We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cocktails!”
Review of El Rio

El Rio
Price range: US$5 - US$26
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: El Rio Mexican - Bar - Kitchen A modern Mexican restaurant in the heart of Margaret River. Open from 3pm till late. Alfresco dining, Fresh Seasonal Menu with Drinks to match.
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Cocktails!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Love the venue, love the drinks, love the service! Cool venue on the main street in Margaret River. Great place to catch up with friends.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JessicaMayDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    81
    39
    28
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy Cocktails!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Had dinner here our first night in Margs.
Had tapas style dining with share plates.
Pumpkin Quesadillas were a nice light vegetarian option.
Nice food.
Shared a jug of Paloma, a grapefruit, tequila cocktail mix. Yummy but sneaks up on you.
Had about 4 or 5 different staff members check up on us so felt looked after all the time.
Nice, would go back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stefzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We walked in with no booking and got lucky with a table by the bar. Best spot for drink service! The girls serving were super friendly. The food was delicious, fresh and tasty. With a visit with live music on the weekends. Great atmosphere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Flowergirl4a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Loved it”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We loved having dinner at this restaurant with our kids. The food was fantastic, don't go passed the Pumpkin Quesadilla. All the staff where very friendly and prompt. Loved the whole experience, only problem was, we all ate to much.

Helpful?
Thank Idgyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Looks Mexican but lacks Mexican flavours”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

The menu is small and lacks some classic Mexican recipes that nearly all Mexican restaurants have. One of those missing dishes was burritos and the menu had pretty much no chilli that I could see in any of the dishes. The one dish that did have a jalapeño was not hot at all. We ordered the salsa and corn chips which was disappointing; hardly a salsa! We both ordered the quesadilla which was just all cheese.

Overall, everything lacked flavour in an already small menu. Under performs against most Mexican restaurants I've been too! Wouldn't recommend

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shae D, General Manager at El Rio, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hi Tom,
In response to your review I find it quite amazing that you couldn't find any "Classic Mexican Recipes" and or chilli. A few things I am happy to point out to you would be, our "small menu" has over 40 different dishes designed to be shared to choose from along with daily specials. If you class "Street Food" - such as char grilled corn, Stuffed Jalapenos, Ceviche Tostadas, Soft Shell Tacos, Quesadillas, Chimichanga's, Salsa's to name a few as not an Authentic Mexican or classic Mexican recipes. I'm sorry sir but you have come to the wrong restaurant. We pride ourselves in Authentic Mexican, not your classic Tex Mex. I'm more then happy to assist you again if you ever return to Margaret River.
Kind Regards
Shae
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Rio also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to El Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing