We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must go in Margaret River?”
Review of Mikis Open Kitchen

Mikis Open Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$53
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Miki's Open Kitchen is tempura dining restaurant in Margaret River that features an open kitchen where guests can comfortably sit around the counter and watch Miki and his team prepare amazing dishes, located at the back of the arcade behind Cafe 131, with a great local wine list Japanese beer and sake, be sure to make a booking as we are only a small restaurant. Open dinner service only Tuesday - Saturday from 6pm
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Must go in Margaret River?”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

It's pretty amazing to see your food being cooked, see the attention to details (also trying to guess if it's yours or not!).
A pretty relax atmosphere, small group sitting at the kitchen bench, larger group at some of the larger table.
Everything felt fresh and well thought, the service was very good.
The only downside: microscopic wine list. It's Margaret River guys.
And only ONE sparkling by the glass of average quality :(

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alavotre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    52
    24
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting food”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Really wanted to like Mikis , with their friendly service, but I found the food to be too experimental and a lot of the flavours didn't work for me. Don't take the kids there expecting the usual Japanese.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scallywags55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sensational food, simply out of the world.”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The restaurant is small, busy and buzzy but intimate with the open kitchen. It really is great to see that with some effort what can be achieved with what is quite a small establishment. The food is tasty, beautifully presented and interesting. 10/10 for Miki's we will be back.
Tried this restaurant for the hype and was not disappointed as the food cooked is fresh and not reheated.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food, fun atmosphere.”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Tried this restaurant on recommendation of our guesthouse host.We definitely were not disappointed. We had the Miki's special menu of the day which included lots of small tastings including dessert. Everything was delicious and the staff very friendly and savvy with Japanese cuisine. Miki himself was great fun in the open kitchen.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ShelleySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, but degustation not as filling”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Being a 1st time visitor we thought we should try the degustation menu that lots of people bragged about. Food-wise we cannot really fault them, they use fresh local products and food was very clean and presentable. The only thing is I did not expect the portion of the degustation to be that small, where most items would just require ONE bite. Most of the food were deep-fried as well. My husband was not really that full after the end of the degustation (we didn't have alcohol/ wine with our food).
Nevertheless, it was a nice experience. I am more keen to try the other normal ala carte menu as taste-wise, they are not bad at all.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank lil_tabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mikis Open Kitchen also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Mikis Open Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing