We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute trip. Bit $$$”
Review of Waterfall Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waterfall Cottages
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Last minute trip. Bit $$$”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Great little spot but a bit $$$. I agree with other reviews as everything seemed to be in the wrong spot. Loved the birds which came round for a snack and the waterfalls where amazing and my hubby who loves a chance to take some great shots got some lovely photo's.
Would highly suggest replacing the outdoor setting on the verandah as we couldn't use it as it was just way to rusty.
Also don't know what was wrong with our wall heater but just couldn't get any heat.
Would have loved the open fire also. A little picky but a platter would have been nice considering the area we where in. Had heeps of great produce nothing nice to put it on.
Would love to try again in a year or so. Very freindly staff but no one around when we left. ??

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    28
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
24
27
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, WA
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The cottage was nice and we did have a fire (you can buy wood from the caretakers), but we stayed as two couples and there was only one double bed, the others were singles and not even in a room - but just at the top of the stairs. So... it was a bit awkward, as we could see anything if we only looked up! Saying that, the scenery was beautiful. We were right on the lake and there were some lovely birds visiting us. Not too far from the town centre either, but it did only have a little tiny tv and lounges at awkward angles. Still, it was a nice weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Lovely little cottage all that was missing was a fireplace, this would have made the experience. Perfect private hideaway. Stayed 3 nights, no room clean or fresh towel service, considering this, I feel it was a little pricey, although I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerrySacilotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This place has so much going for it. Close to a beautiful natural water feature, beautiful gardens, so close to Margaret River town and and many major attractions. We stayed in a family cottage (#6) for 3 nights. The outside is gorgeous. The inside ok but we noticed a faint smell of urine when we stepped inside,. Not sure if it was cleaning detergent. It never left our entire stay. It bucketed with rain for the next couple of days (being Winter). That's ok there's a wood fire and the waterfall is spectacular to watch but there were no soakwells and water from the roof spurted down not only into the surrounding garden but porch. In fact one drain ended nowhere except under the porch so water went everywhere. This obviously contributed to rising damp on the building as the large class window frames were rusting causing the glass to crack. The shower was always wet! We found mouse droppings in one of the cupboards which we wiped out and washed the glasses again. If money was a greater I would recommend the buildings need maintenance and installation of wifi would be great for many guests.

Beds were very comfortable, clean linen, dishwasher worked great. TV iffy. Storage great.

Not sure if I'd visit again but I'd like to. Such potential.

Room Tip: # 6 is in a great sport #1 is terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hunt4more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I wanted a little solitude for this trip with my husband, along with something a little different from a typical resort room.
This delivered. The studio cottage is really cute, and, even though you share the bathroom wall with another unit, the feeling is that you are quite alone. The lady at the office was quite pleasant; we arrived just a little before 5 pm, so during business hours. It was clean and the surrondings are beautiful. My husband commented that it was too remote, so if you want something in the center of activity, this isn't it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aspenbark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

The studio cottage had everything we needed, it was comfortable and cosy. You are right out in the beautiful countryside with plenty of kangaroos to watch!
We understand it is not serviced accommodation but would have appreciated empty bin bags under the sink. We struggled living out of suitcases for 4 days without a wardrobe or drawers.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiLMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

During a weekend Girls Trip to Margaret River, we stayed 2 nights at Waterfall Cottages. Not being from Australia, I was a bit nervous about selecting accommodations for the trip for 5 very picky ladies. Based on site photos and descriptions, I made the choice and I don't think I did too bad.

The Waterfall Cottages are a lovely place to go when you need to get away from city life and work. The cottages are less than a 10 minute drive to the center of Margaret River but once you are in your cottage it feels like you've left civilization miles and miles away. Checkin was a breeze and the staff was friendly. We only saw them/her at checkin and checkout.

I fell in love with the location. The cottage was a bit smaller than I imagined but it was comfortable. The cottage had a wonderful patio area for relaxing outside while the ducks and birds would come right up to your feet. Our cottage was very close to a pond and surrounded by trees and while there was roo poo everywhere we didn't see any too close to the cottage. We'd only see them as we were heading into the city. It was very private, we could sometimes here other familes but we didn't see them.

The cottage was relatively clean, the fridge had not been properly cleaned but it wasn't unbareable since we were only stocking wine in there. One thing I must have overlooked at the time of booking was that cottage although it had 5 beds (4 singles and 1 queen) only had 1 bathroom. 5 ladies and 1 bathroom. The toliet is seperate from the shower and the sink is also seperate so that helps make it work. However, the shower is tiny.

The cottages do not come with landline phones inside and you may have cellphone service if you are lucky. I could get decent reception (enough to call for a taxi) when standing outside on the patio. Remember I said we were surrounded by trees and in a remote area... that means there were no unneccasary or leisurely calls made after dark.

If you are not picky about having the latest amenities but you'd like to go somewhere peaceful and surrounded by nature this is a good place to try.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InfiniteDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
3.1 mi away
Margaret River Chalets
Margaret River Chalets
#22 of 51 in Margaret River
29 reviews
2.7 mi away
Margaret River Holiday Cottages
Margaret River Holiday Cottages
#41 of 51 in Margaret River
26 reviews
1.9 mi away
Riverglen Chalets
Riverglen Chalets
#1 of 51 in Margaret River
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bushy Lake Chalets
Bushy Lake Chalets
#9 of 51 in Margaret River
120 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acacia Chalets & Margaret River Beach Studios
1.7 mi away
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 20 in Margaret River
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfall Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfall Cottages

Property: Waterfall Cottages
Address: 211 Kevill Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfall Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selfcontained cottages in secluded country estate on banks of Margaret River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Waterfall Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfall Cottages Hotel Margaret River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing