We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Humbling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burnside Organic Farm
Reviewed 18 June 2010

If you are looking for a retreat only 5km from Margaret River, yet secluded, then this is the sport to spend quality time with loved ones. Every night we stayed home after touring so that we could take advantage of home-grown organic veggies that Lara and Jaime allowed us to pick from your garden. What a d delight! The property has so much to see, pigs, geese, chickens, guinea pigs, Macadamia and Avocado trees, capers, and their very own Zinfandel Winery!

The bungaloes are well appointed with everything you need to make you feel at home. Sitting in a comfy rocking chair-like seat with a glass of red in front of the wood fire and tea-light each night was a great way to end a busy day. The beds were amazingly comfortable too, I don't think my husband slept that well since he was a child.

Well done guys, we will be back with the family for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jax13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2010

We spent 3 nights here & thoroughly enjoyed it!
It was freezing outside but open fire place & having limestone walls kept us very cozy inside.
Our kids loved all the farm animals & the wildlife & been able to wander around the farm & pick fresh veges for dinner each night.
Jamie & Lara made us feel very welcome & were great to talk to & ask questions & gave us very good advice on outings with kids & the best wineries to visit.
Will defnitely be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ange72_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

The bungalow (no. 4) was done beautifully, everything you need with no expense spared. There was a pot belly fire and the biggest bath I'd ever seen, just what you need after being out in the cold. We enjoyed 4 days there and were just completely relaxed. It is close to Margs for supplies, the beach if you dare have a cold dip and plenty of wineries. Or just as good to stay inside, cook and have a bottle of red. We will definitely be heading back there (hopefully soon!).

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

We only wish we could have stayed longer at Burnside Bungalows. The limestone cottage had ample room for our family - with two young kids. Very clean, functional, comfortable, and practical - it had all the amenities you could imagine needing. The owners Lara and Jamie could not have been more accommodating - even inviting us to join the feeding of the chickens, cows, and pigs. The availability of organic veggies picked from their veggie patch was a highlight. It was also a good opportunity to see permaculture in action.

They also had great recommendations for family-friendly restaurants/activities. Great location close to Margaret River for supplies as well as centrally located to get to Augusta and Yallingup too.

We have been coming to Margaret River for ten years now, but staying at Burnside Bungalows was like rediscovering that "down south" experience for our young family. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumwithkids71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

This place not only feels like home, you catch yourself wishing it were home. We stayed at Burnside Bungalows for ten days and I really couldn’t fault our time there. We stayed in the Limestone Spa Bungalow, which had all the convenience of being fully self-contained.

It was well set out, spacious and very comfortable. There was a large deck, opening out with a view of the cows grazing in the paddock: here we spent many nights watching the stars, which were clearer than either of us had seen in years. The deck also had an outdoor spa bath, which was just beautiful: here we could enjoy a spa with some gorgeous smelling hand-made soap (made by one of Burnside Bungalow’s owners, Lara) and some glasses of wine, watching kangaroos graze. Once, we had some roos come very close, drinking from a bird bath just a few metres away.

The farm itself is beautiful too. It was wonderful to be able to pick our own herbs and veggies for dinner, and we collected eggs and fed the chickens and guinea fowl often. There were also some cute piglets to feed. We learned about the farm, hearing how wine is produced (which of course we tasted – the Zinfandel wine made by Lara and Jamie is excellent!) The hosts were just so lovely, friendly and helpful. Lara and Jamie were often there to have a chat, to feed the chickens or pick veggies with us, or just to say hello to our two young children (a toddler and baby). Lara went out of her way to make sure our kids were comfortable, providing a great pram to use on the farm, along with cots and high chairs, and good advice on places to visit with kids.

The region itself is gorgeous too. It’s just perfect for a wine region: sun, sand, surf on one hand, wineries and delicious local produce on another. Burnside Bungalows couldn’t have a better location. It was a very short drive from the town of Margaret River and we could come and go as we needed, setting out each day to visit caves, wineries, the beach, natural parks or other fun things to do. Other small towns with interesting attractions (like the Cowaramup candy factory, or Cape Leeuwin lighthouse) were all within very easy reach. Burnside is very central, smack in the middle of the whole region. This made seeing things, especially with young kids in tow, very simple.

So, why stay here over other accommodation? We did have a good look into what else was on offer. Other options include the standard luxury resorts, hotels and caravan parks you’d find in any area. I think Burnside was wonderful over these, as the seclusion was brilliant. We could exist in our own private world, relaxing in the spa as a family, truly getting away from mass tourism while still having easy access to anything we wanted to do. Here you can rest and refresh yourselves, learning that true luxury means the freedom of seclusion, and the beauty you find amongst banksias and bushland, with a chorus of kookaburras in the background.

There’s nothing artificial about this place – from the organic farming philosophy to the warm hosts to the magic of being in a place where you can kick back, relax and enjoy some champagne as the roos feed at dusk. I highly recommend this place: you’ll feel so at home. You won’t want to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Our most recent stay at Burnside was our 10th since discovering them in 2002. We love it so much and wouldn;t dream of staying anywhere else when visiting the South West. The Rammed Earth Cottage is luxuriously appointed, secluded and yet close enough to the Town, Beaches, Wineries and all the other attractions the area has to offer. Jamie and Lara are superb hosts and we both highly recommend Burnside

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiggertyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

My wife and I stayed 4 days at Burnside Bungalows. As soon as we checked in, we were given a basket of fresh eggs, bread and jam. The bungalow is well appointed with good kitchen appliances and spa bath. I spent 2 hours each day reading in the hammock. At 6pm, kangaroos would convene on the lawn adjacent to the patio. We also picked fresh herbs from the garden. Lastly, 5 minute drive to city center. Great value. Highly Recommended

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harvee151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
2.7 mi away
Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay
2.5 mi away
Sunflowers Animal Farm and Farmstay
Sunflowers Animal Farm and Farms...
#11 of 51 in Margaret River
196 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilltop Studios Margaret River
Hilltop Studios Margaret River
#15 of 51 in Margaret River
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Riverglen Chalets
Riverglen Chalets
#1 of 51 in Margaret River
223 reviews
11.3 mi away
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
#7 of 51 in Margaret River
126 reviews
3.6 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnside Organic Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnside Organic Farm

Address: 287 Burnside Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range: £177 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnside Organic Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avoid mainstream tourism and stay on a certified organic farm and vineyard. Burnside Organic Farm is only a 5 minute drive from Margaret River and central to all the renowned attractions of the region. Pristine beaches, world class wineries and beautiful Karri forest. Couples can indulge in a private and luxurious 1 bedroom Rammed Earth Spa Bungalow or families and small groups can enjoy a 2 bedroom Limestone Bungalows. All bungalows have cosy wood fires for the cooler months. Built from natural rammed earth or limestone the bungalows are cool in summer and warm in winter. The bungalows are set apart to ensure peace and privacy for all guests. Enjoy our farm animals including heritage chickens, geese, pigs, sheep and cows. Watch the kangaroos come out to feed each night. Pick fresh produce from our vegetable garden and whip up a tasty feast! Breakfast baskets available. Enjoy forest and farm walk trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Burnside Organic Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing