We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, but more a motel than a resort”
Review of Margarets Forest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Margarets Forest
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Nice location, but more a motel than a resort”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I thought this location deserved 3.5 stars rather 4 stars that I ended up giving it... so I will start with the negative.

My biggest gripe is the state of the cleaning. The chairs on the balcony were a bit sticky, as was the table. The grill was not terribly well cleaned either. The sofa smelled of sweat.

This aside, I guess this apartment is as well equipped as such places are in Margaret river. We last stayed here in 2001 if I am correct.

The general cleanliness in the apartment was otherwise ok beyond the above. Bedrooms on ground floor and living area the floor up. It is getting cold and we found the heated bed pads... but needed to dig around to find the socket. It was almost as if they were hidden ... and hoping we won't find how to work the heat pad.

Location is convenient within Margaret river. Some restaurants & bakeries within walking distance. If you're doing the margaret river discovery tour, their pick-up point is 2min walk away at the Info centre.

Reception was friendly. No complaints.

p/s If you're planning to do a BBQ... the meats at the butcher just past the IGA supermarket are better.

Room Tip: Apartments have a BBQ - try and find some time to do one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keltzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretsForest, General Manager at Margarets Forest, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hi there

Thank you so much for your feedback. We love hearing your good points about our location, staff and the apartments in general.

It is unfortunate there were a few let-downs. Please accept our regrets that some areas in your apartment were not satisfactory. The dampness of the sofa could have been related to steam-cleaning which we recently conducted on all sofas. It is unfortunate that we weren't alerted to the issue so that we could have immediately rectified the short-fall of our usual high standard of cleanliness.

We don’t deliberately hide the electric blankets but we do usually disconnect them during the warmer months for obvious reasons.

If there is anything troubling you during your stay, please don’t hesitate to ask for our assistance so that we can serve you better.

We hope that you will come back again in the future.

Kind regards
Astrid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    178
    37
    4
    1
See reviews for
164
179
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

These well equipped apartments are comfortable and very spacious. Big bedrooms downstairs with king beds and nice clean bathroom. Upstairs kitchen and living area. We found a good value 3 night deal on wotif that would be hard to beat for this standard of accommodation anywhere else in Margaret River. Only a short walk to the information centre and an excellent supermarket. The only down side was a bit of traffic noise about 7am from the Highway and some thumping from water pipes when taps turned off in other units, otherwise I would give it 5 stars. Would stay again if price was right.

Room Tip: Standard rooms back on to highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OZY50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCountry
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My wife and I had a first floor apartment in August last year, the receptionist was really friendly and welcoming.
We had a first floor apartment which was MASSIVE! Lounge/diner then bedroom/bathroom.
NB there was a washing machine there ( really handy after two weeks travel!?), all of the kitchen was well equipped and the bed very comfortable. We were impressed, and stayed 3 nights.
MR is quite small, and we felt limited wrt places to eat, accepting the dollar to UK pound was tough.
It would have been handy (maybe expected?) to be able to have free wifi in the complex?, otherwise there are a couple of cafe where u can log.
Overall Great accommodation definitely recommend and return if we are ever down that way, go and enjoy, PS don't forget to book a wine tour Really really really worth it, you meet some fascinating people!!

Room Tip: Book earlier and avoid missing out!?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirSidParker54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had booked 2 nights accommodation and then had to unavoidably cancel with a little over 24 hours notice - sick child :( Sadly the Margarets Forest folk insisted on charging us for full cost of the first night $260, despite it being school holidays when there was a reasonable chance the room would be booked by other holiday makers.

Sometimes cancellations are unavoidable - so beware.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank break914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretsForest, Front Office Manager at Margarets Forest, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Hi there

Thanks for leaving a comment about your cancellation experience. I hope that your child has recovered in full and that you have found some time for rest and relaxation in lieu of your missed Margaret River holiday. We would love to host you in the future to create happier associations with Margarets Forest and this wonderful region.

Margarets Forest holds a 48 hour cancellation policy which means that you would be refunded in full if you make contact in time. We understand that there are times when guests have no option but to cancel at the last minute. Should you need to cancel within 48 hours, our policy is to retain the first nights’ accommodation. If we resell the apartment then we will always gladly make a full refund. Alternatively, the guest has the option to use their accommodation at a later date up until 3 months’ time.

Margarets Forest is a family-owned business with helpful and considerate staff who will always work to create the best outcome. Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you feel that we did not convey the opportunity to use your stay within 3 months or to discuss this further. You can email stay@margaretsforest.com.au or phone 08 9758 7188.

Warm regards
Keely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, NSW
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The website gives the impression that this is a resort in the forest - peace and quiet etc. It's not.
It's clean and well maintained and comfortable but that's all. It's on the Bussell Highway and right in the town. Not much retreat there. If you're looking for a motel - and not a holiday - it's fine. Though it's probably overpriced in what is already a very overpriced region. Margaret River has definitely lost it's edge over the years and is now over-exploited and tacky touristy. There are better places to stay in the region.

Room Tip: Away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DK9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretsForest, General Manager at Margarets Forest, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Margarets Forest. For a return visit to Margaret River, it is really disappointing to read you feel the place 'has gone backwards' as having personally only lived here myself for just 5 years, I have yet to run out of things to explore and enjoy in the region. I can honestly say that I personally am in love with the place and that love is reaffirmed daily by many of our visiting and returning customers. I could only wish that it was infectious, but this time I guess it clearly wasn't to be. I hope there may be an opportunity in the future for us to change your mind, as we look forward to the challenge. Any suggestions to make us less 'motel' like (which we don't want to be labelled as, as our rooms are nothing like a motel room) would be most welcome. Our apartments are simply spacious, mostly double storey and self contained in the heart of town with a backdrop of the forest. Enjoy your travels and may the road lead you back to Margaret River one day to impress you once again... we hope ; ) Happy Easter from Astrid and the team at Margarets Forest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull,
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. Bedrooms are on the ground floor with living quarters upstairs. The apartment was very well equipped. Our bedroom faced the main road but traffic noise was not a problem to us. It is in a very good location on the edge of the town. Opposite is a home made bakery - umm really nice. The town has a variety of shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for one away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuenBrianSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

My hubby and 2 boys stayed for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. We found it to be very well equipped, plenty of towels and very comfortable. My boys are 2 and 1 so the stairs were a bit of a problem, maybe a stair gate would come in useful, the staff did give us a porta cot to block the stair case which was a little help. Great location to walk into town. Had a lovely time and will recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weazleandwazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
702 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
0.1 mi away
Darby Park Serviced Residences
Darby Park Serviced Residences
#15 of 51 in Margaret River
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
660 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverglen Chalets
Riverglen Chalets
#1 of 51 in Margaret River
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prideau's of Margaret River
Prideau's of Margaret River
#6 of 10 in Margaret River
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margarets Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarets Forest

Property: Margarets Forest
Address: 96 Bussell Hwy, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Margarets Forest 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margarets Forest offers a range of stylish 4 star, fully self-contained forest studios & apartments. Most have spas and are designed with privacy & serenity in mind. Each studio and apartment offers guests a choice of views of the forest from expansive decks or manicured courtyards. Our Margaret River accommodation is available in various configurations for singles, couples, twin share, families and two couples sharing. The two bedroom, two spa apartments are designed to offer exceptional value and style for two couples getting away together who want both generous shared living areas, as well as spacious private bedrooms with their own spas. Inside the decor and furnishing compliment the extraordinary natural setting. Offset walls, raked ceilings and highlight windows cleverly enhance the natural aspect from all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Margarets Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margarets Forest Hotel Margaret River
Margarets Forest Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing