We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just what we wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hidden Valley Forest Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2013

stayed the wkend in stone stable cottage and adored it, the setting was tranquil and private. the accommodation was very clean and comfortable,it had everything we wanted. Their were nice little touches added to the room such as chocs on bed and fresh bread with jams. we loved the outdoor courtyard which has a good sized spa, loved it!!! ..thankyou to the hosts Sally and John very friendly and accommodating...my partner and I absolutely enjoyed our peaceful and relaxing stay, we would definitely come back ! Cheers Penny and Ben

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2013

My partner and I stayed for two nights at the Deepwater Retreat which i have to say is by far the best out of the four retreats in my opinion. This was our second visit in as many months. We originally booked into the wilderness cabin for a change and we decided straight away we prefered the open space of the Deepwater retreat where we stayed in December and within a flash we were moved on request without any problem. This place will always hold special memories for me and my partner as there really is no where quite like it.
The Spa area is beautiful, Sally and John (owners) were very accomadating. We sipped champagne and ate starwberries in the spa under the moonlight. It has its own private lake which is very pretty.
The sharing platter was fabulous and so was the complimentary wine.
I live in the UK and i am well travelled, if your looking for something unique and different then look no further, it is the perfect romantic getaway, so peaceful, so quiet and not a soul around apart from the wildlife. The main reason we love this place so much is you are completely left alone, if you want a private chef or a massage then by all means they can arrange this for you, but we love our own company and therefore we like the peace and quiet and complete solitary feeling.
We will without doubt be back very soon, but Deepwater Retreat all the way!! Pay the extra $35 its so worth it!
Cannot recomend highly enough, thank you Sally & John

Room Tip: Deepwater Retreat is very spacious, shower is amazing, outdoor decking and spa area is beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mattjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the Wilderness lodge in the fist week of February as part of a competition we had won.

Included, was a massage treatment for 2 for an hour, bottles of their own wine (red and white), large food platter, cheese platter and steak dinner on the last night.
The lodge was right in the middle of pristine Aussie bush and the floor to ceiling double glazed windows gave us the feeling of standing in the middle of it all. The shower had the same type of windows on 2 sides, so that when you were showering, you were looking directly into the bush and gum trees. SPECTACULAR! We didn't use the outdoor spa, but it looked great.
The food platter was brought over by the chef (Rupert) on the first night and our jaws hit the ground. There was enough food on it to eat the following day as well. Everything was tasty and fresh. The cheese platter was also large and the steak meal the following night was very filling.
There was plenty of salad, scalloped potatoes, nice juicy scotch fillet, followed by a very nice crumble dessert.
The massage was given by a couple who did a great job in loosening up our knotted muscles and were lovely people. Apparently they do all the massage work here.We both felt so much better afterwards.
The only downside to our stay were that a couple of areas of the lodge were pretty dusty with a couple of dead flies, mainly upper shelves. Overall the place was clean enough.

The hosts were very helpful in feeding us information as to local attractions and were very nice
people. They were very obliging to any requests that we had.
We would definitely go again to explore the area more as 3 days didn't give us enough time really and, we can recommend Hidden Valley Forest Retreat as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoastrunnerVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

My parter and I stayed in the wilderness lodge for two nights and as other travellers have mentioned the atmosphere of sitting outside in the bath with the forrest around you is amazing. However, for $500 a night, we expected a lot more from our stay. There were used candles and bath gel outside near the bath, mould in the bathroom and the floors were dirty. We also ordered the breakfast basket and were quite disappointed to find that the BBQ was filthy and the tomato that they had given us was off.

Hidden Valley has the potential to be amazing - they just need to upgrade their rooms a bit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellaisbetterthanbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Stayed in the wilderness lodge and loved it. so quiet and sitting in the spa in the middle of the bush so relaxing. definitely recommend the chef experience. Wine is lovely. Will definitely return. only feedback is to clean all windows top to bottom in the bathroom and vacuum under furniture. we pay top dollar and expect the best.

Room Tip: dont bother with the stone stable, upgrade to the wilderness or eco lodges. hire a chef - what a fab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelperfection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

My wife and i stayed in the Eco Lodge 2 for one nights over the weekend for our first anniversary and we weren't dissapointed.
It feels like your in the middle of know where. The Eco Lodge is situated in the middle of the forest about 1km from the entrance. You can just see Eco Lodge 1 in the distance from where we were staying so it was nice and private and relaxing.
There is a fireplace in the lounge which would make it nice and cozy in the winter.

I paid extra for the in room massage for two and I must say it was worth it.
The owners are very friendly and provided great in site to the region.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryceee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Absolutely Loved it!

Quiet, secluded cabin (wilderness cabin) with an amazing chilled out vibe.
The outdoor spa was amazing and the view into the bush from the outdoor spotlights at night was incredible.

Ps. Splurge and book the private chef- the food was amazing and well worth the money.

We'll definately be going back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
757 reviews
13.9 mi away
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
#5 of 51 in Margaret River
141 reviews
3.9 mi away
Losari Retreat
Losari Retreat
#19 of 51 in Margaret River
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverglen Chalets
Riverglen Chalets
#2 of 51 in Margaret River
242 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stay Margaret River
Stay Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
1,034 reviews
0.2 mi away
Margarets Forest
Margarets Forest
#4 of 51 in Margaret River
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Forest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Forest Retreat

Address: Haag Road | Margaret River Wine Region, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range: £164 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hidden Valley Forest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hidden Valley Forest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing