We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Set in 60 acres of countryside just north of Cowaramup”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craythorne Country House
Ranked #17 of 20 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Secluded, peaceful, comfortable and well appointed, this charming property is down a two kilometre tree-lined unmade road so is a little off the beaten track, past sheep etc which all adds to the rural feel. Is an easy drive to most wineries, chocolate factory, providore, cheese factory etc.

Modern single-storey property purpose-built as a B and B with pretty, well tended rose-filled gardens with lawns and with lovely walks on your doorstep.

Generous clean modern bedroom with king bed, polished boards and en-suite. Firm bed, soft pillow.

Excellent, attentive and engaging hosts. Breakfast sets you up for the day: eggs from their free range chickens remind you of what eggs used to taste (and look) like and no one should leave the breakfast table disappointed after fruit salad, yoghurt, Gabi's muesli, full cooked breakfast, juices, tea, coffee.

Really all that you could want from a B and B - we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: There are only four rooms which are all a good size with a king bed and en-suite (small but does the...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suppersready56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
There are newer reviews for Craythorne Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2013

Away from the hustle and bustle of Margaret River with a peaceful surrounding it provides that place to relax. Yet, it is still convenient to Margaret River (15 mins), Cowaramup (5 mins) and Harmans Mill Rd, which leads to places like The Chocolate Factory and an abundance of wineries. Kerry and Rick who run Craythorne love the property and because of that bring a sense comfort to the stay. The facilities are very professional and the rain water (which is UV filtered) is excellent. The bed is comfortable and firm (which we like) and the quiet at night a real treat after the city. Kerry's cooked breakfast was excellent! Craythorne is definitely a repeat stay for us and a real gem among the choice at Margs.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank H and H W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metricup180, Owner at Craythorne Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Thank you H & H for your review. As New Owners we aim to provide the best we can it its lovely when we receive feed back. We hope to see you again soon so you can see the changes we have made to the Gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

My husband and myself had 3 relaxed nights here we were in Metricup for a wedding and visiting friends. Kerry and Ric were wonderful hosts their breakfasts were superb you certainly won't go hungry. The setting was peaceful and picture perfect. The room was spacious with a king sized comfy bed lovely and clean. Loved they had rain water for drinking as we are used to this no complaints from us. Would highly recommend to all our friends and our friends in WA .Thank you to our wonderful hosts

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madonna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Accommodation very clean, setting is beautiful and quiet, we looked on here for reviews then booked, we thought it was near all the attractions but found it is quite a way from anything so you need a car. Taxis would not collect you for less than $100 which was a nightmare at night if you wanted to go for a meal and have a few glasses of wine. Also the kitchen is not for shared use which we discovered after buying lots of shopping so we were slightly disappointed.
Overall nice place for people who do not drink and don't mind being isolated, maybe more suited for older couples.

Room Tip: All rooms the same.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelstar76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

My wife and I were just down in Margaret River for an overnight stay and were looking for somewhere well-priced that was just a little bit 'nice'. Craythorne Country House did not disappoint. The location is perfect for exploring all that the region has to offer and the accommodation is surrounded by stunning gardens that are packed with bird-life. The rooms were beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean and I have no idea what one of the previous reviewers was talking about because Julie, our host, was perfectly lovely. Throw in afternoon tea, a delicious (and very substantial) breakfast, super-comfy bed...I could go on. We loved it and it was a perfect place to unwind after all the stresses of the city. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuralPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Craythorne House is the ideal place to relax in beautiful country surroundings.Situated about 2 km along an unsealed road from the Bussell Highway, it is a peaceful retreat from everyday rush and bustle. The scent of the roses, the call of the birds quickly erase any stresses you may have arrived with. Add the friendly and most helpful hosts, Julie and Ken, a wonderful breakfast, home baked cup cakes chocolates and port,every evening to complete the perfect spot to enjoy the many wineries in the immediate vicinity. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haematocrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metricup180, Owner at Craythorne Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about Craythorne Country House.
We very much appreciate your views.

Julie and Ken Poultney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

My boyfriend and I wanted to stay in Margaret River, but outside of the town centre. Craythorne Country House is just outside of the town centre (approx 15 mins), and it's beautiful! Very close to local attractions, like the Margaret River Chocolate Factory, Cape Lavender and the wineries. It was nice and quiet, so we were able to enjoy a sleep in, and to wake up to the sounds of the birds!

Beryl was our host, and she was an absolute pleasure. Breakfast was yummy. It was a lot of fun sitting around the table with the other guests having a good chat and a laugh, while enjoying your bowl of fresh fruit, yoghurt and muesli. In addition, Beryl served a cooked breakfast; eggs, tomato, hash browns, bacon, toast and tea/coffee! The jams were made in-house (and I bought several jars to bring home!).

It was an absolute pleasure staying here, and it deserves to be higher up the list! We really loved the at-home feeling, which was thanks to the hosts warm welcome and friendly service. It was also the little touches, like chocolates by the bed, handmade biscuits for afternoon tea, and port in the guest lounge room. It's clear that the house was built with love, as there is quality finishings and the interior decoration is consistent and warm. It was recently renovated, so the rooms are very clean and new. Something I appreciated, was that there's no TV in the bedrooms. Who needs TV when you're in Margaret River? I enjoyed some time away from technology. The bed was VERY comfortable as well.

I cannot fault Craythorne. We have already decided that it's out number one choice for when we stay in Margaret River. (Feel free to contact me if you'd like more info!)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_Fliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metricup180, Owner at Craythorne Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Beryl has been our relief manager since we started Craythorne Country House in 1998.
Beryl is my cousin Graeme's wife, so we have worries leaving Craythorne in her very capable hands.
Your comments about Beryl and Craythorne are very much appreciated as we do try to present a wonderful place for our guests to relax.
Thank you so much and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards, Ken.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
9.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
705 reviews
8.4 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
9.6 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 20 in Margaret River
510 reviews
9.4 mi away
Rosewood Guesthouse
Rosewood Guesthouse
#1 of 20 in Margaret River
350 reviews
10.5 mi away
Pinda Lodge
Pinda Lodge
#7 of 20 in Margaret River
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craythorne Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craythorne Country House

Address: 180 Worgan Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6284, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range: £98 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Craythorne Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craythorne is a 4 star Bed and Breakfast down a tranquil road on 60 acres. Minutes from 35 wineries, SANDALFORD, HOWARD PARK, VASSE FELIX, GRALYN AND BROOKWOOD TO NAME A FEW. Plus attractions CHEESE, CHOCOLATE, NUT AND CEREAL, ICE CREAM AND SOAP FACTORIES. Craythorne is suited to Guests seeking a relaxed atmosphere. All our Extra Large Ensuited Rooms over look cottage gardens from wide verandahs. An Elegant Country Breakfast is served each morning in the Breakfast Room. Afternoon Tea is left in your room each day a Bedside Chocolate with port for the evening.Airport Transfer and/or Customised Tours available in our Executive Car ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Craythorne Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing