We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and so quiet!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hidden Valley Forest Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Stayed in the wilderness lodge and loved it. so quiet and sitting in the spa in the middle of the bush so relaxing. definitely recommend the chef experience. Wine is lovely. Will definitely return. only feedback is to clean all windows top to bottom in the bathroom and vacuum under furniture. we pay top dollar and expect the best.

Room Tip: dont bother with the stone stable, upgrade to the wilderness or eco lodges. hire a chef - what a fab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelperfection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

My wife and i stayed in the Eco Lodge 2 for one nights over the weekend for our first anniversary and we weren't dissapointed.
It feels like your in the middle of know where. The Eco Lodge is situated in the middle of the forest about 1km from the entrance. You can just see Eco Lodge 1 in the distance from where we were staying so it was nice and private and relaxing.
There is a fireplace in the lounge which would make it nice and cozy in the winter.

I paid extra for the in room massage for two and I must say it was worth it.
The owners are very friendly and provided great in site to the region.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryceee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Absolutely Loved it!

Quiet, secluded cabin (wilderness cabin) with an amazing chilled out vibe.
The outdoor spa was amazing and the view into the bush from the outdoor spotlights at night was incredible.

Ps. Splurge and book the private chef- the food was amazing and well worth the money.

We'll definately be going back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Stayed 2 nights in the Stone Cottage and though not as luxurious as the other units, it was perfect, private and very comfortable. We relaxed and enjoyed our stay. A screen door would assit the breezes to flow thru the cabin, maybe a small log fire for winter time would add to the character.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brendoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

It sounded expensive, but managed make that seem like no issue. Unique space, in fact spaciousness of mind would be a defining reaction. And it was spotlessly clean (me and my wife get the creeps easily if not).

The variety nice little touches: a simple espresso machine that pumps a sweet brew, the bush-window view rain-shower, nice iPhone-friendly sound system, and the bedroom that is a refuge yet has a wrap-around panorama window below ceiling-level so you can see the trees blowing in the breeze as you lay there.

I really feel mystified by the Chrisgarner piece...for one thing, the owners are 60, and their only grandchild lives interstate...so...who was fishing?? (btw, I though the lake-pond was so-so...but it's behind trees anyway.)

There is a couple of bottles of their own wine thrown in, but neither of us drink, so can't say about that.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TImBukTeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

As some previous reviews, I dont know where the people with negative reviews have been... .
My husband & I spent 3 nights at beginning Oct12, for our 30th Anniv. We found the bush, lake, frogs, ducks, rabbits a fantastic and serene experience. The candles & log fire, the outdoor spa & barbecue. The comfy bed and large windows, were all very romantic to look at the night sky & stars or just bush and lake. We did select the most expensive retreat building, but the serenity was worth it. The private lake has some great boardwalks to stroll on and swim in.
The owners and staff were extremely friendly and helpful.! There quickly if you needed anything, and not there when you didnt want them. They try to impose as little as possible whilst still keeping things maintained. Rupert the private chef was very friendly & his food fantastic!. The steak bbq meal order was yummy & well worth it, and the breakfasts were great too. Lots of fresh homemade food & drink, with some good wine if required....
We will be back there again one day... Definitely! THANKS!

Room Tip: Loved private lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hetty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

my partner and i stayed in the deepwater retreat for 2 nights over the long weekend and we werent dissapointed. the location is spectacular, not cheap but well worth the money spent. having read a couple of negative reviews we have judged the retreat as we saw it and we cant fault our experience. the host/owner sally was extremelt friendly, helpful and accomodating. the fresh homemade continental breakfast was beautiful. we reccomend the retreat to any couples looking for a relaxing weekend away and we look forward to returning in the near future. thanks again to sally and the other staff for helping us celebrate our honeymoon

Room Tip: deepwater retreat is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simontw23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverglen Chalets
Riverglen Chalets
#1 of 51 in Margaret River
236 reviews
3.9 mi away
Losari Retreat
Losari Retreat
#19 of 51 in Margaret River
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hilltop Studios Margaret River
Hilltop Studios Margaret River
#16 of 51 in Margaret River
146 reviews
13.9 mi away
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
#6 of 51 in Margaret River
135 reviews
5.7 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Forest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Forest Retreat

Address: Haag Road | Margaret River Wine Region, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range: £163 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hidden Valley Forest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hidden Valley Forest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing