We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place to Chill Out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hidden Valley Forest Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Stayed 2 nights in the Stone Cottage and though not as luxurious as the other units, it was perfect, private and very comfortable. We relaxed and enjoyed our stay. A screen door would assit the breezes to flow thru the cabin, maybe a small log fire for winter time would add to the character.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brendoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2012

It sounded expensive, but managed make that seem like no issue. Unique space, in fact spaciousness of mind would be a defining reaction. And it was spotlessly clean (me and my wife get the creeps easily if not).

The variety nice little touches: a simple espresso machine that pumps a sweet brew, the bush-window view rain-shower, nice iPhone-friendly sound system, and the bedroom that is a refuge yet has a wrap-around panorama window below ceiling-level so you can see the trees blowing in the breeze as you lay there.

I really feel mystified by the Chrisgarner piece...for one thing, the owners are 60, and their only grandchild lives interstate...so...who was fishing?? (btw, I though the lake-pond was so-so...but it's behind trees anyway.)

There is a couple of bottles of their own wine thrown in, but neither of us drink, so can't say about that.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TImBukTeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

As some previous reviews, I dont know where the people with negative reviews have been... .
My husband & I spent 3 nights at beginning Oct12, for our 30th Anniv. We found the bush, lake, frogs, ducks, rabbits a fantastic and serene experience. The candles & log fire, the outdoor spa & barbecue. The comfy bed and large windows, were all very romantic to look at the night sky & stars or just bush and lake. We did select the most expensive retreat building, but the serenity was worth it. The private lake has some great boardwalks to stroll on and swim in.
The owners and staff were extremely friendly and helpful.! There quickly if you needed anything, and not there when you didnt want them. They try to impose as little as possible whilst still keeping things maintained. Rupert the private chef was very friendly & his food fantastic!. The steak bbq meal order was yummy & well worth it, and the breakfasts were great too. Lots of fresh homemade food & drink, with some good wine if required....
We will be back there again one day... Definitely! THANKS!

Room Tip: Loved private lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hetty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

my partner and i stayed in the deepwater retreat for 2 nights over the long weekend and we werent dissapointed. the location is spectacular, not cheap but well worth the money spent. having read a couple of negative reviews we have judged the retreat as we saw it and we cant fault our experience. the host/owner sally was extremelt friendly, helpful and accomodating. the fresh homemade continental breakfast was beautiful. we reccomend the retreat to any couples looking for a relaxing weekend away and we look forward to returning in the near future. thanks again to sally and the other staff for helping us celebrate our honeymoon

Room Tip: deepwater retreat is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simontw23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

After staying at a number of retreats in the South West this would be the only bad & worst experience I've ever had.
I suprised my Wife & booked the Deep Water retreat chalet for a special occasion . On entry to the chalet we were
greeted with cobwebs around cieling and windows with flies stuck in them, a kitchen fan with oil dripping off it and a fridge that stinks to high heaven. To top it off a hour & a half after we arrived at our private Deep Water retreat with an outdoor spa the caretaker and his kids turn up without notice to pull a net in off the jetty wich accompanies Deep water Retreat so I'm not to happy with the invasion of privacy!
However after I phoned them about the problems we have had they offered us 2 bottles of wine for the caretker visit and to come and clean again. I would have thought when you pay $495 per night it would be spotless in the first place.
Anyway thanks for a weekend that was supposed to be special but wasn't!!
I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisgarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I gave my girlfriend a rough idea where we were going...she has super high expectations and hidden valley exceeded my girlfriends expectations! And mine!...the definition of relaxing! The massage,the waking up to the animals in the Forrest,the wine and especially the home made platter and food. I even stuffed my order up and had nothing for the Saturday night....called up and it was my mistake but they accommodated us with in 10mins with most lovely meal.
I was due to fly back offshore on the Monday and I was trying to delay that because it was just so dam relaxing! Couldn't speak high enough about the place...we will be back very soon!
Broc,Rachel.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broc317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed 3 years ago in their Deep water retreat and loved it so much that we returned this month for a 3 night stay. It was good but not fantastic like last time. You can't help but feel they are doing things on the cheap. We never had our room cleaned once which was dissapointing as the last thing you want to do is make your bed when you are paying 5 star prices. The coffee and tea were not replaced so we ended up having to buy our own. 3 years ago they use to make fresh bread and drop it off and clean the room, replace milk, tea and coffee everyday. On the plus side their property manager Andrew was very pleasant and knowldegable. It is a beautfiul spot in the forrest very peaceful and quiet. The outdoor spa is amazing. If the owners would put more effort into the little things I would think this place would be booming with couples.

Room Tip: Deepwater Cabin is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portia304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
747 reviews
3.9 mi away
Losari Retreat
Losari Retreat
#19 of 51 in Margaret River
100 reviews
13.9 mi away
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
#6 of 51 in Margaret River
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hilltop Studios Margaret River
Hilltop Studios Margaret River
#14 of 51 in Margaret River
147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverglen Chalets
Riverglen Chalets
#1 of 51 in Margaret River
239 reviews
5.7 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Forest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Forest Retreat

Address: Haag Road | Margaret River Wine Region, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range: £159 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hidden Valley Forest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hidden Valley Forest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing