We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coastal Living Made Easy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Margarets Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We chose this hotel based on its location next to the beach and the proximity to the wineries.

We arrived in pelting rain, which followed us throughout our trip. We were warmly welcomed by Lee the manager who also imparted vouchers for breakfast and free drinks at the nearby pub.No complaints there.

Being winter and school holidays, the resort was literally heaving. Each room is actually a self contained flat - with outside terrace, dining area, kitchenette, sleeping area and a washer and dryer in the bathroom.

With plenty of storage space, you can really make yourself at home. Amenities provided include washing detergent, microwave, cutlery and bathroom amenities as well as laundry detergent. These apartments are really made for those staying a week or so and there is no daily housekeeping.

The location of the resort is brilliant - 10 mins from the wineries and a short walk to the rugged beach.

In terms of facilities, the bar and pub had a decent restaurant serving up comfort food favorites including fish and chips and steaks. the breakfast was equally as filling with the usual selection of eggs and other items. Service was friendly but a little pushed by the big crowd. the pub has nightly entertainment in the form of a band and a fireplace to snuggle up in front of.

On the negative side, the proximity of the units to each other means there is little privacy. There was a full house flat next to mine and I heard when they were coming and going also other conversations. In the case of my flat, the bathroom and laundry window opened up directly onto the walkway between flats. Another couple's apartment's terrace area backed onto the playground, which made it noisy. the ground floor flats all back onto a common grass area, when not raining kids would tear up and down this all evening. Which is understandable, if noisy.

If it rains, aside from going to the pub, bring a board game as the TV offering is very slim. A couple of ABC channels and some foreign channels.

Although touting free wifi, we could never get online for more than two minutes and there was no connectivity in my flat at all.

Aside from its' short comings, this is a nice base for your winery explorations and all the main tour operators will pick you up from here.

Room Tip: Don't come in the peak holiday season if you are after peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelannmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeatMBR, General Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our resort. Yes - the Gnarabar is a great asset and they have wonderful food and ambience all year round.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

Margaret's Beach Resort is a fantastic place to stay when visiting the South West. Just a 10 minute scenic drive from Margaret River perched on top of the hill is the modern Resort. We arrived late and the staff had left our keys and information pack in a secure lock box. The apartment was very clean and spacious. Although we did not have views over the ocean, the view of the hills was just as beautiful. There was free parking right outside our apartment and we also had free WiFi throughout our stay. The heated beds also made the nights very cosy. The Gnarabar (on-site) serves up beautiful food and is a great place to spend the evenings with good music, drinks, an open fire and a round of pool. The Chauffeur Bus and most tour company's all pick up from the Resort making it a very convenient place to stay. Couples through to families, I would definitely recommend this Resort!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeatMBR, General Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for your comments and taking the time to review our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Firstly the ad said a king bed. It was 2 double mattresses pushed together under a sheet.. For $180 a night in winter it was not worth it. No view what so ever, beach still a good walk, you will have a car if you stay here so easier to drive.

This place is a motel, not a hotel. Had a family of 6 next door as well and could hear everything through he paper thin walls..

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have zero view, not sure about upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SomeRandomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeatMBR, General Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. Just a quick clarification - we are neither motel or hotel, we are a resort 4 star rated by AAA in "self contained accommodation". Our resort is 500m from Gnarabup Beach which is 2 minutes walking distance. 50% of our accommodation has ocean views & ridge views the other 50% have views of the resort gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Very friendly staff. Great ocean views and close to beach for walks. Restaurant does yummy takeaways and the Gnarabar is a fun place to hang out in the evening.
Comfortable and clean. Perfect for a relaxing getaway. We recommended it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor - better views. But do not get top floor if you have a pram. Get there before 5pm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeBurkettManagement, General Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to review our resort. Winter getaways are great . Gnarabar onsite restaurant is a great place for a casual drink by the fire or fantastic meal or both. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Pros: great views, 10 minutes from town centre, spacious apartment, great playground for kids that can be seen from the apartment, reverse cycle air conditioning, electric blankets. There isnt room service but you can get takeaway from the restaurant. Cons: Hot water system not big enough to fill the spa with hot water. Hair on our pillows on arrival, movie channel is set on the thriller/horror channel so unless you like sbs, abc, nickelodeon, horror movies or a choice of 4 sport channels its not a very good tv service, car parking is limited outside the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeBurkettManagement, General Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Offseason specials are fantastic value. Facilities are first class, staff are friendly and the location was top notch. I would recommend a trip down this way to all travellers. Wine, sun, surf and cheese. What more could you want?

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristian200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeBurkettManagement, General Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you for your review and recommendation. You said it , we have it all :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Margarets Beach Resort was the first hotel that we stayed in this trip. It took me a while to find this hotel as my GSP could not locate it and I did not see any road sign of this hotel along the way. Reception staff was very friendly and helpful. Check-in was very simple and fast. The apartment is big, clean, well decor and fully equip. Washing and drying machine, dishwasher, iron, ironing board, refrigerator, microwave oven, bowls, plates, cups, etc were available in the room. 2 bedrooms were relatively big and comfortable. Hall was big too. It is good for a family of 4 to 6 to stay. It was quiet in the day and night on our stay. Our balcony could get some sea view. We were allowed to use the hotel bicycles free of charge. We could also get free Wi-Fi in the apartment. It has a large outdoor pool but we did not use it. Hotel gave us discount voucher for taking breakfast at Anytime Morris, which is in the Margarets River. I strongly recommend you to try the Morris Burger, which is very delicious. We also ordered other food from the breakfast menu. They were good too. We have no disappointment to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Balcony can get full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLIM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeBurkettManagement, General Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you got to enjoy some of the resort's facilities especially the free bike hire, with all the great riding tracks around the area this is a great days adventure. Hopefully you will get the opportunity to return to us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
4.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
721 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
255 reviews
5.9 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
271 reviews
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
1,008 reviews
5.5 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margarets Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarets Beach Resort

Address: 1 Resort Pl | Gnarabup Beach, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Margaret River
#5 Family Hotel in Margaret River
#6 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range: £102 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Margarets Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** Location Location Location ***Offering idyllic 4 star Margaret River Accommodation by the sea, Margarets Beach Resort is one of the best beach resorts in Western Australia (WA). It’s the perfect location for a romantic getaway or memorable family holiday in the renowned Margaret River Wine Region.Just 10 kilometres from Margaret River town, on WA’s spectacular South West Coast, and just 500 metres from pristine Gnarabup Beach, Margarets Beach Resort is the only resort accommodation by the sea.You can enjoy everything the Margaret River Wine Region has to offer, with easy access to the South West’s world-class wineries, caves, national parks, nature walk trails, surf breaks and other outstanding attractions and tours.The beach holiday resort offers a range of accommodation options for your Margaret River break. Choose from views to the magnificent coast, resort pool and gardens or the natural beauty of WA’s Naturaliste Ridge. And it’s just a short stroll to Gnarabup Beach, where you can enjoy the water playground or take in the stunning west coast sunsets.You’ll also benefit from a range of resort facilities to make your stay even more enjoyable.Relax, unwind and enjoy your Margaret River experience at Margarets Beach Resort.Includes Free WIFI. All our accommodation is Non Smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Margarets Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margarets Beach Hotel Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing