of Margaret River

Room Tip: The Boodjidup area is great for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    17
    19
    5
    20
See reviews for
6
23
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I should have checked on Trip advisor first.
But I figured that a hostel run by the YHA would be well managed.
Well, not so.
Booked on line, but when we arrived the manager could not find our booking. Paid $87, no, really $88, we could not delete the "optional" $1 green surcharge.
We booked a double with ensuite.
In a separate building. Nice and quiet. Shared kitchen and lounge were dirty with old an damaged furniture and a very strange array of cooking utensils. Same for our room and bathroom. Pillows must have been 20 years old and smelled. But do realise that a dirty kitchen with dishes in the sink is the fault of the very inconsiderate other guests.
Just as well I did not book the 3 nights as we had planned.
However, right next door we found a cottage, on a property called "Station House" for only $2 per night more, basic but very clean, crisp sheets, separate bedroom and stayed the next two nights there.

Room Tip: The ensuite rooms in the separate building are quiter, but if it rains you get wet when you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inez B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Margaret River hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Ok so, I was a long term resident at this hostel and yes what most the reviews say is true noisy at weekends etc but after spending my first week there I understood the place isn't about being a 5 star hostel it's about letting guests feel comfortable and in all honesty they do it pretty well. The place is maintained as well as on old hostel can be but obviously during peak season things get a bit out of hand. The guy that runs the place does his best and in all fairness his best is more than adequate. The location is a little out of town but that offers a whole new realm of opportunity as you end up socialising with all the guests there and once you get to know these guys you'll fall in love with it just as I have. The place overall i would give a 4 only dropping a mark as a little investment in sprucing the place up a lick of paint here and there etc would really make the place incredible.

Stay here get to know the people and the place and you will love it.

Also for those seeking a quieter night there is a separate building away from the rest of the hostel with comfy cosy rooms.

Go here better than any hostel close to town.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EwanColson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Not that nice:
1. Firstly, i mean the reception staff. Strictly insistent to demand guests to do his job while checking out.
2. the room cleanliness. no, not okay.
3. location is bit too far from town if u r on foot.

however, i met good friendly travellers there who i wish i'd stay longer to befriend with.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indcpps7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

I have no words. This place is so disgusting. Everything Laura wrote from her entry 'wouldn't let a dog stay here' was absolutely accurate. I won't repeat again but I will add that the mess in the kitchen makes it a biohazard area, theft of food and alcohol from the communal fridges is a daily occurrence, the TV is unwatchable and my feelings for Margaret River and hostels are tainted for a lifetime because of this pithole. Stay here at your own danger.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arumanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I have travelled across Australia staying in many hostels (many excellent, some so-so) but this is by far the worst!!

It wasn't the lodge I stayed in but the city centre branch on town view terrace, couldn't find it separately on here but it is managed by the same people as the Margaret river lodge.

If you are planning to stay here and look for work and you want to stay up late every night drinking and listening to the long term residents boast about how many girls they have ****** then this place may be an option for you. However if you are merely visiting Margaret river for a wineries tour etc and want to actually enjoy your stay, then I would recommend paying that bit more for a hotel. Wish we had!!

My friend and I stayed here in January 2013 for 3 nights and this place really put a dampener on our whole trip to Margaret river which is such a shame as the region has a lot to offer and a winery day trip should not be missed.

The only good thing was the reasonably clean bathrooms, everything else about the place was awful. Staff were helpful but it's not the staff that are the problem here, it's the residents!!

We stayed in the female dorm which was occupied by mostly seasonal workers rather than tourists. This meant that they are rising at 4am to go and work in the vineyards or working late in restaurants until the early hours. Because of this there is never really a 'quiet time' at the hostel and you are woken at all hours by people coming and going. Basically the residents stay up till about 2am most nights drinking and making a lot of noise, then you get a rush of people leaving for work at 4am switching the light on and off and making lots of racket and banging around in the dorm getting ready, here they don't give a damn if they wake you up or not, of course I expect a little noise when staying in hostels but we should also expect some consideration towards each other but here there was none. I had the worst 3 nights sleep of my life here!!

And because the guests are seasonal workers and here long-term they seem to think its ok to leave their entire suitcases and dirty clothes strewn all over the floor so the room stunk and was like an obstacle course trying to get to our beds. Brilliant. The whole atmosphere of the place is dominated by the mostly
British men who stomp around the place like neanderthals burping, drinking nonstop and watching football. Think they must have had about 3 brain cells between them in total.

The air conditioning was non existent during the day so the room was sweltering and then at night time got progressively colder so by about 3am you were absolutely freezing feeling like you were in the North Pole! And we weren't even able to control the air conditioning ourselves (like in any other hostel) as the controls are not inside the room so you are at the mercy of the hostel management. Seriously anyone with half a brain would not want to stay here!

Along with the worlds most lumpy pillow that consisted of 5 balls of material shoved into a pillowcase, I was so excited to leave and get away from that place.

A low point for me was one horrible little specimen (resident) boasting to another about how he had ****** a girl outside on the porch the previous night.... this hostel attracts scum!!

I really feel sorry for the Aussie locals who live on the same street and have to put up with the horrors that come and go from this place. We couldn't wait to get away. Normal and decent ppl please dont consider this dump of a hostel, you won't regret it!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

First time staying at a hostel in margaret river, My friend recommended it. I must say the place does not look like it has been maintained and well kept. Management needs to look into the state of the female and male dormitories. The bunk beds were filthy in room 6 and quite a bad stench. We stay after the xmas period and was fully dissapointed by the noises, ventilation and the hygiene of the place. I did not even dare to go near the pool. I wasnt sure how clean it was. Also there is not a single fan in room 6 and I was dying trying to sleep. Next day we change to room 7, it was just average ok for the last night. THANKGOD. I hope every dorm is not like that or else we all will be suffering and gasping for air. I will not be recommending this to any budget goers or backpackers.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a proper fan....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alias88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
0.5 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
246 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riverview Tourist Park
Riverview Tourist Park
#12 of 51 in Margaret River
289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Margaret River Holiday Suites
Margaret River Holiday Suites
#28 of 51 in Margaret River
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Margaret River Tourist Park
Margaret River Tourist Park
#22 of 51 in Margaret River
182 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wharncliffe Mill
Wharncliffe Mill
#10 of 51 in Margaret River
140 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riverglen Chalets
Riverglen Chalets
#1 of 51 in Margaret River
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaret River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaret River Lodge

Property: Margaret River Lodge
Address: 220 Railway Tce, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Margaret River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing