We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation, tranquil setting, private retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burnside Organic Farm
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and was very impressed with the accommodation and the setting.
Well placed for access to Margaret River, Cowaramup, Prevelly and the Caves Rd wineries. Also bikes available to cycle included but we do not use them.
Lara met us on arrival and booked us a restaurant for the evening (Morries) which was helpful and a good recommendation.
The bungalows are very private and it feels like you are on your own at the farm which was really great. It is very quiet and it is very dark at night - a welcome break from the street lighting of Perth.
The place was clean and well presented but there were a quite a few obvious cobwebs inside which had been missed.
Very spacious rooms, maybe too big, and a pity that the 1 bedroom accommodation is restricted to only 2 adults, as there would be plenty of room for 3 (1 sleeping in the living room) and this would make the accommodation affordable as well as high quality. It just feels that the space is more than is needed for only 2 people eg. 2 small sofas, 6 person breakfast table etc.
The main disappointment was the lack of water pressure to the shower. The accommodation markets heavily the 'spa bath' and we decided not to have one as we thought it would take too long to fill which was a shame. Equally, a good high pressure shower would have sufficed without a spa bath. The shower was serviceable but was just less than we had expected from the description, we forgot to advise Lara about the water pressure when we left so it may been a fault rather than an inherent problem - we hope this get checked/responded to.
The bungalow is well appointed with TV, satellite, DVD player and radios, BBQ etc. There is a woodburner which we could not use (summer fire restrictions) but expect that it would be really nice in the winter. The thick heavy rammed earth walls keep the place cool without needing air conditioning which was a nice change. The outdoor area had tables/chairs and a hammock but could benefitted from a comfortable sofa and table rather than 2 coffee style tables and chairs
No mosquitoes - brilliant! Lara also lent us some bug repellent as we were not going to take any risks.
We bought a breakfast basket which seemed quite expensive but upon review was good value as it did last the 2 days we were there. It would be better if the some of the contents of the basket were made available at check-in (coffee, milk etc) - there was instant and tea in the bunglaow but the fresh coffee would have been nicer, and saved a trip to the local supermarket for milk.
Burnside Organic Farm markets itself as being a very high quality and unique experience which visitors pay a premium for, and for that reason this review is probably more critical than for a less expensive lower quality establishment.
We would definitely come again and recommend it to our friends but perhaps consider coming as a group and taking one of the larger units.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed at the farm for 4 nights, and we have a fabulous time with our 8-month old son (Matthew) at the bungalow we stayed at. The farm is a fairly small set-up of just 4 bungalows, and as we arrived late in the evening, Lara had put the keys out for us to pick up with a note for us. :) [and you know it's got a personal touch when everyone in the reviews mention Lara & Jamie]

As Lara & Jamie happened to be out of town for the weekend, Gisette (i think that's how you spell her name) who was helping to look after us took us for the morning animal feedings. Matthew, though young, enjoyed watching the chickens, geese, and pigs eat their food. Lara even left us a few eggs and some avocados (which were in season then). There's also a vegetable garden that you can pick your vegetables from for cooking, but we ate out most of the time, as it was a little tiring to cook for just the 2 of us. In any case, Margaret River was just slightly less than a 10-minute drive away, and we were given some excellent recommendations for food (Try Morries and Settler's Tavern in Margaret River, and White Elephant Cafe at Prevelly for breakfast!)

The bungalows were beautiful, and well furnished (including a dishwasher and washing machine) and we loved the setting of our bungalow. The bungalows are spaced well apart that you have your own privacy (couldn't even see the other bungalows!), and you get to observe a variety of wildlife from the bungalow itself! We saw rabbits, many species of birds, lizards during our stay. We didn't see kangaroos from the bungalow, but we did see them wandering on the farm.

The baby cot that we requested for was also comfortable for Matthew, and there were blankets and sheets provided. We also appreciated that Lara brought a high chair in for Matthew to sit on.

All-in-all, it had been a great stay at Burnside Organic Farm, and we will have to visit again, as we didn't get to do the farm tour this time round!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KennyLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had an excellent stay at Burnside over this summer with my 2 toddlers. The accommodation was spotless and well thought through - there were brand new dish-washing sponges, ample supply of laundry detergent and even coffee and sugar. Lara and Jamie made us feel right at home on the farm. The kids had a blast feeding the geese, pigs and the chicken. It is a 8-10 min drive to the IGA (grocery store) so make sure trips are well planned!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lashes03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The very well-equipped and comfortable bungalow was more than we expected but the best aspect was being made to feel so welcome by Lara and Jamie. They felt like real friends although we stayed for just 2 days. We learnt about their diverse farm and particularly found their avocados delicious. The breakfast basket, full of their own and local produce, was more than just breakfast, including a bottle of their wonderful olive oil and some home made herb cheese. Picking fresh salad and herbs from the veggie garden for our self catered dinners was a real treat. We were given lots of very helpful advice about exploring the Margaret River region and for our onward journey.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gilldiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I knew that our nature and animal loving children would love a farmstay. When I started my research though, it seemed like most accomodation might be a bit basic for the parents! Fortunately we found Burnside Organic Farm and we were all happy.
We had a warm welcome from the owners and we were shown where to pick veggies and herbs for dinner. Loved this! The children helped feed the chickens and pigs and this was a highlight of their holiday.
We enjoyed one or two (!) bottles of the Burnside wine. I had pre-ordered the delicious breakfast basket when we booked and that was delivered to our bungalow on the first morning. We also borrowed several children's DVDs from the office.

The accomodation (bungalow 1) was ideal for a family of 4-5. For me, the details that I appreciated were the washing machine and dishwasher (so my holiday didn't turn into too much work!), lovely homemade soaps, spacious modern bathroom and plenty of towels. There was also a file with recommendations for activities, wineries and restaurants which was thorough and thoughtful.
The children had lots of fun in the outdoor spa tub and generally we just really enjoyed the sense of space and peace we found at Burnside.
All in all, it was a wonderful family break in a beautiful region.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here a while ago but have only just got around to writing this review!
We stayed for one night but it was enough to try out the huge spa in our bungalow, which was fantastic. The bungalow is perfectly private with great amenities and heaps of space. It even has a hammock for those lazy afternoons! The surrounding farm is lovely for a walk. Only ten minutes into Margaret River and close to wineries and beaches!
Will definitely be back soon for longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M0nAndCaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed here for 2 night's, the chalet was perfectly comfortable with a gorgeous wood fire, comfortable couches, spacious bathroom, well equipped kitchen and a lovely veranda.

Our accommodation was lovely and private, and whisper quiet. We loved the vege garden, and our fill in host steph was wonderfully warm and helpful. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chelsette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
3.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
730 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sunflowers Animal Farm and Farmstay
8.4 mi away
The Grove Distillery
The Grove Distillery
#45 of 51 in Margaret River
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Acacia Chalets & Margaret River Beach Studios
2.8 mi away
Riverglen Chalets
Riverglen Chalets
#1 of 51 in Margaret River
236 reviews
2.7 mi away
Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnside Organic Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnside Organic Farm

Address: 287 Burnside Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range: £168 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnside Organic Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avoid mainstream tourism and stay on a certified organic farm and vineyard. Burnside Organic Farm is only a 5 minute drive from Margaret River and central to all the renowned attractions of the region. Pristine beaches, world class wineries and beautiful Karri forest. Couples can indulge in a private and luxurious 1 bedroom Rammed Earth Spa Bungalow or families and small groups can enjoy a 2 bedroom Limestone Bungalows. All bungalows have cosy wood fires for the cooler months. Built from natural rammed earth or limestone the bungalows are cool in summer and warm in winter. The bungalows are set apart to ensure peace and privacy for all guests. Enjoy our farm animals including heritage chickens, geese, pigs, sheep and cows. Watch the kangaroos come out to feed each night. Pick fresh produce from our vegetable garden and whip up a tasty feast! Breakfast baskets available. Enjoy forest and farm walk trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Burnside Organic Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing