We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Margarets Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Stay Margaret River(Margaret River)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Margaret River Resort(Margaret River)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grange on Farrelly(Margaret River)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Margaret River Hotel(Margaret River)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveller rating
216
246
84
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
246
84
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite elephantocean viewcommon restaurantsurf shopshort walk to the beachwashing machine and dryeronsite restaurantstudio apartmentkids playgroundthe ground floorten minute driveself containedgreat spotelectric blanketslaundry facilitiesstayed here for nightsmargaret river town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
388 - 393 of 579 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Overall not a great stay. Close to beach but not on the beach, photo on their website is of a cafe which is not within the resort not a true representation. Power was an issue we lost it at prime time during the evening and was not back until after 11pm. Wake up in the morning and it is off again not the resorts fault however when calling down to reception advised of candles to use which were two half burnt tea lights....... Walls are paper thin you can hear every noise from the next door apartment and be prepared for ordinary bedding. WIFI was an issue waiting on this being rectified although obviously no use when you have no power.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoldiePacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeatMBR, General Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

In response to your issue- How unlucky while you stayed here that the hole region lost power. Sorry regarding the tea light obviously they were overlooked. We are the only Resort in Margaret River on the coast just 500 metres from beach, a 3 minute walk to our beach cafe. The walls are a standard double brick with plaster. All our beds are Australian 5 Star standard beds which were all renewed within the last 2 years. In regards to the FREE Wifi we did have issues due to the power outage, which were rectified once the power was restored. Mrs Packer I have called and left a message on your phone to explain these issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed for 3 nights end of Jan school hols. Check in was smooth and polite. Our room was lovely, spacious and well equipped. It was a corner ground floor unit (106) and had a lovely view out over the bushland to Prevally Beach in the distance. There was a lovely little area to sit out side and a small lawn for the kids (4 and 7) to play on right outside our room. The room was made up right for our family (twin beds needed) but no-ones fault as we booked through email not the website. It was swiftly changed and the beds were great. Thanks Tania for sorting quickly. The facilities are great. Pool not heated but a great pool and lots of chairs. There is a playground in the hotel but if you go to the top of the road there is a huge playing area, footy field with a flying fox. Had a drink in the restaurant / bar - nice and buzzing on a Fri night. The Prevally Store is about a 2 minute drive away and its about 10 mins into the MR township. 5 minute walk to the beach - great for sunset and surfing. Swimming for older kids and adults but not far away is a better beach for little ones. Check out all smooth and even given a $50 voucher to book again. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perthkiwitravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeatMBR, General Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoy working here. Its people like you and the location that makes it such a pleasure for us to come to work every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Unfortunately, we only had the one night at Margaret's Beach resort but found it very comfortable. We had a room (#202 i think) that had a balcony overlooking the ocean and after a tour of the wineries, it was very relaxing having a few glasses on the balcony. Shops in the area are limited but Margaret's does have a pub/bistro which was pretty good but had we been there longer we definitely would have used the facilities available in the room. They do not serve breakfast but work in with a waterfront coffee shop about 500 meters walk from the hotel. The walk to the coffee shop has one pretty steep hill. A golf car option for people with mobility options would be nice. We stayed just after peak, so traffic noise could be a problem in busy season.

Room Tip: Traffic was light during our stay but could be a problem during peak times.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark190562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeatMBR, General Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Mark, what a shame you were here only 1 night to enjoy our stunning location. It is the location and the Gnarabar onsite restaurant which are 2 of our greatest assets. In regards to the traffic noise it is a lot quieter on the coast than in the town region of Margaret River.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Margaret river forest is such a relaxing place to stay. Clean & spacious they really have thought of everything. I loved the fully functional kitchen & having the washing machine was also helpful. Shower was also nice. Great little touches inside, walking distance to town. Reasonably priced compared to other accommodation in the area.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Charlie38598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeatMBR, General Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Having kitchen and laundry facilities is great advantage. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We arrived at the resort at around 6:00 pm. We collected our key from the lock box and, after lugging two heavy bags up a long flight of steps, we reached our room.

Upon entering the room we were greeted with an unpleasant smell. Immediately I used the bathroom and noticed a grey line of dirt around the skirting ledge: not happy! These two events prompted us to investigate further where we discovered a sticky orange patch in a bedside drawer. Even the cupboard containing the cleaning materials was dirty. Enough! at this point we stopped looking.

There was a LOUD eerie howling noise and we wondered whether it would be possible to sleep through it. We called the night manager, Lee, who came up to the room. Amazingly, even after hearing the sound himself, Lee asked us to describe in detail what how it sounded - like he didn’t already know! It was the wind howling under the apartment door; Lee’s solution was to place a towel over the door sill and force the door shut.

Lee then asked about the dirt. After describing what we had found, we were most surprised by his personal attack. Instead of offering a solution his comments included “your standards are too high” and “some people are never satisfied.” Astonishing! Is this first class customer service?

After the verbal assault Lee pointed out the window and said “look at the view!” Ok nice view, not stunning, but nice. However, it most certainly did not, in any possible way, compensate for dirt, howling wind and personal insult.

Without prompting, Lee offered us a refund which we gratefully accepted. His final, very sarcastic, comment to us was “good luck finding alternative accommodation in Margaret River at this time of night.” We were speechless.

We have had fun travelling for forty years across four continents, living in Europe for much of that time. We have stayed in various types of accommodation, including some with jaw-dropping views and many with outstanding levels of customer service, but never before have we been subjected to a personal assault of our values justified by a mediocre ocean view.

We do not recommend Margarets Beach Resort to anyone unless you're specifically seeking low end accommodation at a high price.

PS On the plus side, the refund was paid immediately.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank R0mMer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeatMBR, General Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

We are 4 star AAA rated (just a clarification of a fact) . I ask any readers to review previous comments regarding myself and the customer service offered at Margarets Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews