We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spoilt by "law"....”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Vasse Virgin

Vasse Virgin
Ranked #12 of 53 Tours in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Vasse Virgin Soap Factory is nestled amongst picturesque grape vines and olive trees within the heart of the Margaret River and Geographe Bay tourism region. Visitors can overlook the unique working factory and watch the soap making process, from manufacture through to the individually hand packaged finished products. We have a large range of luxurious skin care products to test and try. So much more than just a soap factory, we now have the gourmet food tasting room where you can find a range of olive oils, tapenades and table olives. We now also accept Union Pay cards in store.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spoilt by "law"....”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Very nice place to visit with informed staff and lots of stuff to taste/try. Alone the drive way is worth the effort.

Be warned that a $1 eftpos fee is applicable - to use the staff members' term "by law" - for transactions under the rather odd amount of $12.

This equates to over 8%. Funnily enough (?) many products are around this price so getting some small token of the visit can be very frustrating.

Considering that most Western Australian companies have a $10 min. for eftpos or something like $0.20 bites, the $12 min./$1 bite can only be seen as a bit dodgy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank zebra1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwina S, Owner at Vasse Virgin, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear zebra1974, thank you for your review and we appreciate the feedback. It is unfortunate that this event occurred and a shame that this inconvenience overshadowed the rest of your visit. Rest assured this was an isolated incident and we are currently rectifying the matter in store. We hope that you will return to Vasse Virgin where many sensational experiences await.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    106
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to Visit”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We enjoyed our stop off at Vasse Virgin. Our first impression upon entering Vasse Virgin was the picturesque driveway lined with trees. Breathtaking even to my husband who generally does not comment on such things. Upon entering the store, the delectable aroma of the Vasse virgin oil diffusers were apparent and we were then greeted by a friendly staff member who shared with us the story behind the brand. One room had a large range of body products, candles and soaps. All available for testing and you could view the soap being made right before your eyes in the open factory. The second room was full of delicious oils, preserves and Dukkah (may I recommend the mediterranean variety). Most products were available for free tasting which made selecting products for a purchase a breeze. May i also comment a wise choice by the management as they are so delicious they sell themselves. Member registration was on the spot and we were given a 10% discount for all purchases, a great way to reward patrons. Highly recommend this place for a visit whilst out and about touring the wine region. A must do.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwina S, Owner at Vasse Virgin, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you Jess P for your kind review. We're glad to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at Vasse Virgin. Our staff endeavour in taking the time and effort to make each customer's visit pleasant. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Take time to stop !!!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our early morning stop at Vasse Virgin. Their range of soaps, body products and olive oils were extensive and it was great to browse around looking at the many products produced from this factory (and all natural).
The staff were most helpful and told us the story of how Vasse Virgin commenced and pointing out the uses of the many items on sale, The credit card got a good work-out,

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveandSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwina S, Owner at Vasse Virgin, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you DaveandSan for your outstanding review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and browsed our extensive range. Our staff consistently make the effort to help every customer with the products. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Help for eczema with natural soaps and skin care products”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The staff were friendly and very helpful, giving good suggestions and tips on the lavender and chamomile soap and the difference with the unscented ones. Member registration was handled on the spot allowing for 10% discount with the next purchase. We were impressed with the range of products and bought soaps, body lotion, shampoo and also olive oil. Look forward to checking out the website for online purchase after trying out the products.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Agape99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwina S, Owner at Vasse Virgin, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Agape99, thank you for such an insightful review. It's great to have staff available to help customers of all skin types, and we're glad that you enjoyed browsing our range. As a new Vasse Virgin Body Club member you'll spot more benefits coming your way very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Always a lovely place to visit with just wonderful products.We stocked up on our scrubs ,bath salts, lotions ,oils and salad dressings. Be prepared to leave a bit of money behind , but the quality of the products is well worth what they ask for them.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BirgitButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwina S, Owner at Vasse Virgin, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear BirgitButler, thank you for your nice review. Glad to hear you were so impressed with our bodycare and foodroom products. We hope you'll be back at Vasse Virgin again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vasse Virgin also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Vasse Virgin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing