We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice cocktails” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Rio

El Rio
Price range: US$5 - US$27
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: El Rio Mexican - Bar - Kitchen A modern Mexican restaurant in the heart of Margaret River. Open from 3pm till late. Alfresco dining, Fresh Seasonal Menu with Drinks to match.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice cocktails”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Had very nice cocktails with my partner, and service was good. Outside sitting area is good too. However, the taco was very small and expensive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank benson f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    79
    37
    28
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
172 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good food, great service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Very nice authentic Mexican food in contemporary setting. The food was delicious but it was the service that my wife and I were especially pleased about. Worth a visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dunsterville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

I was surprised to see some of the reviews here. I have already written one review for this restaurant (which was also positive) but I thought I would write another because I have been recently and it was still a wonderful dining and social experience. My all time favorite, the tostadas, is what I started off with, I get these every time I come to El Rios. They were as usual amazing. I the. Moved onto the tacos which were nice and filling but I pushed on to have the stuffed jalapeños because they are just so yummy! The service is always friendly and they actually help you choose between things rather than just staring at you awkwardly. The head waitress/manager is a lovely woman and really adds to the friendly atmosphere. The cocktails are easily the best in Margaret river, well worth their price.
Thank you so much for the amazing couple of evenings and lunches I have spent here!

Helpful?
Thank Foodaholic71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Not very mexican”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

This place was very average mexican food. They didn't have many items on the menu that you would consider mexican, they didn't have quesadilla's, nacho's, burrito's or fajita's. The soft shell taco's which are meant to be their main seller were all soggy and roughly put together. The corn cobs were the only upside to the meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shae D, Owner at El Rio, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hi Emma C, we pride ourselves with being a Traditional Mexican restaurant.
There are many Mexican restaurants all over Australia & the world that do not sell Nachos etc and we will continue to be fresh & seasonal. If you could only have said something at the time we would be more then happy to offer you something you prefer?
Thanks
Shae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasse
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Afternoon Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I had to come back, I have been craving the tacos since last visit over 1 month ago .. Sat outside in the courtyard with the kids & enjoyed the atmosphere, food & service. Will make the hour effort drive again for sure.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brooke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Rio also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to El Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing