We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priced a bit too high !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 September 2009

We stayed here for one night on our Margaret River tour.

We did enjoy our stay here however we felt that the price charged (AUD $280) was a bit steep for what you got, especially the breakfast supplies. If you don't like eggs on toast then you are in trouble. For the price you pay we felt that a box of cereal wouldn't have gone astray.

Lots of animals around which did make the stay enjoyable - we saw bandicoots, kangaroos and birds. We also felt that charging me $2 to feed the animals on top of the $280 per night was also a bit rough.

The accommodation itself was nice, but I must admit it did feel a bit weird opening the front door and being in the bathroom / laundry and looking at the toilet.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoyMargaretRiver, owner at Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2009

Thankyou for your review, we may have not made clear when you booked that on arrival complimentary local produce is supplied consisting of a loaf of freshly baked bread, small bottle of fresh milk, 1/2 dozen Margaret River free range eggs, pat of butter, local paper and maps.
We are can provide continental breakfast supplies for a charge of $12 p/p which includes large local milk, cereals, orange juice jams, herbal teas etc: plus the above.

We would have been happy to help you out with some cereal if requested FOC. We have done so in the past if asked.

We are glad you enjoyed the wildlife, this is why we built the predator proof fence to exclude feral cats & foxes.

You mention charging for the 3 x containers of fauna feed provided in each chalet. I checked the labels and they state -
eg- "Possum food" ($2 per refill)
Please only feed 1/2 a handful per day.
Possums are herbivores - meaning they eat greens & fruit.
Do not feed them bread.

Guests can use all 3 x containers at no charge, then refills are $2 per container.
I am sorry if you misunderstood my label on the container.

You were charged a small 1 night surcharge of $20 usually it is $30. So a slightly higher price than a two night booking.

Thankyou once again for staying with us, I hope you got some nice animal pics.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2009

We stayed at Yelverton Brook for 4 nights in July 2009. We completely enjoyed our stay with the kangaroos, banidcoots, woolies, possums, and birds! The resort is centrally located within the Margaret River region – an up a beautiful country road passing sheep and deer farms! The cabins are fully stocked with the spices, olive oil, utensils, aluminum foil, etc that you need to cook dinners on the grill or in the kitchen (we always went with the grill!) The kangaroos are easy to spot even as you head to the main office to check in – and the other animals came by at dusk - and sometimes dawn – to our porch. The hottubs work great and seem very clean – another great way to spend an evening. The cabins are spaced perfectly so you feel like you have the whole place to yourself. We enjoyed the walking trail though the grounds – probably a 25 minute walk in all. The lady working out in the office was very helpful and friendly. The loaf of bread on arrival was mmmmmm, amazing! Our stay was an absolutely wonderful get-away in SW Australia, and we will recommend it to everyone we know who may be heading that way.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AL-the-squid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

We have been to 'Yelverton Brook Eco Resort' on several occasions and never been disappointed. The chalets, wild life, location, spa….. We could go on and on. A great place to lose yourself.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

We have been staying at Yelverton over some years now and even tho we are regular travelers to the margret river region and tried many and variouse accomodation styles we always end up back at Yelverton.There isn't enough room here to tell you how wonderfull and relaxing it is to escape from the rat race at the Yelverton eco retreat.Then to return home ready and refreshed with wonderfull memories of another great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

As the other reviewers have said, we were greeted at the patio by the roos! They are not daft. guests means food. The Chalets, set in woodlands, were very well kitted out, with everything you could need for a relaxing stay. The bedroom decor was a bit chinzie, but so cozy.
We did not watch much telly at nights as all the entertainment was outside on the lawn. Roos, bandicots, Possums, wylies (very rare, I believe)
In the mornings, parrots and other birds occupied the trees, coming down for the special food we put out for them.
This place is a little out of the way, half way between Marg. River and Busselton, so bring all your food and drinks with you. Then you don't need to spend your precious time driving up and down the highway, when you could be lying in the hot tub with a glass of wine, looking up at the millions of stars to seen in the night sky.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fazbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2009

We have just got back from a 4 night stay at this place. Its just what we wanted and expected based on their web site and the reviews on Tripadvisor. On getting to the chalet we were greeted by one of the local kangaroos and many more came to visit us during our stay.

The chalet itself is comfortable whilst not being too over the top. You come to this place to see the animals, get away from people and to take it easy. Whilst is is possible to see the other chalets (if you try hard) we really felt we had the whole place to ourselves. You will not see the other people staying unless you go looking. What you will see though is plenty of animals!

The spa is nice. A great place to unwind at the end of the day.

We would love to come back. In fact, we did not want to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisSakhalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2008

Our family of 2 adults and 2 kids (11 and 8 years old) stayed at this property in early December 2008.
The location of this property is somewhere between Dunsborough and Margaret River (about 25 minutes). There are about 4 chalets in a rural bush setting. There is a "back-to-nature" kind of vibe and the chalets are like farm cottages.
Although our chalet was not spanking new, there was attention to detail in the sense that the owners had thoughtfully placed extra towels (with sweets) for us, the shampoo / conditioner / soap were organic and of good quality, a freshly baked loaf of bread awaited us when we arrived, there were many books, videos and CDs stocked in the living area etc.
The great draw would be the many animals that roam freely in this property. My kids were ecstatic to see the kangaroos, woylies, possums, monitor lizard, birds etc and to be able to feed them at our front lawn. For city kids, this was a real treat and the 1st morning, my son deliberately woke up early to see which animals would be waiting for him on the lawn. At night, it was also fun to spot animals coming up to our door. Even my husband (not an animal lover) seemed excited to see the wild life.
There was an outdoor heated spa which we enjoyed, sitting under a canopy of trees and watching the kids excitedly interacting with the kangaroos.
Although there were so many of these creatures, the property was not dirty but well maintained.
Would recommend this to families with young children, especially the urbanites. It's a fun experience for them.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank See-to-believe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaret River
15.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
721 reviews
16.1 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
1.7 mi away
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
#7 of 51 in Margaret River
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Riverglen Chalets
Riverglen Chalets
#1 of 51 in Margaret River
235 reviews
11.9 mi away
Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay
14.5 mi away
Hidden Valley Forest Retreat
Hidden Valley Forest Retreat
#18 of 51 in Margaret River
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary

Address: 118 Roy Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range: £142 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found just 15 mins from Margaret River, Busselton & Dunsborough, set in one of the State's few private, fully eco-certified 100ac conservation sanctuaries. Here friendly native fauna visits your doorstep, wildflowers flourish and enjoy the meandering walktrails through the bushland. The perfect setting for romantics, couples travelling together & families plus visiting nature enthusiasts. Offering fully self-contained chalets, with private 6 person "spas under the stars". Set in 100acs offering peace & privacy and to provide a sense of escaping back the very essence of the natural bush.A welcome food package for your arrival day contains, freshly baked bread, small fresh milk, butter, free range eggs, local paper & maps. Plus special feed for the friendly wildlife.Plus special packages, day spa treatments, even a Private Chef option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Yelverton Brook Eco Spa Retreat & Conservation Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing